how I got my abs.

I have always wandered how people got such nice abs ya kno. Six packs and the like and I would be on the mat at the gym doing crunches and planks and all sorts of ab moves. And these moves do work BUT you’ll need a clean diet. The one piece of advice that really made sense to me was that abs are directly related to what your diet looks like.

165942_10151882771480693_418685795_a

IMG_20120703_145502

380223_10151613050275693_720411887_n

So what does your diet look like?

Processed foods, excess sugars, and white flours?

Or

Lean meats (or fishies in my case), fruits, vegetables, limited sugars, and whole grains/complex carbs?

I shouldn’t say you’ll *only* see your abs if you eat lean meats and such as I stated above because some people have absolutely horrific diets and somehow have abs. BUT, the other 99% of us need to have a diet that’s clean and lean and fuels our body.

You will not get abs by under eating and will not get abs by over eating. You need to eat complex carbs and proteins and healthy fats at each meal. And I’m sure you’ve heard of that before. This isn’t rocket science nor is it ground breaking news I’m writing. It’s the basics.

And the basics work.

I do the basics.

So my abs routine…

Here’s what I do:

  • 5-6 meals a day (I’m doing a “what I ate” post soon, so you will see what I eat)
  • eating every 2-3 hours
  • limited sugars
  • healthy fats (I LOVE fats… people need to get over the fat free diet bullcrap, healthy fats DO NOT MAKE YOU FAT!! ugh…that really urks me Winking smile)
  • complex carbs… complex carbs do not make you fat so get over the low-carb phase
  • lean meats… I eat fish (I keep tilapia, salmon, and shrimp on hand) as well as beans and tofu and eggs/egg whites

So that’s what I do and that’s 90% of my abs.

To workout my abs I do some planks, crunches on the ball, twists, sit ups, etc. Nothing crazy or ground breaking. My routine is very simple and I work my abs 1-2 times a week max.

And one last tip for abs…

DRINK WATER!!!!!! And lots of it.

IMG_20120701_104346

Stay thirsty my friends Winking smile

I also hope to either do an ab video showing my favorite moves or give you a set routine sometime soon but for now, you need to get your diet right before you start to tone up your abs.

Happy sweating!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

