Archive for January 22nd, 2012

January 22, 2012

no bake honey apricot coconut oatmeal bars.

I’ve been meaning to make these bars for a while but never got around to it and yesterday, since we got some snow, I thought it was the perfect time to try out a new recipe.

IMG_4025

These are great for on the go snacks which is what I’ll be using them for since I start classes again tomorrow (rawr). Quick and easy, you can make these in about 5 minutes, then stick them in the fridge for 20 minutes and you’re good to go!

They also work great for some pre-workout energy to sustain you through a run or some weight training.

IMG_4018

I have wanted to make a oatmeal bar that 1) stuck together and 2) was delicious for quite some time but every time I tried they turned out like crap. This time though, they came out perfect. They stick together, they’re not too sweet, they have a punch of protein, and taste great. I loooove dried apricots but I’m sure if you don’t like them you could try replacing them with your favorite dried fruit, although I’m not sure how it’ll alter the results.

Apricots are awesome though because they have iron in them and they’re nutrient dense, perfect for vegetarians or anyone who’s looking to up their iron intake.

IMG_4020

IMG_4023

These are sweetened with honey, too which boosts up the nutritional profile by adding in some more nutrients and minerals.

For so long I avoided honey (no idea why) and now I just love it. It’s a great all natural sweetener and is perfect for things like baking or adding to teas or drizzling over almond butter sandwiches.

We got about 6 jars of honey from my Grammy out in Idaho and this is the best honey I think I’ve ever tasted. Something about fresh honey that isn’t quite like the store bought kind, huh?

IMG_4024

And they taste awesome with some almond butter spread on top.

I hope you love these bars as much as I do!

IMG_4028

No Bake Honey Apricot Coconut Oatmeal Bars

Makes 8-10 bars.

  • 1 and 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 10 dried apricots, chopped
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used this protein, which is flavorless, but I’m sure vanilla flavored will work too)
  • 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 2 tablespoons ground flaxseed
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Line a Pyrex dish with parchment paper (I used a small-ish one, I don’t know the size exactly but you don’t want a gigantor dish because then the bars will be too thin). Combine dry ingredients (oats, apricots, protein powder, flaxseed, coconut and cinnamon in a bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine the almond butter, honey and vanilla extract. Microwave for 30 seconds stirring halfway through.
  3. Mix together the wet ingredients and dry ingredients until all combined. The mixture will be very sticky and seem dry but just keep mixing everything.
  4. Place the mixture in your dish and smooth out with your spatula until everything is even. You should be able to cut 8-10 bars from the mixture so make sure you don’t spread it too thin/thick.
  5. Place bars in the refrigerator for 20 minutes and then cut into bars. Wrap individually in tin foil for easy grab-and-go!

Nutritional info (per bar, using 10 bars): 177 calories, 29 grams carbs, 5 grams fat, 6 grams protein)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers