Gluten Free?

I woke up to a rainy world this morning, but that just means I can bust out my Teavana and sip on strong, hot tea all day! And then be so energetic I fell like I’m about to shoot off from the ground. (Funny… this reminded me of when I was on the elliptical the other day and I guess I was ballin’ out so hard my foot slipped and I nearly fell off the elliptical. LOL) I just finished my breakfast (buckwheat groats + berries + Justin’s almond butter + pure maple syrup) and now I’m watching The Today Show (part of my morning ritual).

3702whole_grain_bread

[source]

About 2 weeks ago after a run, I found this weird sort of ‘break out’ on my stomach. It was a bunch of little pinkish bumps and I thought I had an allergic reaction to something I ate. It was all up my stomach but they were so tiny it was hard to see. However, it didn’t last long. Once I spotted it, it went away. Weird.

The next day, I got really bad stomach cramps. The kind I would get if I were on my period, which was weird because I wasn’t on it (or close to). The pain was in my stomach, too. On both sides, mainly my left and it was like a jab. I was also seriously bloated and lost my appetite. I HATE being bloated, and normally, I’m not so when I am bloated, there is something wrong.

The cramping and bloated continued on for a week while I tried to rack my brain and figure out what the heck was making me feel this way?

I thought for the longest time it was lactose intolerance, or something to do with diary, so I avoided it for a week. But after having some dairy, the pain didn’t get worse or go away so I nixed that possibility off my list.

After being so incredibly frustrated with my body and why it was doing this to me all of a sudden, I went to my trusty friend, Google (I don’t recommend this, go see your Dr!). I don’t know what made me search about gluten intolerance but once I did, everything I was experiencing seemed to be a side effect of eating gluten.

I was experiencing:

  • abdominal pain and cramping
  • bloating
  • fatigue
  • nausea
  • skin rash (although mine was nothing compared to what I’d seen in pictures that you can get from eating gluten)
  • headaches and migraines (which I never get)
  • malodorous flatulence & stools (TMI, oh wells! I like to keep it real)

And all those were side effects of eating gluten.

Great.

Why would my body all of a sudden be so against everything I’d been eating for my whole life?

So, in hopes to feel like myself again, a week after I’d been experiencing some discomfort (couldn’t even go to the gym without feeling like CRAP. I didn’t even want to eat a lot [which is SO not like me] and I had no desire to exercise), I decided to give up gluten for a day and see what happens.

It wasn’t too hard, except I had to go out and buy a GF cereal to eat for breakfast that morning.

9125_0

[source]

As soon as I woke up, I made myself some breakfast which was just lame GF cereal. Well, it turned out not to be so lame because I actually felt great. I didn’t feel bloated and didn’t experience stomach cramps like I had been.

FINALLY, a day without those annoying symptoms!!!! I was still bloated, but not like I was for the past week.

I went GF the whole day and low and behold, I felt fantastic and like my normal self again.

Since then (about a week from Saturday), I have been avoiding gluten, and I feel so much better. No more abdominal cramps, no bloating or headaches, no nausea, etc.

fresh-mozzarella-sliced-tomato-basil1-570

[source]

However, 2 nights ago, we went out for pizza. I thought, heck, let’s see if gluten really is the enemy. And since I am a pizza lover (can’t live without it), I just couldn’t pass up a slice. Especially from one of my favorite pizzerias! First bite, feelin’ good… finished the whole slice of pizza I got and didn’t feel too crappy.

But, when we got home I was SO incredibly tired I felt like I had just run 50 miles and my eyes were just closing on me. I felt some stomach cramps (but nothing like I had for the previous week). I looked up symptoms again and asked around, and gluten actually can make you VERY tired. Well, I was freakin’ TI-RED. It was only 6pm and I wanted to go to bed like nobody’s bizznazzz but I knew I couldn’t because then I’d be up in the wee hours of the night for falling asleep so early. I also got a bad headache along with my tiredness.

Blah.

Guess I sort of know what is causing me to feel like this.

But I don’t get it… how do you go from eating gluten every day of your life and all of a sudden your body rebels against it? I eat healthily too… whole wheats, very little white flour (not that that has anything to do with it), so it made no sense to me. And I was bummed out. No more pizza? No more ‘regular’ pasta? (<— as a die-hard carb lover, I am heart broken… nothing shall replace the crunchy, crusty bread you get from the Italian store)

So, as you can imagine, I’m feeling a bit bummed out right now, but at least I feel better (which is the only thing I want – is to feel like myself). I am totally against diagnosing yourself with something without seeing a Dr. so I WILL be seeing my doctor soon.

I’m so confused??? I just want to know what the heck is going on and to what degree. And I want to know if I can still eat ‘regular’ pizza. (<— like I said, die-hard carb lover)

If in turn I do have gluten intolerance, I plan on eating more eggs (for a good protein source). I’m not a huge fan of them (never was), but I feel like if I have some sort of gluten intolerance, I will have to be making more changes in my diet (incorporating more eggs + greek yogurt is what I’m talkin’ bout adding in).

Did anyone else experience this or is experiencing this? Are you gluten intolerant or have celiac disease?

One Comment to “Gluten Free?”

  1. I have a sneaking suspicion that I’m gluten sensetive, but I just don’t want to admit it. I deal with the same symptoms on occasion so I try to avoid gluten. Also, I’ve realized nut butters kind of do the same thing to me. Hope you get it figured out and feel better.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

