Archive for July 20th, 2011

July 20, 2011

How I Keep My Booty Lookin’ Good

Good afternoon!

Can I just ask you all a question? Would it be appropriate for me to wear a cowboygirl hat to a Taylor Swift concert tonight? Cause that’s where I’m going!

Me, my sister, her bf and his cousin, Jess, are all going to see her in concert tonight. I’m not a huge fan of Taylor Swift but I’d love to see how she performs live. I’m contemplating bringing my DSLR but I don’t want to lug it around and/or break it/drop it (crazy drunk people)/have it stolen somehow. I would die. So exnay on the DSLR idea. Heh.

So what did I eat for breakfast this morning after consuming a cookie the size of my head?

IMG_2383

A delicious green smoothie + 2 slices of toast (went back for a second slice about a 1/2 hour after) with almond butter.

IMG_2384

I used Kimberly Snyder’s Glowing Green Smoothie as the basis of this smoothie and it turned out great! I drank it in a mini glass to act like it was a shot because I wasn’t sure if I could handle the taste but I actually liked it!

IMG_2385

  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 6 cups organic spinach
  • bunch of organic romaine lettuce from my garden
  • few sprigs of parsley from my garden
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 1 cup frozen organic strawberries
  • 1 banana

I first blended up the water, lemon juice, strawberries, and banana. Then added the rest to make sure that everything was blended smoothly.

I blended everything for probably about… 5 minutes? And then I stored it in a mason jar overnight (since I made it the night before). In the morning, I just shook everything up and poured myself a glass!

IMG_2387

DEFINITELY making this again! I think I liked this better than a green monster (that uses almond milk).

The key is to blend everything for a looong time so it’s really smooth and velvety. It’s not too sweet but the strawberries add a nice hint of sweetness. It went down like butta!

It was very refreshing and ‘juice like’. I am going to be making batches of this smoothie and storing it in the fridge for when I want to pour myself a glass. It makes probably 2-3 servings and it’s best served when icy cold.

I think the theme for today is green because lunch was a big salad.

IMG_2379

Kale, spinach, mixed greens, peppers, leftover Dill Pickle Tofu, carrots, cucumbers, and a hummus & hot sauce dressing.

I love hot sauce & hummus so I just mixed the two together to making a creamy, spicy dressing. It was deeeeelicious!

Just a couple minutes ago I had a snack of granola, strawberries, White Chocolate Wonderful PB, and almond milk.

IMG_2391

Holy amazing.

Someone PLEASE take this granola away from me because I am about to OD on it.

If you leave the peanut butter on the spoon, with each bite you can eat some off of it. MMMMMmMmMMMm.

IMG_2390

Best. snack. ever.

I went back for granola seconds. Duh.

And more peanut butter.

Of course.

IMG_2393

How I keep My Booty Lookin’ Good

In case your wondering how it feels to run 5 miles of speed work the day after doing 350 butt exercises, I can let you rest assure it is painful. For all parties involved. Especially when you’re bopping up and down on a treadmill trying to run as fast as a cheetah and smell like the gazelle it just ate.

You feel me?

My workout today was hard and REALLY sweaty but totally what I needed. I love those dirty kind of workouts that leave you huffing and puffing, covered in sweat, but in a great mind set because you just accomplished a really hard workout. My glutes are so sore but I LOVE it. I love when my butt is sore!

I usually, actually always, slack in the booty exercise department. You see, although it may not appear that my donk is big, it is. It’s not huge, but it gets noticed, if you know what I mean. ;) I gots a booty. And a girl with a booty needs to maintain it (ask Kim Kardashian). You can’t just have a big butt and do nothing about it. Girls with asses, y’all know what I’m talkin’ about. If you don’t upkeep your butt somehow, well, it’s not pretty. And I have been slacking in that department until recently.

A few weeks ago, I wore a tight rib dress (those are my fav ;)). Anyways, I did a looksie behind and my butt was not in as good shape as I thought it was.

Insert: squats, lunges, bun lifts, and side leg lifts.

Outcome: a firmer, tighter, nicer, plumper, sorer butt.

Win, win.

I have been doing butt exercises 2-3 times per week and in the first week I saw results. When I tell you I never worked out my butt, I mean it. I always thought running and spinning would take care of it. Well, that’s not the case. For me at least.

I kind of just threw together this butt strengthening thing one day and decided to stick with it. It’s short, effective, and you really feel the burn.

Here’s what I do:

Start off with 100 squats. I usually do 100 in a row, but to switch it up, do 25 facing each side of the room you’re in to get a change of scenery.

body-weight-squats-up-down-girl

[source]

I always keep my hands out like the girl above, you’ll feel the burn more than if you keep your hands on your sides.

I also probably don’t go THAT low. LOL! She’s cray cray.

Immediately followed by 25 forward lunges on each leg (no brakes!):

Lunges-Forward

[source]

Some days, I’ll do 50 lunges per leg, but usually 25 each for a total of 50.

You can lunge like the girl above, but I just get into lunge position and then raise my left leg (as shown in the picture) up and down. Repeat on the other side but you’d raise your right leg instead. Sort of like pulsing.

Next, 50 bun lifts per leg:

Freytag_BunLift_1

Freytag_BunLift_2

[source]

You can do this with or without the weights, it’s up to you. I do it without.

I also start in the second position (second picture) and instead of bringing your leg back down to the floor, I leave it up and pulse it up high 50 times. Ouuuuu it hurts!

Lastly, 50 side leg lifts on each side:

AY1205BU002

[source]

I keep my right leg straight (hers is bent) and go up and down slowly. The slower, the more you’ll feel it.

These quick workouts take me 10 minutes, tops. And they’re super effective! I feel the burn everyday after I do them!

Do you workout your butt? Anyone else in the BBC (big booty committee)?

Hope you all have a great night and cheers to booties!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers