Archive for May 30th, 2011

May 30, 2011

What I’ve Been Eating

Hey guys!!! Happy Memorial Day. I missed you all so much. I especially missed blogging, I need to catch up on blogs! I hope you all had a great long weekend.

I was pretty busy this weekend spending time with Sean and just enjoying relaxing by the beach and taking it easy. Sean left yesterday (insert sad face.. :() and I was meaning to blog but left the computer down at the beach. No worries though because my mom brought it up today and now I’m here!

I took a lot of pictures this weekend + a bunch of foods that I’ve been eating yesterday + today. I thought I’d split up my weekend into 2 posts.. one of what I’ve been eating and another of what I’ve been doing. I don’t have many pictures of food from the weekend, but I have a bunch of snacks and meals that I’ve been eating since getting home to get back on track. I didn’t over due it on food throughout the weekend, but lets just say there was a lack of veggies! I was so excited to get in my kitchen and just cook up wholesome, healthy meals.

As soon as I got home I had some hot ginger tea with freshly squeezed lemon juice and a squirt of honey.

2011-05-29_14_41_12

2011-05-29_14_41_26

Lots of frosty cold water!

2011-05-29_14_45_21

Apricots for iron and because they are da bomb! These are my new favorite brand.

2011-05-29_15_03_33

I watched some Harry Potter..

2011-05-29_15_17_43

..and therefore popcorn was in order!

Freshly popped organic popcorn kernels with a sprinkle of nutritional yeast.

2011-05-29_15_26_20

Went and got sushi at my brothers fav sushi place for dinner last night!

2011-05-29_17_43_49

Had multiple cups of hot green tea.

2011-05-29_17_47_41

Perfectly salty edamame for an appetizer + protein.

2011-05-29_17_56_21

Cucumber + avocado sushi for dinner that I dipped in soy sauce and wasabi.

2011-05-29_18_03_36

Vanilla mochi for dessert which is like a chewy ice cream. The only way I can describe it is like vanilla ice cream in a chewy rice doughy exterior. SO good. I wanted to eat 20 of them. :mrgreen:

2011-05-29_18_16_12

Afterwards, we went to the Asian market to get iced green tea.

2011-05-29_18_36_33

My brother introduces me to a lot of things, and this time it was iced green teas. He is obsessed with this one brand of green tea so I thought I might as well get some. They’re 2 liter bottles and the tea is actually pretty strong for being iced!

I picked up some cinnamon flavored tea (orange label) and green tea (green label).

2011-05-29_18_59_26 

2011-05-29_19_00_57

2011-05-29_19_01_06

The cinnamon tea actually doesn’t taste cinnamony at all, but more like the green tea.

2011-05-29_18_59_37

2011-05-29_18_59_52

Nice and refreshing!!! Way better than drinking hot tea..

They also have lots of Vitamin C. As much as orange juice!

2011-05-29_19_00_01

2011-05-29_19_00_13

After being totally reenergized by green tea (I had about 5 cups at dinner + a cup of iced green tea at home, yikes!!), I headed out to use up all my extra energy!

I hadn’t truly broke a sweat in a while so last night was the perfect time to go for a quick run. It wasn’t too hot and the sun was just setting. I was in the groooove.

2011-05-29_19_48_59

It was the perfect Spring evening.

2011-05-29_19_50_48

I did 2 miles in 18:53. Sorry for the blurry pic, I was exhausted!

2011-05-29_20_13_20

I walked the .58 miles home to give my legs a nice ‘shake out’.

2011-05-29_20_28_36

And then something scary happened.

While I was walking home, a car (with older guys and from another state) was parked on a side street. I had walked past the car quickly to let them go, but they just stayed there.. and stayed there.. and stayed there until I made it to the end of the street and then turned in the direction I was going.

I thought, okay, no big deal, maybe it’s just a coincidence.

Then they turned down my street and parked at the end and turned there lights off. I was seriously so freaked out at this point.. I didn’t know if they knew I lived down that street or if it was, again, just a coincidence. Since I know better than to put myself in danger, I walked past my street. I did this because I didn’t want them to see what house I was going into. I walked down a few more blocks and then stopped at a street corner. I waited and waited to see if the car would leave my street.

No luck.

I called up my brother and told him to come pick me up and bring me home.

Just before my brother got me, the car had left the street.

I wanted my brother to pick me up so he could just drive the car into the garage and that way, they wouldn’t be able to see where I lived.

I know, I may have overreacted, but I trust NO ONE and yes, I am always thinking ahead and the worst possible situation but honestly, being a young woman, there is no way I am going to risk anything and throw caution into the wind and trust some strangers and just think ‘oh, it’s a coincidence’ because, that one time you think it is a coincidence, it won’t be.

Be careful ladies, be suspicious of everyone and everything and ALWAYS be aware of your surroundings. I am never unaware of what’s going on around me.

Anyways, moral of the story is, I will not be running anytime soon at night again (I was out around 8). The latest I’ll venture outside will be at 6. And once I do get more comfortable with being outside at night again, I will be bringing pepper spray. Let it be known though, that I always have my cell phone on me. I never leave the house without it while going on a run, especially at night.

After running, I came home and did some squats.

I did 100 squats and 50 lunges (25 each leg). I have a fun little challenge coming up regarding my booty, so stay tuned!

This morning I woke up to some lovely VOO.

Pumpkin Vanilla Spice Protein VOO + frosty cold green tea.

2011-05-30_09_18_57

Sooooooooooo good! I missed vegan overnight oats SO much. It was heaven. Pure bliss.

2011-05-30_09_19_05

Woooohooo for maple syrup. I <3 pure maple syrup. It’s my kryptonite.

I am going to try and switch to iced green tea in the morning with the occasional coffee mixed in.

I haven’t had coffee in a few days, but I have experienced no headaches. I guess that’s a good thing because that means I’m not addicted!

2011-05-30_09_19_16

Then I headed out to the park for a run!

I had wanted to do a solid 4 mile run but since it was so hot and humid today (90 degrees and up), I decided to compromise.

I told myself I’d do 4 miles of on/off sprints.

Here’s what I did:

  • sprint .15 miles, walk .10 miles until you reach 1 mile
  • repeat for a total of 4 miles
  • sprint .15 miles.. walk until .25 miles.. sprint until .40 miles.. walk until .50 miles.. sprint until .65 miles.. walk until .75 miles.. sprint until .90 miles.. walk until 1.0 miles –> repeat until you reach desired distance

I had wanted to do .20 mile sprints but it was just SO SO hot out so I compromised on .15 mile sprints and it was perfect. I was melting! I regretting bringing my Camelbak but I was lucky that I brought an icy cold water bottle with me to drink after my sprint session.

I actually didn’t bring my I-pod on this run because I wanted to focus on my time, speed, and posture. It felt great to just disconnect and hear the birds and breathe in the fresh air. I am planning on leaving my I-pod at home for future runs as well because it felt so nice to just be with my thoughts.

My legs were so EXTREMELY SORE from my squats/lunges I thought I was going to trip and fall over, but I survived. I had contemplated just doing 2 miles but I’m glad I finished it out with 4. I was running 7 min/mile sprints in the beginning but by the end I tapering off to 8 and 9 min/mile sprints because my legs were like METAL! The sprints were super fun and made the time fly by. I will definitely be doing this workout again. Maybe I can try and see if I can do it faster once my legs are un-sore??

2011-05-30_12_18_59

2011-05-30_12_19_40

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, I am now waddling around like a penguin. :mrgreen:

Came home and ate a vegan cookie dough granola bar that I made and more super cold green tea.

2011-05-30_12_31_14

I warmed it up in the microwave (without the plastic on) and it was all ooey and gooey and warm.. mmmm.

2011-05-30_12_31_23

I also wore blue eye shadow today to rep the American flag! (nerd alert)

2011-05-30_13_03_58

Ever since I made sour cream and onion kale chips, I have been on the hunt for lots and lots of kale recipes.

I was craving a cold, energizing salad after my run so I made a massaged kale salad.

2011-05-30_14_13_54

Massaged Kale Salad with Avocado and Quinoa

Adapted from Cookus Interruptus. Serves 4-6.

For the salad:

  • 1 bunch kale
  • 1 cup uncooked red quinoa (about 2 cups cooked)
  • 1/2 a small red onion, finely diced
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • freshly cracked black pepper, to taste

For the dressing:

  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice (about juice from 1/2 a lemon)

Directions: Cook quinoa according to package directions. Once cooked, allow to cool and then rinse under cool water. Meanwhile, de-stem kale and wash under cold water. Pat to dry and cut into bite sized pieces. Massage the sea salt into the kale for about a minute. Pat dry again to remove any remaining liquids. Add in the red onion, avocado, sunflower seeds, and cooled red quinoa plus the black pepper. Pour on the dressing and give it a good, gentle toss. Serve!

This couldn’t be easier and more delicious!

2011-05-30_14_14_02

If you’re a kale skeptic, skepticize no more!

The quinoa helps add some bulk and staying power to this salad. The avocado is so creamy and really adds a lot of depth. I love a ripe avocado so make sure you pick out a ripe one!

I stayed full for a good 4+ hours after eating this.

2011-05-30_14_13_31

This is my favorite brand of quinoa:

2011-05-30_13_35_10

Mmm.. I love quinoa! So light and airy but definitely packs a punch. I especially love red quinoa because it’s a bit nuttier and has more flavor, in my opinion, than white quinoa.

2011-05-30_14_15_30

I wanted to eat the whole bowl.

2011-05-30_14_15_15

This is one of the best salads I’ve ever made.

Refreshing, energizing, wholesome, healthy. Perfect!

2011-05-30_14_15_23 

I love simple, clean foods and this salad definitely delivers. It’s perfect for the Spring/Summer season. All the flavors go so well together.

Go get your (sore) booty to the store and pick up some kale and make this salad!

I’ll see you all tomorrow with Trixie.. ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers