Archive for May 24th, 2011

May 24, 2011

I Am Caesaaaah

Hey friends!

Hope you had a lovely start to your week. :)

This morning I kick started my day with a big bowl of VOO.

2011-05-24_07_55_56

It’s super humid today and I (think) the sun might be coming out so it was a perfect, light and refreshing breakfast for such a warm day.

I made my pumpkin vanilla spice protein VOO.

2011-05-24_07_55_45

I am loving these oats, especially pumpkin. I love getting in veggies first thing in the morning and not even knowing I’m eating a veggie!

Pumpkin is so so versatile. I added probably about 1/2 cup to this bowl and it was HUGE. The oats were spilling out of my bowl, and that best part is that 1/2 cup is so so little calories for all the bulk it gives the oats. Much much more satisfying.

2011-05-24_07_56_06

Yesterday I went to my garden for lunch inspiration.

My mom’s basil that she picked up from the store and planted was looking especially good so I picked off a few leaves (the basil I grew from seeds is still little baby leaves!).

2011-05-23_10_19_17

Mmmmm.. I could eat basil all. day. long.

2011-05-23_10_19_46

In case you’re wondering how the rest of my garden is doing, my carrots are gettin’ their groove on and are growing more and more each day.

2011-05-23_10_20_25

That’s the bird mesh net I put over my garden so no animals can get in. Once I put chicken wire around my garden, I’ll lightly drape this on top.

And my cucumbers + zucchini are out. of. control.

2011-05-23_10_20_13

I keep going out checking to see if I can spot any mini cucumbers growing. :mrgreen: With all the rain we’ve been getting, my veggies have been sky rocketing.

I took my basil inside and gathered up a few more ingredients for a panini.

2011-05-23_10_26_25

Garden Fresh Basil with Garlic Rubbed Bread and Thyme Panini

  • 2 slices hearty whole grain bread
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled (not minced)
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 2 marinated artichoke hearts
  • handful of fresh spinach
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp oregano

Directions: Grill bread on a panini press until grill marks appear. Rub with the garlic clove and then sprinkle the bread with thyme and oregano. Layer on the spinach, basil, artichoke hearts, and avocado. Press in the panini press until warmed through. Serve!

Yummmmmy!

2011-05-23_10_39_18

I found that is you grill the bread before pressing it in the panini, it stays super crunchy. And I love crunch.

Also, rubbing the garlic clove on the hot, grilled bread gives you all the garlic flavor without actually eating the garlic clove.

2011-05-23_10_39_27

I have been loving adding avocado to all my sandwiches.. it makes them so creamy and seem so indulgent but they’re packed with lots of healthy fats to get your shining. They’re a great sub for mayo.

2011-05-23_10_40_15

Annnd.. I ate my lunch at work with some grapes + cherries.

2011-05-23_11_55_01

9 times out of 10, I photograph my food and then eat in way less ‘pretty’ way lol.

I also came to the conclusion that cherries taste like bland grapes!! Waaaah. I was expecting nice and sweet cherries, but no such luck. Do all cherries taste bland or what!? I have only tasted those fake ones before that are put into sweet drinks + dried cherries so I have no idea what fresh cherries are ‘supposed’ to taste like.

Afternoon snax included black tea + squirt of raw, local honey and a vegan carrot cake muffin.

2011-05-23_13_15_14

These muffins are SO moist it’s crazy.

A little later into the day, I made my way on over to the gym for spin class + some abs.

My legs were very very tired from my 4 mile ‘tempo’ run the other day so I took it easy on myself in spin. I’m going to spin again today and we’re doing ‘Tour de France’ so I wanted to make sure to save most of my energy for today’s class.

Basically, my teacher is preparing us as if we are doing the Tour de France. She speaks to us like “break out of the pact!!!” and what certain cyclists thought when they were in the Tour de France and puts the image in our mind that we’re actually in the race. She always says the most inspiring quotes like, “you can’t say you can’t if you don’t try.” She’s my favorite spin teacher and is a great motivational speaker per say. In a couple weeks, we’re going to be doing a mock Tour de France in the spin room so I can’t wait to see how I improve throughout all the ‘training’!

I came home and made a quick dinna.

2011-05-23_18_55_19

Mixed greens + homemade vegan caesar dressing (below) + thinly sliced onions, cucumbers, and celery.

2011-05-23_18_55_44

Corn on da cob + baked potato with more vegan caesar dressing drizzled on (AMAZE).

So, remember how I wrote that I wanted to try a few new meals this week?

Well, last night I got around to make Gena’s raw, vegan caesar salad dressing. Of course, I can never follow any recipes so below are my adaptations.

2011-05-23_15_14_58

Vegan Caesar Dressing

Adapted from Gena at Choosing Raw

  • 3/4 cup raw, unsalted cashews
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 4 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup + 1 tbsp water
  • 1/2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions: Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

2011-05-23_15_17_27

This recipe has a pretty strong nutritional yeast ‘taste’ so next time I would maybe decrease the nutritional yeast to maybe 3-4 tbsp but it all depends on how much you like the taste of nutritional yeast. Always adapt things to your taste buds! Taste as you go. I tasted this after it was done blending and I ended up adding another garlic clove + lemon juice to help balance out everything.

This has been my most recent photography station:

2011-05-23_15_16_12

The little bench by our door makes the perfect food photography spot!

I also tried using some new props in my pictures by adding the ingredients list I wrote out while making the sauce for a little ‘homemade’ sort of feeling.

2011-05-23_15_17_42

I like it in theory but I think this idea might work better with a different recipe and different props. It also probably doesn’t help that I nearly ripped the page out of my notebook. lol. :D

2011-05-23_15_17_14

Yum yums!

I have so many ideas of what to do with this recipe. I wish I had romaine lettuce to use but we only had mixed greens. I have a super cute idea with romaine lettuce though so once I pick some up I’ll share it with you all.

I’m off to make kale chips (first time EVER!!!), bake, clean, possibly hit up Trader Joe’s, lay out in the sun, hit up the gym, and get mani pedi’s later with a friend.

Shesh, I’m busy! Better get a move on.

Have a great day :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers