Archive for May 23rd, 2011

May 23, 2011

Raw, Vegan Strawberry and Apple Crisp For One

Hello!

Happy Monday. :D

Yesterday I had a veeery lazy morning. I woke up around 8:30 and ended up lounging on the couch until 12 because I was procrastinating my workout like crazy (it happens to the best of us)!

I wanted to be doing this:

2011-05-22_11_45_50

But alas I got off my butt and went to the gym. Better late than never right!?

2011-05-22_12_29_13

I don’t even remember the last time I ran.

I used to drive myself crazy and think I’m ‘worthless’ because I haven’t ran in a week or whatever but now I go with the flow and actually crave running more now that it doesn’t feel like a chore. I used to just feel like I needed to run but now I want to run. It no longer plagues me as something I need to do to ‘look good’ but more as something to keep up stamina and clear my mind and get in a great sweaty workout. Running is a release. I love how strong and powerful I feel while running.

I set out to do 4 miles, all negative splits (all incline 1.0).

  • mile 1: 6.0 mph
  • mile 2: 6.1 mph
  • mile 3: 6.2 mph – 6.0 mph (dabbled down when I needed a little breather)
  • mile 4: 6.3 mph – 6.7 mph (dabbled in the 5.8 mph & 6.0, 6.1 and 6.2 mph’s for mini ‘breaks’)
  • total time: ~ 38 mins

Right as I was about to reach mile 2, I took a sip of water and my water bottle hit a wrong button on the treadmill and it actually shut off on me so I had to ‘guestimate’ my total time. I definitely hauled ass and did it in roughly 38 min though. There was a girl next to me who raised her pace every time I raised mine up so I was thinking “oh you wanna bring it!?!” and I thought “I’m gonna smoke you!!!” so as soon as I was almost done, I hiked up my pace and sprinted to the finish line. I wanted to thank her for the motivation but she got off the treadmill before I was done. Love a little challenge!

After my workout I refueled with a high protein vegan, organic granola bar. And then it hit. I was craving salsa like a MAD WOMAN. Thankfully, we had a jar in the pantry so the salsa monster was happy.

2011-05-22_13_58_36

Lots of salsa + 1 Dr. Kracker flatbread (last one!! :() + 5 organic carrots.

I was thinking, how amazing would it be to combine hummus + salsa + a little bit of nutritional yeast to make a sort of ‘Rotel dip’!? Omg. Yum.

2011-05-22_13_58_43

And of course a cake batter green smoothie..

2011-05-22_13_58_53

This meal left me sooooo full. I <3 volume eating.

Lately, I’ve been perusing foodgawker like it’s my j-o-b.

I had seen a raw crisp on OSG a few days ago but I wanted something that would be just enough for one. I also wanted a crisp with less berries + more fruits that I like.

I have to admit, while I have never met a veggie I didn’t like, I have met fruits I didn’t like.

I don’t like eating blueberries, raspberries, or even blackberries raw. The texture tooootally turns me off. The only way I can eat those fruits is if they are in a melty, gooey dessert or blended into a smoothie. Otherwise, I won’t touch it. :mrgreen: I’m still working on this though and hopefully one day I’ll be able to eat them raw!

Anyway, I went on foodgawker because I knew I could find something that would tickle my fancy.

I came across a lot of crisps but I loved the idea of this one.

2011-05-23_08_01_20

Of course, I didn’t follow the recipe and since they baked there’s I had to find a way to make mine taste good while still being raw.

It was amazeballs. As soon as I took it out of the fridge this morning for breakfast, I was in crisp heaven.

Raw, Vegan Strawberry and Apple Crisp For One

Adapted by Ounces and Grams Strawmble

For the filling:

  • 1/2 cup strawberries, chopped
  • 1 small granny smith apple, peeled and chopped (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sucanat
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

For the topping:

  • 2 tbsp rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp walnuts (not chopped, about 3-4)
  • 1 tbsp pecans (not chopped, about 3-4)
  • 1/2 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • pinch of cinnamon

Directions: Combine all ingredients for the filling in a bowl and let sit in the fridge overnight. In the morning, give the filling a quick mix and make the topping. For the topping, combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until combined. Try not to process the topping too much so that you end up with a nice texture. Top the filling with the topping and serve!

2011-05-23_08_01_29

This was incredibly easy. If you want, you can eat this right away instead of putting it in the fridge overnight (or for at least 2 hours). However, the flavors get to ‘marinate’ overnight and get all yummy and sweet so I would definitely recommend putting it in the fridge overnight.

You can also prepare the topping while making the filling too, so in the morning all you have to do is top the filling with the topping. It’s the best breakfast I’ve had in awhile. It’s so refreshing and crisp and makes for a perfect, light Spring breakfast. The flaxseed also helps soak up the liquid that the berries/apple might give off so definitely make sure to add it.

I love apple crisps so when I pulled this out of the fridge this morning and it smelled like a true apple crisp I was in HEAVEN. The strawberries add a nice sweetness too and add lots of antioxidants.

2011-05-23_08_02_40

I want to eat 20 of these!

2011-05-23_08_01_49

You can also double it to serve 2, etc. I’m going to experiment making this warm too, so I’ll let you know how it turns out!

2011-05-23_08_02_03

2011-05-23_08_02_12

Mmmm..

All the fruit stayed nice and firm, too. It didn’t get mushy at all.

2011-05-23_08_02_31

Make. This. Now.

I also went to the store yesterday and stumbled upon these:

2011-05-23_08_50_57

My first time ever buying fresh sweet red cherries!

I now need LOTS of recipes with cherries.. since these cost $7 a POUND *ouch*. I’ll be selling my soul for years to come to pay off these cherries.

2011-05-23_08_51_22

Looks like I have another reason to go on foodgawker.. ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers