Nice Little Walk

Gooooooood morning. Happy Funday Sunday! I’m planning on hitting up the gym this morning for a quick elliptical + weights  sesh and then going to Hoboken with my friend to walk around + eat lunch and get fresh juices. Hollar!

I fueled up this morning with some basic VOO.

2011-05-01_07_02_25

In the mix: 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup almond milk, walnuts, lots of cinnamon, chia seeds, strawberries, pure maple syrup.

Almost like my strawberry shortcake oats!

2011-05-01_07_02_16

Rewind to yesterday..

We got this put up..

2011-04-30_12_49_31

But had a snafu (or at least I did because I stress about the little things) so I’ll explain in a later post when everything is how it should be.

I enjoyed some Chobani since I have enough to supply a small village.

2011-04-30_12_48_42

I think I might have some sort of dairy problem because once I ate this my stomach had really bad cramps. :( I guess I notice when dairy hurts me more now because I don’t really eat/drink it as much. It’s amazing how your body reacts to things once you start to introduce it to certain foods again.

I drank some Amazing Grass all day in my shimmy shaker:

2011-04-30_10_52_52

I definitely like this flavor MORE than the creamsicle one. It tastes like grape juice when mixed with H2O! I had endless amount of energy all day.. I’m considering buying a tub of this stuff because I really really liked it.

2011-04-30_10_53_07

Pretty impressive huh!

2011-04-30_10_55_42

Sluuuuuurp.

I also made some crackers.. with a twist of course.

2011-04-30_13_29_43

Chewy Doughy Cracker Balls

Lightly adapted from Angela’s over at OSG

  • 1 cup uncooked brown rice
  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 4 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds + 2 tbsp reserved
  • 2 tbsp whole flaxseeds
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 4 tbsp water
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 heaping tsp dried dill
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions: Preheat oven to 300*. Cook brown rice and quinoa according to instructions and allow to fully cool before mixing with other ingredients. After the brown rice + quinoa has cooled, process the brown rice, quinoa, ground flaxseed, water, garlic cloves, dill, and salt until smooth. Remove from food processor and mix in the whole flaxseeds, chia seeds, and 2 tbsp of sesame seeds. Form into balls and roll in the reserved 2 tbsp of sesame seeds. Bake for 45 minutes, remove and cool.

2011-04-30_13_29_22

Loved these! I love anything that has a doughy texture and is in a fun shape, it makes eating so much more fun.

I ate mine with some salsa..

2011-04-30_13_29_09

But you could also serve yours up with hummus, on top of a salad, mashed on a sandwich, etc. You could even form these into actual crackers if you’d want to! Sky’s the limit folks.

2011-04-30_13_29_32

After fueling up I got dressed and ready for the gym. It was quite late into the day.. probably 3 o’clock so my motivation was in the dumps. I try to usually work out mid-morning (9 – 11am is my high energy zone) because that’s when my energy levels are highest but I didn’t have time because I was busy working on the garden all day.

I got in my car and headed on over to the gym only to realize that 30 seconds away from actually getting to the gym I just wasn’t feeling it. I was tired and didn’t feel like being inside on such a gorgeous day, so I listened to my body and decided to give it some rest. I had planned on running for 45 minutes but sometimes you just need to listen to your body and see what it feels like doing. I find that usually when you listen to your body you have a better chance at avoiding injury.

Instead, I went for a nice little 2 mile walk around the park.

It was great! I am usually speeding by all the pretty flowers + smells (usually pretty smells..) in the park so it was nice to take everything in and just breath. I even sat down 1.5 miles in to watch wedding pictures being taken at the gazebo (don’t worry, I was far away so I didn’t look like a total creeper)! All around I walked a little over 2 miles and I’m glad I opted for a nice relaxing walk. As an unexpected added bonus I even broke a sweat. ;)

Came home and ate some pan fried tofu because I was craving it like a mad woman all day!

2011-04-30_17_31_54

With hot sauce + granny smith apple + strawbs. I ended up making a tofu hot sauce sandwich by sandwiching everything in my beloved Trader Joe’s bread. If you’re wondering what those spots of orange are on the bread, it’s hot sauce. I went a bit over board. I like spicy though!

2011-04-30_17_32_04

Some of my new fav dried fruit for dessert..

2011-04-30_13_35_22

Love these!! They have a nice tart bite to them that is definitely unexpected but always welcome. :)

Then I went to watch my sisters play. They did a bunch of little Broadway skits this time, it was cute!

2011-04-30_20_03_09

She’s the one all the way to the left sitting down with the blonde hair. It’s weird because she has blonde hair, I have red hair, and my other brother + sister both have brown/darker hair. We’re all related I swear!!!

I had some rainbow sherbert after her play since we went there to celebrate. I chose sherbert because it doesn’t disturb my belly as much as dairy has been lately. Although that cake batter ice cream was lookin’ mighty fine..

Don’t worry though, I could never give up my beloved Phish Food by Ben & Jerry’s. :D

Well, looks like I’m off to have my own little funday Sunday! See ya all tomorrow.

Enjoy your day <3

3 Comments to “Nice Little Walk”

  1. ahahh love the dif hair colors in the fam!! LOVEEE these doughy cracker balls- SO COOL!

  2. Mmm those cracker balls look fantastic! :) So glad to be a new follower of your blog!
    http://cookskinny.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

