Orange-ya Berry Happy Smoothie + Operation Fruits & Veggies

Hey y’all!

I just packed all my snacks that I’ll be bringing with me to Missouri on Friday.

Dang. It’s a big ‘ol bag. I’m definitely over packing like always BUT I know I’ll be putting good use of all the yummy goodies I’m bringing but more on that soon!

My dad and sister are feeling a bit under the weather lately so I’ve been focusing on eating lots of fruits and veggies. Maybe it’s the change of seasons that makes everyone sick?

Either way, I made a delicious smoothie this morning that I had about 2 hours after my pumpkin pie oatmeal. It’s cold, creamy, packed full with vitamins, and thick! Just how I like ‘em ;).

I’m going to try to drink one of these each morning with my breakfast all this week to ward off any colds I could catch at home and while traveling.

I’m also going to pick up some Emergen-C at the store today. I’ve never used it but I hear it works wonders!

I named this smoothie “orange-ya berry happy smoothie” because you should be BERRY (very) happy while drinking this amazing smoothie :mrgreen:. You should also be happy because it’s packed with cold-busting vitamins and minerals that’ll keep you healthy and shining!

Orange-ya Berry Happy Smoothie

  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1/2 cup frozen pineapple chunks
  • 1/2 cup ice
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

Directions: Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth and creamy. Serves 1.

I am now in love with xanthan gum. It made my smoothie so thick and creamy!!!!!! I have been longing to make thick and creamy smoothies for forever and now I finally found a way.

You’re lucky I’m sharing my secret with you all ;).

1

Mmmmmmm. I gulped this right down!

2

All natural, full of antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals… you’ll never need another reason to pay for an overpriced smoothie ever again. EVER.

Ok, maybe once in a while but for real! It’s that good.

Continuing on my mission to eat lots of fruits and veggies today I made Angela’s avocados and mustard seeds dip for lunch. I meant to add in some pureed spinach into it but completely forgot. I thought it’d be a nice addition to add some greenery and vitamins.

I can’t get over how good this is with so few ingredients. Simplicity is better.

7

After making this dip and Angela’s tropical lemon cranberry coconut chia bars (say that five times fast!) my kitchen looked like a bomb went off in it:

3

It was worse than what this picture is showing you. But the cute little snowman makes washing dishes so much more enjoyable ;).

After 20 minutes of dish washing and a back ache I finally was able to dig into my cooled bars.

HOLY $#@!

5

These are like crack. SO GOOD. O-M-G.

My self-control went out the window and I almost ate the whole pan.

ALMOST.

I froze 12 of them so I can pack them on Friday for my trip and saved 6 to eat in the meantime. Which will probably last me 5 hours.

6

So far for today’s fruit and veggie count I have consumed:

  • pumpkin
  • oranges, mixed berries, + pineapple (smoothie)
  • dried apricots
  • a dried mango slice
  • an organic red pepper
  • organic baby carrots
  • onions
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • dried cranberries (from the bars ;). Yes, I’m counting them. Hehe)

Booooooooooya for fruits and veggies.

I also picked up some strawberries and grapes from the store today that are staring at me so I’ll probably eat those later on for dessert ;).

I’m off to do the following *grunt*:

  • organize stuff for my trip
  • homework (accounting and business)
  • gym with my friend and sister
  • pick up Emergen-C at the store
  • blog stuff

Enjoy your afternoon + evening!

One Comment to “Orange-ya Berry Happy Smoothie + Operation Fruits & Veggies”

  1. I survive on Emergen-C throughout the year. I love that stuff! Those bars look delish. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

