Archive for March 2nd, 2011

March 2, 2011

Take Me To The Tropics Smoothie

f

Oh yeah, baby! I went there.

But before I talk about lounging on my couch and wishing I were in Fiji, I want to do a little recap of what I thought about taking pictures of everything I ate and blogging about it for a week.

I know I was supposed to write this last night but between studying and gettin’ my sweat on at the gym, I got a little pre-occupied. Better late than never no!?

So, I would definitely say my eating habits did improve. When you take a picture of everything you eat and blog it, you are much more conscious of what you put in your mouth. You don’t want people to actually think you’re normal and pig out sometimes ;). I did enjoy taking a picture of everything I ate and blogging it but it got annoying after awhile. I loved playing with different photography shots and what not but after awhile I wanted to do something new on the blog. And I’m sure y’all got tired of seeing pumpkin pie oats. Hehe. :lol:

I thought twice about what I put in my mouth because 1) I knew I’d have to document it and be held accountable for it but also 2) I didn’t feel like taking a “pretty” picture and blogging it. 9 times out of 10 I wanted to slap my food on a plate and call it dinner. But, I knew I had to take a picture of it so I had to make it look somewhat appetizing ;).

I think instead of blogging everything I eat, I’ll blog “selectively”. Meals here and there to show you what I’m noshin’ on but I wont blog snacks upon snacks. Interesting, yummy meals that I eat will show up from here and there but I want to keep ya on your toes and be excited about what I’ll be posting next. I don’t want you to know what to expect. I like to be a ninja and keep things spicy and secretive. Mwhahaha. I mean, really, how much pumpkin pie oatmeal, Chobani yogurt, and chocolate can one person read about? I like to mix it up and have things fun and fresh and when blogging starts to becoming “routine” I don’t enjoy it. I like to be spontaneous and blog whatever I feel like for the day. What I’m trying to say is I don’t like any “outlines” of how my blogging should be. Random = good.

Speaking of spontaneous, it’s been such nice weather lately! It’s 60* here today and it has me wishing I was on a tropical island… ahhhhhh. While I don’t have nearly enough money and time to hop on a plane and relax by a pool in Fiji with someone feeding me grapes, I do have this smoothie. It will instantly transport you to the tropics. Guaranteed.

Take Me To The Tropics Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup frozen pineapple chunks
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 cup ice

Place all ingredients in a blender and whirl away! Once smooth, serve in a pretty glass, bring up a picture of the beach on your computer, lounge back on your couch, and pretend you’re in Fiji.

a

Yesterday, my grandma mailed us a huge box of oranges since she lives in Florida. These are by far THE juiciest oranges I have ever seen in my life. If you can get your hands on fresh Florida oranges, do it. I know it’s not that easy but it’s so worth it. I got a 1/2 cup juice from one orange but if your orange is a little harder you may need to use 2. She also sent us some grapefruits so stay tuned for recipes with those ;).

Even dew started to drip off the glass. So refreshing after a long day or on a hot Summer beach trip.

c

Happy happy joy joy, happy happy joy joy.

i

I consumed this is in .2371742 seconds. Approximately.

g

Such vibrant colors and full of nutritious fruits and vitamins.

Now go make yourself this smoothie, pull up a picture of the beach on your computer, lounge back on your chair, and relax.

You deserve it.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers