Single Serving Double Chocolate Chip Cupcake with Choco’cado Frosting

More times than none I find myself craving a cupcake or a brownie but there’s very few recipes out there for just a single serving. I also don’t feel like making a bunch of cupcakes and then having them stare at me, and usually I don’t even have all the ingredients to make a whole batch of cupcakes or brownies anyway. So I set out to the kitchen and was determined to make a single serving cupcake. But not just any cupcake.

I’m sure you all know by now how much I love chocolate and how much I love animals. I thought to myself, “self, why not make a vegan double chocolate chip cupcake with chocolate avocado frosting?” …and that’s how the single serving cupcake was born.

You can thank my sweet tooth for this one.

Single Serving Double Chocolate Chip Cupcake with Choco’cado Frosting

This cupcake tastes crazy indulgent but it’s actually relatively healthy. You can double the recipe to serve you and your friend, or lover, a delicious vegan cupcake. However, what makes this cupcake spectacular is the avocado frosting that is so much more waist slimming than a big glob o’ cream cheese. Melted dark chocolate chips throughout this cupcake make your taste buds jump for joy. You’d never guess it would be vegan. (note: this cupcake should be eaten immediately 1) because it’s delicious but 2) because the avocado will spoil if left at room temperature.)

Cupcake:

  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour (mine had a mixture of whole wheat and malted barley)
  • 1/2 tbsp dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 tbsp raw sugar
  • 1 tbsp agave
  • 1 + 1/2 tbsp almond milk (any milk would work)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 + 1/4 tbsp cocoa powder

Frosting:

  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1/2 tsp almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp agave
  • 1 + 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 heaping tbsp powdered sugar

 

  1. Preheat oven to 350*. For the cupcake, whisk together the almond milk, agave, and vanilla extract. Then add in the flour, baking powder, raw sugar, dark chocolate chips, and cocoa powder. Place in a nonstick cupcake pan and bake for 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the cupcake.
  2. Meanwhile, make the frosting by processing the avocado, almond milk, vanilla extract, agave, cocoa powder, and powdered sugar in a food processor until very fine and silky. You don’t want any avocado lumps in the frosting. Place the frosting in a ziplock bag and place in the fridge for 5 minutes.
  3. Once the cupcake is done baking and has been cooling for 5 minutes on a cooling rack, pipe on the frosting by cutting a tiny slit in the end of the ziplock bag. 
  4. Garnish with shredded coconut, cocoa powder, or shaved dark chocolate and serve!

Gather up your ingredients to make your delicious, moist, chocolate-y cupcake.

After whisking together all the ingredients, place cupcake into a cupcake pan.

The lone cupcake aww! It wants friends! Too bad, I ain’t makin’ 11 more friends for ya cupcake so you’re gonna have to be a loner on this one. :mrgreen:

While the cupcake is baking, prepare your frosting.

I made the mistake of not putting the ingredients in a food processor. Don’t make the same mistake!! I am ordering you to put this is in a food processor rather than mashing it rigorously with a fork. You want smooth, silky frosting not frosting with avocado bits in it.

After taking the cupcake out of the oven and letting it cool, pipe on the frosting! This is the fun part. You can also pipe the frosting directly into your mouth. It’s really your choice.

Last week while I was testing this recipe out I omitted the frosting and it tasted delicious without it. However, the frosting takes this cupcake to a whole other level.

BAM.

Is this reality? Pinch me!

P.S. – check out those bow tying skills. I’m sure a 1st grader would’ve done a better job than me. ;)

So. freakin’. cute. Almost too cute to eat.

Hence, almost.

I sprinkled mine with a little shredded coconut. Ohhhhhhhhhhh yea baaaaby!

See how you can see tiny bits of avocado? That’s why you don’t mash it with a fork! Process, process, process.

It was still amazing regardless but it’s definitely more satisfying to bite into a silky frosting. Do as I say, not as I do. ;)

Believe it or not, these are actually very easy to make and take about 20 minutes start to finish (5 minutes prep). Of course, it looks difficult because of all the frilly stuff I did to the cupcake but you can get messy with it. Slab on the frosting and eat it like a wild animal. I won’t tell anyone.

You have to make yourself one of these.

That’s an order.

12 Responses to “Single Serving Double Chocolate Chip Cupcake with Choco’cado Frosting”

  1. Omg this looks amazing!! And I love how pretty you made it look!! Totally making one of these on those nights I need my chocolate fix!

  2. Droooool!!! So gonna give this a go when i’m stuck for a dessert idea (tonight, maybe?!) ;-)
    By the way, I’m Flo – loving your blog!!!

  3. Single serving cupcake? Sounds like the best idea ever. Look tasty and pretty :-)

  4. haha! it looks hilarious all alone in the pan!

  5. Love this! First thing that stood out to me on OSG’s link love.

    I’m a bit of a chocolate nut…:)

  6. This is so fabulous! Definitely a keeper in my book..maybe even topped with hazelnuts!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

