Archive for February 14th, 2011

February 14, 2011

Almond Butter Cinnabun French Toast

I went to sleep the other night well aware that there was NO oats in the house (besides instant oats but they’re yucky). It was late and I was tired and I definitely did not feel like going to the grocery store. So, instead, I face planted on my bed and slept. Forever. And it felt good.

Upon waking up, a few choice words were said because I had no oats!!!! I also think you should all know that I went through two 2-3 lb bags of oats in a matter of 4 months. Normal, no? Delicious, yes! (that reminds me of the fiber one commercial where the guy says, “Cardboard? No. Delicious? Yes!” :D)

This is what my pantry/fridge looked like:

(source)

A desert.

Back to my oatmeal dilemma… I began to hyperventilate (kidding, but I was getting close). I didn’t know what to make. I was wracking my mind for ingredients, “Do we have spinach? No. Do we have oats? No. Are you sure? Yes! Maybe cereal? You know that doesn’t fill you up!” Luckily… I did have some Ezekiel bread hiding in the freezer. So what’s a girl to do? Make almond butter cinnabun french toast, duh!

Almond Butter Cinnabun French Toast

(Adapted from Tina)

Simplicity at its best. A comforting, nutritious french toast breakfast is less than ten minutes away! (Serves 1)

  • 2 slices Ezekiel sprouted bread (or any bread, I love the nutritious punch this bread has to offer!)
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tbsp organic skim milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla extract

 

  1. Heat up a non stick skillet over medium heat. Separate the egg white from the yolk and place the egg white in a bowl (discard the yolk). Mix in the milk, cinnamon, and vanilla extract.
  2. Meanwhile, spread one slice of the bread with almond butter and brown sugar and then place the other slice on top.
  3. Dip the bread into the cinnabun mixture (egg whites, cinnamon, milk, and vanilla extract) until all the bread is covered in cinnamon-y goodness.
  4. Place onto the skillet for 3-4 minutes or until the bread turns a crispy golden color. Then flip the french toast and cook until golden. Be careful when you flip it so the sandwich doesn’t fall apart!
  5. Drizzle with maple syrup and serve!

 

This breakfast was totally unplanned and spontaneous. I guess that’s the perfect combination for a delicious breakfast ;). Sometimes when I have no idea what to cook or bake I just wing it and the recipe ends up being mahhhh-velous dahhling.

After your done mixin’, spread the almond butter and sprinkle the brown sugar on the bread.

Then dip the bread into the cinnabun mixture and try not to drool everywhere.

Place into pan…

…and cook until crispy brown.

Finally, drizzle with pure maple syrup and enjoy the cinnamon almond-y goodness!

Next time I think I’m gong to try to make a cream cheese stuffing…ohhh yeaaaa!

I have to give myself (and Tina) props though for whipping up this french toast instead of just pouring myself a nutrient-void bowl of cereal that would keep me full for oh, about 5 minutes.

Coming up I have a fun post on what I bought at the grocery store yesterday after realizing I had no oats, our pantry was void of food except for tomato paste, and the only produce in the fridge was an onion. And I ain’t eatin’ no raw onions as snacks!

Julie

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers