Archive for July 16th, 2012

July 16, 2012

eat a ball of cookie dough!

Today I have for you a delicious little snack! It’s great for some pre-workout energy, when you feel an afternoon slump, or for when your sweet tooth is nagging at you at night (I know this feeling all too well).

p3

It’s not some recipe you’ve never seen or heard about before, but it’s nice to introduce to those of you who have no idea how to make “guilt free” cookie dough. Obviously, this does not taste OMG EXACTLY LIKE TOLLHOUSE COOKIE DOUGH (!!!!!) but it tastes good for what it is.

p2

What it is: a ball of energy that will lift you up and push you through that workout or those few more hours at work (or to shut your sweet tooth up for five seconds).

What’s in it: healthy fats from almond butter, soul-soothing chocolate chips, energy & muscle sustaining protein powder, and warming cinnamon.

What’s not in it: butter, flour, lots of sugar.

So as you can see, there’s some major differences here from the regular cookie dough but hey, if you have a craving and want something that will keep you on track then this is it! However, it’s not to say that the occasional spoonful[s] of raw cookie dough are not a good thing, because believe me, they are a goooooooooood thing.

And you get a big ‘ol thang-a-dough.

p4

(In the background is our garden-in-a-pots. Heh, it works! Except the stupid squirrels or birds or something eat all our tomatoes so we only have about 3 growing now and they’re pale green, which means we’ll finally be eating them in December. We’re also growing cucumbers and peppers and herbs. And if anyone wants a kilo of basil, hit me up.)

p5

Chocolate makes me so happy, ugh. There’s days where I don’t think I can handle another second and I’m about to go run off a cliff but then I take a look at the pantry, rip open that chocolate bar (or in my case, I love handfuls of chocolate chips Winking smile), and eat it until I am centered again.

Yes, chocolate makes me centered.

Eating chocolate = my form of yoga.

p1

CDB Snack (aka, cookie dough ball snack). Serves 1.

Low sugar, grain free, added protein, healthy fats.

  • 1 tablespoon almond butter (you want it slightly drippy so it mixes well)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla protein powder
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon or so of almond milk to help mix it all together (if needed)
  • pinch of cinnamon and a drop of vanilla extract
  • a few liquid stevia drops (if you prefer, optional)

Directions: Mix all ingredients except the chocolate chips in a bowl. Then, add in the chocolate chips. Form in a ball and eat!

Other: You can also freeze this for a frosty cool cookie dough ball OR you can blend it in a smoothie/top oatmeal/greek yogurt with it. Get creative!

PS – I filmed a workout video. Omg, do I really sound like that!?!?! I hope to edit it and get it up by this week!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers