progress pics.

Wow I feel like I haven’t blogged in a decade. Surprised smile

I’ve been busy with school and work and to be honest, blogging is the last thing on my mind. But when I get the time, I enjoy to blog – it’s one of my favorite hobbies!

I’ve also been spending a lot of time in the gym… as of now, I go 5 days a week for roughly an hour and half or so at a time.

My weekly split looks like this:

  • Monday: arms & abs – 20 mins HIIT
  • Tuesday: legs
  • Wednesday: chest – moderate cardio 20-20 mins
  • Thursday: shoulders – 20 min HIIT
  • Friday: back 20 min moderate cardio or HIIT depending on mood
  • Sat: off
  • Sun: off

I’m not doing Jamie’s LiveFit trainer anymore, but it has given me A LOT of guidance in the gym and I’ve lost all fear of working out in the ‘guy area’. I’m so much more confident and I love having a game plan when going into the gym. I still incorporate some of the exercises I did on LiveFit but I also add in my own little ‘touches’. I really am loving my workout plan right now.

Some days I’ll go hard on cardio, some days not, but I do like to get in at least 2 days of HIIT cardio a week. Other than that, cardio has been to the way side for months. I truly think over doing it in the cardio area will hinder your results of getting hard earned muscle. Cardio helps to shed away the fat, but it also burns away muscle (especially if doing cardio for long lengths of time) so it’s important to keep a balance. Everyone is different, but I’ve noticed 20 min of cardio and an hour or so of weight training works for me!

I thought I’d show you some pics of my progress, too. I’ve been lifting since November now (heavy and regularly) and I’ve seen some great results in a short-ish period of time.

Shoulders:

IMAG1359

I love to work my shoulders. I am a feeeeeein. Winking smile

Back:

IMAG1465

Lower back:

IMAG1541-1

Workin it on the stairmill:

IMAG1528

I’ve been able to see these results mostly through clean eating an heavy lifting.

IMAG1536-1

Salad with chickpeas and sauteed veggies in garlic + oil/butter sauce.

I also have had 1-2 of these the past few days because my sister bought them and I wanted to try them.

IMAG1544

They are SO delicious… tastes like a better version of chocolate milk and it leaves me extremely full. However, I won’t be consuming these anymore because of the fake sugars… and the ingredients list isn’t all that wonderful. They’re great for every once and a while though or if you’re on the run.

I’m currently looking for a pre-mixed protein shake that has a more natural ingredients list so if you know of any, let me know!

BUT, I am never one to deprive myself, so YES, I’ve been indulging…

IMAG1476-1

I love pizza. My only wish is that this pizza had a big scoop of full fat ricotta cheese on top. I die.

IMAG1480

Cotton candy ice cream with rainbow sprinkles = happiness in a cup.

I love ice cream. It is the gift from the God’s (along with pizza and chocoate).

What have y’all been up to?

I’ll keep you updated on my progress throughout the next few months and it’ll be fun to compare pics of myself and see how and if I’m improving. I’ll also be back with more blog posts so it doesn’t seem like I feel off the face of the Earth.

Gotta get back to work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

