gluten free & vegan 62 calorie pumpkin, cranberry and hemp seed mini muffins.

I had my FIRST pumpkin pie overnight oats of the season this morning.

I just couldn’t wait one more day to justify my craving. Who cares if it’s still August…

IMG_3046

In this disgusting looking (but deeeee-licioush) mess was: 1/4 cup oats, 2 tbsp-ish chia seeds, 1/4 cup pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, almond milk and topped with pecans + 2 tsp maple szzzzyrup.

IMG_3047

I reaaaaaaaaaaaally have a soft spot for pumpkin oats. I will eat them all.day.long.

IMG_3031

Ever since realizing I may have a gluten sensitivity, I have been nearly dying inside thinking of all the things I can’t have.

PASTA.

CUPCAKES.

PRETZELS.

PIZZA.

CRUNCHY ITALIAN BREAD.

And all the things I now need to do.

CHECK ALL LABELS.

BUY EXPENSIVE GLUTEN INGREDIENTS.

FIND A DELICIOUS GF CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE. (ps – Udi’s makes a BANGIN gluten free cookie mmm mMmmMM)

Of course all these things have their gluten free alternative, but it never seems to be as good as the real thing.

IMG_3032

IMG_3033

Until I stopped focusing on what I couldn’t have and what I could have is when I stopped whining like a sissy and man’d up. I set out to buy some ‘staple’ GF grains and flours. I was mostly worried about how I would make my beloved vegan desserts like muffins, cakes and cookies. Since GF baking can be a pain in the wazoo, I was defeated for a long time until yesterday when I decided to turn on my oven.

IMG_3035

IMG_3034

IMG_3036

IMG_3038

The best way to learn to do something is get hands on and just DO IT. So I did it. I thought about the recipe for a few days and knew it would need moisture and ‘lift’. I pretty much just winged it with this recipe and thank God it turned out (because that’d be a lot of money to be flushed down the drain because of my baking experiments).

IMG_3041 

It tastes like a pumpkin spice latte in muffin form packed with good-for-you hemp and chia seeds, and pepitas and cranberries. Thankfully, now I feel so much more confident in the kitchen. I have a lot to learn though, especially for someone who intends to create gluten free and VEGAN desserts, but I am not afraid. Yet. Ok I am.

These are so delicious and warming and a perfect way to bring in Fall. They’re easy to make and would be amazing warmed up and slathered with almond butter or enjoyed with a warm cup of coffee or tea. Cold mornings aren’t so far away anymore and to me, nothing is more comforting than a muffin.

And a healthy muffin.

Check out these stats (per 1 mini muffin – about 1 tbsp of dough):

nut

Ohhhhh yesssssss.

Only 62 calories and PACKED with vitamins + minerals. Look at all that manganese, iron and zinc! Plus, they only have ~4 grams of sugar (I calculated this recipe with sweetened dried cranberries because the website didn’t have unsweetened dried cranberries as an option. So, if you use unsweetened dried cranberries, your sugar will be a bit les). I made these mini muffins because then you can have more.

IMG_3044

Who doesn’t want to eat 3 muffins?

Or just one mini muffin for a nice little sweet treat at the end of a meal that will leave you guilt free!

I made 23 all together and used 1 tbsp of ‘dough’ per muffin. If you want to make these regular sized, I’d use about 2 tbsp or so of the mixture (you may need to increase the baking time though maybe 16-17 mins?) which will make them still under 200 calories – only about 120 calories! They taste so decadent but are the perfect breakfast muffin, pre or post-workout snack and are great for after dinner or for parties. And your guests will never guess they are gluten free!

GF & vegan 62 calorie pumpkin, cranberry and hemp seed mini muffins

Makes 23 mini muffins

  • 1 cup oat flour (process gluten free rolled oats in a food processor)
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 4 tbsp almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla)
  • 2 tbsp hemp seeds
  • 2 tbsp pepita seeds
  • 1 chia egg (1 tbsp chia seeds + 3 tbsp warm water)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

 

  1. Preheat oven to 350*. Mix together your chia egg and set aside. Combine the dry ingredients (flours, spices [cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg], baking powder and baking soda, pepita seeds, hemp seeds, and dried cranberries. Whisk until combined.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine the wet ingredients (pumpkin puree, pure maple syrup, almond milk, chia egg and vanilla extract). Again, whisk until all combined.
  3. Combine wet + dry ingredients and mix together until just combined. Don’t over mix it!
  4. Take your mini muffin pan and spray it with a little non-stick spray. Add in 1 tbsp of dough per muffin. Bake in the oven for 13 minutes. Take out and allow to cool for a few minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool for about 5 minutes.
4 Responses to “gluten free & vegan 62 calorie pumpkin, cranberry and hemp seed mini muffins.”

  1. Those muffins look delicious!! I love pumpkin as well, and now I want to run to the store and buy some pumpkin ASAP:) Congrats for creating a gluten-free recipe that turned out great the first time you made it:) Though I have created my own vegan recipes, I haven’t yet had the courage to try creating a vegan dessert, muffin, bread, etc…Baking is usually more precise, and I wouldn’t want to waste ingredients…But now you have inspired me to try!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

