Archive for August 25th, 2011

August 25, 2011

i wish i were lying…

So apparently, there’s this huge thing called a hurricane and it’s towering towards the east coast. They call it hurricane Irene …and she’s SELFISH (she’s egotistical and wants all the attention she can get)!

Because of her, my half marathon on Sunday is now cancelled.

I got the e-mail this afternoon, and while I’m very upset that all my hard weeks training and other such things will not be able to be shown this weekend, I am thankful that I will be in the safety of my house and not running on the streets.

Near an ocean.

During a hurricane.

So I guess that was a good call on their part, because I do not plan on floating away in an ocean somewhere because of poor planning.

I believe that this is all part of ‘my plan’ that He has for me and for a certain reason, this race has been cancelled. I’m a very spiritual and optimistic person. I also began to look for races already (if I wait too long, I’ll probably never register for a new one)!

Initially I thought of running a race on September 11th for all those who died in the tragedy that day, but I couldn’t find anything so I found one that runs along the Hudson River and by The Statue of Liberty so it looks like that’s the new half marathon! It’s on September 25th, a day after my birthday, which is a bummer because I wanted to be able to say I ran a half marathon before my 20th birthday, but at least now I can say I did it as my birthday present to myself; to show myself what I’m made of and how strong and totally awesome I am. No better birthday present, if I do say so myself.

I don’t know where my training will go from here. I want to ease out of hard running because I don’t think my body can handle it too well. My joints are aching and I don’t want to risk injury or anything like that. I don’t have any training plan to follow (you know, except for the one I’m currently on) and I don’t think I’m going to start up a new one just for a month so I plan on running maybe 3 times per week. One run will be easy, one will be speedwork, and I’ll continue to have long runs on Saturday. I plan on running 7-9 miles on Saturday and the weekend before the race, I’ll run another 11 miler. It’s kind of monotonous and annoying, but I don’t intend on giving up on my training, and myself, just because my race got cancelled. I am DETERMINED to run a half marathon ASAP. Nothin’ is going to stop me!

This is just one of the many bumps in the road of life, and you know what, I kind of like the bumps. They make life interesting, not so rigid and normal. It’s nice to have things shaken up once and a while. (Although, I now know not to register for a half marathon in the summer – it’s hot [during training and race wise], it can rain which will lead to a huge hurricane.) Also, the half marathon I was in that got cancelled is offering to roll-over the $ spent on registration for a free-entry next year, so there is always next year!

With all bad news comes good things and one thing that was so, so good today was my breakfast.

IMG_3010

UHM, HELLO FAVORITE NUT BUTTER IN THE WHOLE WORLD!

IMG_3011

If you have never tried this nut butter, you are FOR REAL missing out on life. REALLY. I am not kidding when I say that.

It is incredibly delicious and I am obsessed with it. I ate this jar in just a few weeks and I can’t wait until I finish up the one I’m eating now.

OATS IN A JAR, MEET MA BELLLAAAY.

I stuffed it with GF oats, chia seeds, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and blueberries & strawberries with a little drizzle of pure maple syrup and boundless chunks of almond butter. yum.

And in case you were wondering, there were lots of almond butter left in the jar. Juuuuust how I like ‘et!

IMG_3012

I’m off to look up some more half marathons before making my final decision on which one to register me and my mom for. It’s a total bummer, but like I said, I do believe that everything happens for a reason. So cliche, but I truly do believe that.

Hopefully I can find a good movie on and eat some popcorn or chocolate …who am I kidding, duh I’ll be eating chocolate.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers