Archive for August 20th, 2011

August 20, 2011

‘Till I Collapse

I deem Eminem’s song ‘Till I Collapse THE BEST running song in the entire world. I think I put it on repeat about 20 times during today’s 11 miler.

Yup, I ran 11 miles. No big deal.

!!!!!

I woke up at 6am so I could get out there early and beat the heat (and be done so I had the rest of my day free). I had some buckwheat porridge with some blueberries, almond butter and pure maple syrup but my appetite was off so I only ate about 3/4 and off I went!

2011-08-20_07_24_36

I almost didn’t run outside because it was foggy and looked like it was going to rain but I’m glad I stuck it out and didn’t go on the treadmill. It was cold but PERFECT running weather. I warmed up in about 5 seconds lol. I planned out a route the night before but ended up just running up and down our very long street 5 and 1/2 times (for a total of 11 miles… running on each side of the road is 1 mile so up and down = 2).

I’m glad I stuck close to home because I was worried with the fog a driver wouldn’t be able to see me. Also, for water breaks if I needed any (which I didn’t end up needing, I had my Camelbak which lasted me the whole way).

It was an overall GREAT run. My legs at the end started to cramp up and get very sore but I stopped often to stretch and walk. I walked a bunch of times and I credit that to me being able to finish. Actually, when I stopped to walk, I ended up running a faster pace. Until the end when it was more walking than running because my legs were SHOT. There’s always one thing I tell myself when running though, it’s that I won’t quit and give up. I WILL finish the mileage I have to run. And I always do. What also saved my sanity is that every mile I stopped to walk .10 miles. DEFINITELY helped me out big time!!! I kept saying, “you only need to run one more mile and then you can take a quick break.”

I took a few watermelon Gu chomps at mile 5 and drank all my water.

2011-08-20_09_24_44

I’m glad I woke up early, too! It feels so awesome to have it done and out of the way.

Came home and guzzled lots of WATER (I was craving it) and THIS:

2011-08-20_09_30_19

Holy amazeballs this chocolate ZICO coconut water is GOOD. I am stocking UP on this stuff!!! It tastes EXACTLY like chocolate milk, no lie. I’m not a fan of straight up coconut water so this chocolate kind is a great way to hydrate. (hehe go figure it’s chocolate…)

2011-08-20_09_34_41

Blended up 1/2 of it in a smoothie and drank the other half straight.

2011-08-20_09_35_55

  • 1 cup chocolate coconut water
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 1 scoop sunwarrior protein powder
  • ice

I made this as soon as I walked in the door and it made my muscles feel so much better.

Afterwards, I showered and we went to the beauty store to get some beautaaaay products.

Came home and nearly ate my arm off!!! I was starving… I burned over 1,000 calories. Had to refuel the beast!

2011-08-20_12_06_04

Crappy picture because I was too hungry to care. ;)

  • 1/2 block tempeh
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/3 cup millet
  • 1/2 head of broccoli
  • garlic hummus dollop
  • lots of balsamic vinegar
  • garlic
  • olive oil

Gobbled up in 10 seconds.

Dessert was an apple + stevia + cinnamon. My new fav after lunch dessert.

2011-08-20_12_24_09

Forgot to take a pic until about halfway through… I was just too hungry!

Then I played ‘spa day’ by myself and did my hair, nails and makeup!

2011-08-20_12_35_14

I love Moroccan oil and I just picked up this sea spray for beachy hair – I used both and <3 them.

Straightened my hair..

2011-08-20_12_41_05

Love the colors in my hair: blondes, reds, browns..

2011-08-20_12_38_26

Au naturaaaal baaaby.

2011-08-20_12_45_43

I got this from Saphora and lurve it. It’s a bunch of browns which I love playing with. I usually stick to the lights but today I did a smoky eye effect with this pallet.

2011-08-20_12_45_34

And I’m becoming BFF’s with this guy:

2011-08-20_12_52_52

My foam roller.

Now I’m laying in bed because my legs are so tired!!!

Computer is dying… gotta sign off. Enjoy your day!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers