Archive for July 24th, 2011

July 24, 2011

Blueberries For All – 2 Breakfast Recipes!

Happy Sunday!

If you haven’t eaten breakfast yet, I have two recipes for you that I am in LOVE with.

IMG_2260

What I love about living in Jersey is the Jersey Fresh local blueberries and tomatoes. The tomatoes, especially, are out. of. this. world.

Vegan Blueberry Spelt Pancakes

These are healthy pancakes and are packed with nutrients. No guilt here! The best part? They are single serving! (Serves 1)

  • 1/2 cup spelt flour (or whole wheat, all purpose, etc)
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • tiny pinch of salt
  • toppings: banana slices, pure maple syrup, Earth Balance butter, extra cinnamon

Directions: Heat up a skillet over medium heat with a little non stick spray. Combine your dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt) and then mix in your wet (almond milk and vanilla extract). Once combined, gently fold in the blueberries. Make sure you don’t crush the blueberries because you want them to be whole. Cook the pancakes until you see bubbles form on top, flip, and cook for another 2-3 minutes. I made about 6-7 mini pancakes, but you can make them big or small depending on what you like. I like small because it makes it like I get more. Serve!

[Fat free if you omit the Earth Balance butter on top. Also, refined sugar free… only natural sugars here from the blueberries and banana if you omit the maple syrup!]

IMG_2261

These were soooooooo good… totally hit the spot!

And look at that stack of pancakes! You get to eat all of those!

IMG_2262

Duh, I added some butter on top. I used about a teaspoon of Earth Balance. To make it look pretty, I used a mini melon baller! But I was racing against time because it was slipping off my pancakes!

IMG_2264

It ended up falling off lol.

IMG_2265

Fluffy and the sweet/tart taste of the blueberries burst when you cut the pancakes. I loooove ‘melted’ blueberries.

IMG_2266

IMG_2272

Sprinkle with cinnamon to top it off!

IMG_2274

Super healthy and perfect for when you have those pancake cravings.

But, if you’re not in the mood for pancakes, you have to try out this oatmeal. It’s my favorite and I’ve eaten it for breakfast every day this week… or until I ran out of blueberries. I plowed through 2 pints in about a week and a half. :mrgreen:

IMG_2276

I love bursting the blueberries in the pot while cooking and making the oats all purple and swirled with blueberry flavor throughout.

Blueberry Banana Oats

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 a banana (you can use a whole banana if you’d like, sometimes I do if I’m extra hungry)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • toppings: maple cinnamon almond butter, drizzle of pure maple syrup

Directions: Combine water, almond milk, banana and oats in a pot over medium-high heat. Stir until it comes to a slow boil, then reduce to medium heat and continue to stir (about 4-5 mins). Add in the chia seeds, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and blueberries. Keep stirring for another 2 minutes (if you like your oats less thick, remove from heat after stirring in the cinnamon, chia seeds, vanilla, and blueberries. I like my oats thick so I stir for another 2 minutes). Remove from the pot and top with toppings!

IMG_2278

I am in luuuurve with these oats. So good and comforting but packed with antioxidants and fiber!

They’re especially amazing if you top them with a dollop of maple cinnamon almond butter. It melts all down in the oats and gets absolutely delicious. I definitely recommend the almond butter topping!

IMG_2279

This is my favorite bowl of hot oats to date.

IMG_2277

These are the perfect breakfasts for a lazy morning but also whip up quickly if you are short on time!

I’m off to go make lunch for the next 2 days since I’m going down the shore with my two girlfriends. I’ll be blogging from my phone so forgive me for the wonky posts! I also need to unpack from my last trip to the beach and re-pack… my bag always stays on my bedroom floor filled with dirty clothes ahaha.

OH, and big news: I’M GOING TO WHOLE FOODS TODAY!!!!!!!

Have a good one. :) …I know I will. I am going to drop some serious Benjamin’s at WF’s.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers