Archive for July 6th, 2011

July 6, 2011

Blender Breakfasts

HI! *waves*

Hope you’re all having a great week thus far.

Today seems to be shaping up to be a good day. I’m going to the beach with my two girlfriends in a little bit and then after I’m either going to spin class or getting pizza. LOL. Two polar opposites but we’ll see what I decide on doing. My dad found a new pizza place he wants to try out so I might either go try it out with them or hit up spin class with my friend (that I’m going to the beach with) since she asked me. I have a soft spot in my heart for pizza so if my dad suggests we go there for dinner I’m all in…<3 pizza and cheese (especially ricotta cheese).

My breakfasts lately have all been courtesy of the blender. I haven’t been too in the mood for oats lately (I’m in shock, too!), mostly because they just seem so heavy and I just want a light breakfast that leaves me feeling super refreshed and light! Yesterday was a chai latte and this morning was a strawberry banana smoothie.

I love having fruit smoothies right in the AM. Since I’ve been eating a lot of salads lately, especially huge salad monsters for lunch, I omit spinach in my smoothies. I get about 5-6 cups of spinach in my salad so let’s not over do it with the greenery. ;)

IMG_2140

I woke up at 7am and whipped this up around 730. It’s now 830am as I write this and I’m still drinking it! I am such a slow smoothie drinker… haha. I guess that’s why I like smoothies better, they last longer! I woof down my oats like nobody’s biznazzzz.

IMG_2144

For the liquid energy:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup organic frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 a frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • shake of cinnamon
  • tiny amount of vanilla extract

Yesterday I ended up sucking it up and doing 40 min of yoga. It actually felt…wonderful. So relaxed and calm… it was just what I needed despite what my mind was thinking.

I took my mat outside for extra serenity. That’s my little trick for at-home yoga – take your workout outside!

2011-07-05_09_42_57

I did my Body by Bethenny DVD. Love her workout, it’s perfect for me (or anyone) who doesn’t want anything crazy but wants a good strength workout with a calm and relax feel and awesome stretches.

Yoga buddy:

2011-07-05_09_43_03

(durrrr)

I need to do more yoga! I didn’t realize how stiff I was. I used to be very flexy and bendy when doing yoga a lot so it looks like I really should be doing it more. I am all tight this morning though! What gives?

Post yoga I went to work and than ate lunch (how exciting).

2011-07-05_11_51_25

Spinach, mixed greens, 1/2 a cucumber, 1/2 a organic red pepper, crumbled of Mary’s Crackers, sunflower seeds, avocado, honey mustard dressing.

Love this salad. NoMM NOMmm nOOm.

Later on I had to go to a job and re-date the signs (since we’re working there longer) so no one parks on the street.

2011-07-05_13_24_15

Wore my Vibram’s. 

UH… that knife looking thing in my shadow is actually a marker! No fear, friends.

There’s this hippy house by where they are working at the other day I spotted this:

2011-07-05_13_31_22

Cool huh?

It’s a sign that says ‘Hope’ with a bunch of little notes hanging from lines and sharpie markers. You can write whatever you Hope for on the little white pieces of paper.

So inspiring…this made me smile. I didn’t get a chance to write anything but if I could I would hope that people could learn to love each other more. There’s not enough love in the world, regardless of what it may seem like.

What would you hope for?

I want to go back another day and get some good pictures of this little sign/stand. They were actually in the living room (probably wondering what I was doing standing outside of their front lawn trying to sneaking-ly get a picture of this sign) and I didn’t want to seem like a creeper so I just took a quick pic and then speed walked away. lol.

Sooner than later dinner time rolled around and I had the most filling, scrumptious meal.

IMG_2136

One of Angela’s homemade spelt veggie burgers, roasted potatoes, lots of ketchup, and carrots.

IMG_2138

MmMmMmMMMMMMMMMM!!!! This was amazing! I especially loved the veggie burgers… they are SO good. I went back for a second one, sans bun, and just ate it with ketchup. :) My belly was a happy camper, that’s for sure. The rest I put in the fridge (for lunches and quick dinners) and I froze 2.

After eating, I went to the mall with my two friends.

Ok, let me tell you one thing, DO NOT go clothes shopping after stuffing your face with food. BAHAH. I had a food baby!!! I was in the dressing room like, “Ouuuufffadaaa…I am stuffed. Yowwwzzaaa” and moving at turtle speed because I was just so full lol. I guess all the protein from the chickpeas.

I ended up getting 2 dresses (one was $10.50 [!!!] and it’s a cute red dress with rope straps and the other was $17.80 and is a cute, strapless floral, flowy dress… love flowy!). I also got a set of PJ’s ‘cause they were just so cute. :)

pjs

It cost $12.50 and it’s ruffled boxer shorts with strawberries + cherries on them and a shirt with a strawberry on it that says ‘I love you berry much’. I got all my good from Forever 21. Y’all need to ban me from that store, I am addicted!!! Everything is so cheap, but good quality and awesome stylish clothes. My favorite store and probably the only store I shop in, lately.

I’ve got to get ready to go to the beach now (pack up a towel, lather on sunscreen) and then I think I might eat a little snack before leaving since that smoothie wasn’t too filling (and lacked protein).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers