Archive for June 15th, 2011

June 15, 2011

Foam Love

Hey guys!!!

I am in the best mood this morning. Don’t you love when you wake up and you’re just happy?

Yesterday I did something I hadn’t done in awhile! I swam!

It was my strength + stretch day yesterday so instead of doing yoga, I stretched my body out with some swimming. I did 25 mins of breast stroke + free style.. man is swimming hard! I did about 4 constant laps and I was totally whipped out at the end of each set! I also hit up the gym later on in the day for some weights. I did biceps + back. I am trying so hard to get a little bicep bump! That’s my goal, yo.

IMG_1101

Look at what I saw growing from my zucchini when I stepped outside this morning to take that picture..

IMG_1097

Zucchini flowers!!! You know you can fry these up and eat ‘em, right? Yum.. they are so good fried. But what isn’t? Heh. :)

IMG_1095

Yesterday I made a trip to Trader Joe’s and a running store to get some thangs.

Lately, every time I go to TJ’s I haven’t been finding any really good finds. Except their spelt bread. Which is amazing, and if you have yet to try it, do it. It’s soft and has the perfect nutty taste. Definitely my new favorite bread!

Today though, I did a little more looking at found some puuurty good finds. Usually I am so shy in TJ’s.. I feel like everyone’s looking at me like, ‘why is this girl here?’ heh. ;) Especially because of the town that TJ’s is located in is kind of.. well.. stuck up.. so a scrub like me is probably like letting the zoo animals loose! I kid, I kid.

Anyways, when I arrived at checkout, I placed these items on the counter:

IMG_1042

IMG_1047

FYI – Those salt and vinegar chips are THE. BOMB. Soooo vinegar-y.. yum.

IMG_1052

IMG_1053

I’m not a huge fan of hummus but I do love spicy and smoky things so when I spotted this I knew I’d love it. Low and behold, I love it. Amaze.

I went inside to make my sammich but by the time I got outside all hell broke loose..

I spot a storm commin, Dorothy!

IMG_1034

Rainin’ cats and dawgs.

IMG_1054

Lunch izzle:

IMG_1060

Spelt bread + veggies + hummus + salt and vinegar chipz.

I also finally picked up a foam roller!

IMG_1041

And some Gu:

IMG_1039

IMG_1036

I’m saving these for my longer runs to test out what type/how many calories I need to take it.

Back to the foam roller though, I LOVE it. I have been having pain in my hamstring/IT band (I am guessing that’s what’s been hurting) and as soon as I rolled the pain went away! Soooo happy I got this.

Dinner last night was also fun! I made homemade BBQ sauce and squished it on a bun with lentils.

IMG_1062

Mmmm Mmmm Good.

Pretty much a pound of fruit for dessert.

IMG_1067

I wouldn’t be surprised if I turned into a cantaloupe and/or strawberry. They are just so good right now!

And you know what strawberries are good for?

IMG_1071

Strawberry shortcake VOO [<- click for recipe]! I have been writing about how much I love these forever. They are my absolute favorite. So incredibly refreshing and delicious now that strawberries are just perfect!

This time I added in 1.5 tbsp chia seeds to help me out during my speed work later since chia seeds absorb water which makes them ideal for hydration!

IMG_1074

Topped with pure maple syrup + shredded unsweetened coconut. You could also top with walnuts, sunflower seed butter, more cinnamon, coconut butter, the choice is up to you!

I like to keep it simple with just a little bit of unsweetened coconut and maple syrup. These are so flavorful and decadent tasting but are super healthy. Lots of health fats + omegas and antioxidants.

IMG_1083

IMG_1084

IMG_1090

I’m off to hit the treadmill for some speed work, I can hear my lungs/quads screaming at me already.

Have a happy Wednesday!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers