Tempting Tempeh Sandwich with Vegan Garlic Aioli

IMG_0695

Helllllloooo!

Sorry for the late post, I have been a busy bee. Or a lazy bee.

Probably more the lazy bee. ;)

I spent most of my morning relaxing and postponing my run, but eventually I hit the gym. I set out to do a 4 mile run, as scheduled on my training plan. I was feeling sluggish walking into the gym but left totally reenergized and awesome. Isn’t that how it always goes? Walk in feelin like crap, walk out with lots of endorphins!

I ran a slow 4 miles at speed 5.8mph (10:20 min/mile) because on my longer runs, I like to focus on being on my feet more rather than speed. It felt amazing to sweat and be done with my “long” run.. even though it’s not really that long. Just feels good to feel accomplished, ya kno? I also added in two 2 minute hills on incline 8.0 to get a little bit of an outdoors-y feel. I ran the rest on incline 1.0 (always!).

Yesterday, I went to Trader Joe’s to pick up some goodies.

IMG_0566

I have been wanting to get spelt bread for a million years, so I picked some of that up along with tempeh and organic popping corn (mah fav).

Stats for ze bread:

IMG_0568

Not too bad.

I picked this up because remember when I went to The Cinnamon Snail and ate that amazing tempeh sandwich? Well, I wanted to recreate it at home because I have literally been dreamin’ bout it!

IMG_0694

Tempting Tempeh Sandwich with Vegan Garlic Aioli

Inspired by The Cinnamon Snail

  • 2 slices spelt bread, lightly toasted
  • 1/2 block of tempeh, cut into strips
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 leaf crunchy romaine lettuce (or kale, avocado slices, spinach, etc)
  • 1 heaping tbsp Vegan Garlic Aioli (below)

Directions: Cook tempeh in a nonstick skillet with olive oil until lightly browned on both sides. Meanwhile, lightly toast your bread and spread it with the Vegan Garlic Aioli and place on the romaine lettuce. Add on your tempeh and top with other slice of bread. Serve!

So easy, peasy!

IMG_0693

Again, I tried to add an avocado to this but it was as hard as cement and was the farthest thing from ripe imaginable.

The Cinnamon Snail adds some sort of sautéed kale on their sandwich but I didn’t have any so I improvised with romaine lettuce. It added a nice crunch and kept the sandwich light. If you are looking for a more comforting sandwich, add in some sautéed kale. I would probably sauté mine with a little olive oil, red pepper flakes, and a shallot until tender but not mushy.

What makes this sandwich though, is the Vegan Garlic Aioli.

I know aioli’s typically involve an egg yolk, but I am recreating the aioli and sayin’ no to the yolk. So deal wit it. ;)

You only need 3 simple ingredients:

IMG_0571

Vegan ‘mayo’ such as Vegenaise, Dijon mustard, and garlic.

IMG_0572

I have ALWAYS hated mayo, but for some reason, I have been getting along with Vegenaise. Maybe because there’s no eggs in it? Mayo seems so.. slimy and nasty to me. Vegenaise is my friend. And possibly becoming too good of a friend if you catch my drift. ;)

IMG_0573

Love me some fats!

Repeat with me, fats are friends.

IMG_0577

Vegan Garlic Aioli

  • 1/4 cup vegan mayo (such as Vegenaise)
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely minced
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard

Directions: Combine all ingredients and let sit in the fridge for 20 minutes or overnight. Slather on sandwiches, wraps, or use as a dip!

IMG_0581

I left my aioli in the fridge overnight to let the flavors marinate but you can certainly eat it right away.

I think this would be AMAZEBALLS as a dip. I would even add in some spinach + artichokes and make it a spinach artichoke dip, in a sense. I am so badly dying to dip pretzels in it. :)

I used 2 large garlic cloves, and it was pretty garlicky but I love garlic. If you’re not too big of a fan, just use one, but heck, who doesn’t love garlic? Come on. Suck it up and add in that extra clove. Your boyfriend will thank you later. Or maybe not.

IMG_0578

I simply mixed it in a pyrex container and stuck it in the fridge with the lid on. Easy prep and no clean up!

IMG_0692

Yummy yum yums.

This sandwich has 25g+ protein!!! Holy protein. 1/2 block tempeh = 20g protein (yowza) and the 2 slices of spelt bread = 6g. Oh, and I ate the butt of the bread too while cooking so that’s another 3g (I don’t know why people hate on the butt of the bread, that’s the best part!).

I am SO full from this sandwich it’s crazy. It’s the perfect post-run meal, though!

IMG_0691

I’m so excited because we’re going to Doris and Ed’s for dinner tonight so looks like I better find an appetite pretty soon!

IMG_0559

My brother Superboy says have an awesome weekend, dudes!

2 Responses to “Tempting Tempeh Sandwich with Vegan Garlic Aioli”

  1. Actually dude, the original, traditionnal recipe IS vegan. It contains only Olive Oil and garlic, and is way more awesome than any non-vegan recipe. =)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

