Archive for June 10th, 2011

June 10, 2011

Sum, Sum, Summatime

2011-06-09_14_14_59

Can you believe it?

It was 104* at TWO O’CLOCK yesterday!

I went to the gym and sweated buckets upon buckets of sweat since the AC in the gym isn’t too powerful.

The other day I also did my first tempo run, which ended up being a 1 mile warm up, 1 mile tempo run, and 1 mile run/walk. Now, you see, my problem with this is my shins were killing me the whole time and I didn’t want to injure myself so I took it easy. I’m thinking I need new running shoes because I’ve never gotten shin pain in these sneakers before. Any good shoes out on the market? What’s your favs?

Today was a cross training day for me so I just did 35 minutes on the elliptical and called it a day.

Rewind to yesterday..

Sean got me this awesome running shirt (that I sweat my A$$ off in) + a cute and tiny little cross necklace. I have been wanting a cross necklace for some time now so I’m glad he gifted me with one. :) Gotta keep the faith!

IMG_0477

Came home from the gym and ate an apple + a salad. I was STARVING!

IMG_0485

I was going to eat that granola bar I made but I microwaved it too much and it turned into mush.

IMG_0489

IMG_0491

I had brought with me a protein smoothie for lunch but had absolutely no appetite yesterday. I drank maybe half of it.. It was too watery and not thick enough. Hate that!

IMG_0470

In it went: cherries, too much almond milk, 1/2 frozen banana, scoop of protein powder.

Fail.

IMG_0471

Dinner was more than welcome when 4:30pm rolled around.

I had taken these two recipes and made up my own take on them.

IMG_0291

My modifications:

  • I subbed baby bliss red potatoes for russet
  • I added 1 can of chickpeas that I roasted
  • Used 1 cup peas instead of asparagus
  • Roasted 2 garlic heads and smashed them into the dressing
  • Used only fresh parsley & dried oregano and dried dill for the spices (omitted lemon juice + zest because I didn’t have any)
  • Added in 1 sweet sautéed onion

Omg. Make. this. salad. now.

I basically used Angela’s dressing + roasted garlic cloves from Jessica’s recipe. Turned out amazing. I have been happily enjoying leftovers for days. :)

IMG_0297

So creamy and delicious. I will be making this again. (If you do make this, enjoy it warm, it tastes better that way!)

On a more random note, check out these hugh-jass marshmallows my mom brought home:

IMG_0481

Redonkulous.

IMG_0482

Yesterday, I also went to my sister’s boyfriend’s baseball game.

IMG_0505

Saw a cute lady bug:

IMG_0504

Pondered Ginger’s ability to sleep 22 hours in a day:

IMG_0494

IMG_0527

And watched Chippy chow down on my brother T-bone steak:

IMG_0509

D.i.s.g.u.s.t.i.n.g.

My vegetarian self was wanting to pry the bone away from him, but, dogs are carnivores and such is life.

IMG_0524

Definitely thinking, “my preeeeciiouussss” circa Lord of the Rings.

IMG_0525

So nasty!!! (sorry for the graphic pic?)

This morning I woke up early to get to the country club to take some pictures of the action.

IMG_0541

IMG_0533

IMG_0550

Sorry for the super random post! I’m off to eat the last of the potato salad I made and then probably explore the world.

Because I’m a superhero. Duh.

What are your plans for today?

Oh, and Happy Friday!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers