Say Hello To My Little Friend

Hi friends!

It’s just getting hotter and hotter here in Jersey! I want to lay out and soak up the sunshine but it’s so hot, as soon as you step outside, sweat beads start to form and roll off your skin. A sure sign Summer is here. ;)

Oh, and btw is anyone else sad that Meredith Vieira left the Today Show!?!? I loved her but I love Ann Curry too! She’s like an inspiration to me because she’s always so fun and energetic but sincere and passionate about everything she does.

Anywhooooo, the other day, the doorbell rang at 10am and this showed up:

2011-06-07_10_00_21

This was my face: >:O!!!!!!

I was hugging the box before I even opened it.

I was actually scared to open it..

What would be in this box?? I was afraid cable cords and crazy electronic lingo would get to me before I could take a picture with my new beauty.

Alas, it did not and I saw this:

2011-06-07_10_38_19

2011-06-07_10_38_30

In. love.

I love that the screen flips out so you can protect it from scratches when you’re not using it by flipping the screen in.

2011-06-07_10_38_44

2011-06-07_10_38_59

2011-06-07_10_39_16

I got lucky because a guy who works for us is heavily into cameras and he gave me a bunch of tips to start shooting.

We discussed RAW vs Jpeg. Eventually, RAW is what I want to shoot in, but for now Jpeg will do.

Fun fact: if you have 900 available images to shoot, if you’re shooting in RAW that will be cut down to like 70!!!

YIKES! Basically, RAW takes up more space in your camera than Jpeg. You also have to edit it on the computer which, for me right now, isn’t idealistic because I haven’t bought a program to edit on.

I’m going to buy lightroom eventually, just not anytime soon. However, I was told that if you know a teacher/are a college student you can get 80% off!

Other items I wish to purchase in the future:

  • lens hood (helps with glare from the sun)
  • tripod (less shaky photos)
  • camera case (protects camera, duh!)

As of right now, I’m shooting in manual. I really really love my camera so far. It’s not too difficult to figure out right away so you can get shooting, but there is lots I still need to know. It also helps if you know someone who is into cameras that you can consult if you have questions.

Pretty soon, I’m planning on looking into taking some photography classes so I’ll let you all in on how that goes!

Yesterday for dinner I was at a loss. I wanted some simple, not too heavy, but comforting.

Of course I consulted foodgawker. My handy, dandy online recipe finder for everything and anything.

I bought some zucchini the other day at the store and entered that as an ingredient I had. A bunch of recipes popped up but what stuck out to me was this one.

IMG_0435

Aren’t these pictures so much clearer than with my other camera??

Oh, and if you’re wondering, my “other camera” was my cell phone. Not too shabby pictures for a phone, eh? ;) It just goes to show that it’s not the camera, but the person behind the camera that matters. (All the pictures in this post, besides the ones above with my camera in it, are taken with my DSLR)

Back to ze food.

I made this is in 15 minutes flat and they are so delicious when dipped in the marinara sauce! I would definitely recommend dipping these in sauce for the full experience.

Vegan Zucchini Fritters

Adapted from Budget Bytes. Makes 4 fritters (serves 1 as a meal or 2 as a snack).

  • 1 cup shredded zucchini (about 1/2 a large zucchini)
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp warm water)
  • 1/4 cup spelt flour
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tbsp fresh parsley
  • 1/2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (for frying)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup marinara sauce (for dipping) + 1/4 cup uncooked quinoa (to mix in, if desired, makes it more of a meal)

Directions: Cook quinoa (if using) per package instructions and set aside. Meanwhile, shred your zucchini using a cheese grater. Make your flax egg by combining 1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp warm water. Squeeze zucchini with paper towels to get out most of the liquid. Mix zucchini with garlic, oregano, parsley, salt and pepper. Then, stir in the flax egg and spelt flour. Mix again until all combined. Heat up a nonstick pan over medium high heat with 1/2 tbsp EVOO. Form 4 fritters with your hand and place in the pan. Cook on both sides until golden brown. Remove from heat and serve with warm marinara sauce.

*You can make smaller fritters if you want.

*I added quinoa to my marinara sauce to bump up the protein + fiber of this dish, however you don’t need to add it. I just thought it was a nice addition to the fritters since by themselves, they don’t have too much staying power.

*Next time, I would probably add in one more garlic clove (I love garlic) + maybe a little Old Bay seasoning to get a little bit of a ‘crab cake’ taste to it.

IMG_0431

Like I said, you don’t need to add quinoa to your marinara sauce, but why not!?

You can also see this photo is a bit shaky- hence, the need of a tripod.. but one step at a time. ;)

IMG_0435

These were soooo good. Nice and crispy but still moist on the inside. So easy to make too. And relatively healthy because your only pan ‘frying’ them in 1/2 tbsp EVOO. We all need some fat to live!

IMG_0432

IMG_0434

After gobbling up dinner, we headed over to the neighbors house for some homemade red wine before going to the fair.

IMG_0436

Yup, that wine you’re looking at is HOMEMADE in their garage!! Talk about fresh. Dang this has got to be the best red wine. It’s fresh, not too strong but soo good.

They said they make red wine as opposed to white because they don’t need to preserve it with additives and stuff like white wine needs. All natural, baby.

After wetting my whistle, we headed on over to the fair.

The fair is like, the biggest thing that ever hit our town. We live in a really small town so whenever something comes to town, everyone flocks to it. Heh.

IMG_0442

IMG_0444

IMG_0445

IMG_0446

We tried winning those big bags of candy, but no such luck. I guess it’s better not to have a huge bag of Starbursts in the house. ;)

IMG_0447

IMG_0448

My little sister (on the left, with the blonde hair) lookin’ scared on this ride. Lol.

IMG_0454

The “uh-oh why the hell did I get on this ride” look:

IMG_0452

IMG_0457

I love the Italian food tents! They serve pizza frit which is fried dough + sauce and cheese. And, of course, my favorites which are zeppoles aka fried dough + sugar. Nom nom nom. I didn’t get any, but they are on my radar. ;)

Anything fried = da bomb.

IMG_0465

It was hot but it was nice when it finally cooled down.

I’m off to work, do a 3 mile run, then hang with friends.

I also hear Sean sent me something special in the mail for our anniversary. Time to stalk the UPS man again.. ;)

4 Comments to “Say Hello To My Little Friend”

  1. everything looks prettier through a DSLR lens :) Have you seen my girly camera case post or my DSLR tips post? Those might help you if you are feeling overwhelmed like I did a few months ago! Also, you don’t have to buy a photo program Picasa is the jammm. It’s good for editing and then the Picnik option within it is amazzzzzzing you can even whiten your teeth, add makeup and make yourself look tanner… um yes, please! you have to pay $20/yr for those fancier options and I am almost ready to make that plunge because it lets you play with it to see if you like it and it is cool!

  2. Aaahhhhh! Congrats on the new camera! So exciting! A new world will open up to you now. My fiancee is a photographer so just email me if you need any advice :-) (from him, not me – i’m hopeless!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

