Archive for May 18th, 2011

May 18, 2011

How I Got Back To Feeling Like Julie

Happy hump day!

It’s official, I’m craving cake batter green smoothies. Save me for I’m about to drink 20 of them!!! I want to so desperately eat one for breakfast, lunch, and dinner but I guess I need a little variety. ;)

Yesterday, I endured the sweatiest spin class ever! It was super super tough but that’s always my favorite kind of work out. This particular spin teacher always makes us crank up the resistance and run on hills and MAN does it really get you sweating up a storm in seconds and makes your heart rate soar through the roof. I have a secret love for hills though. ;) It feels so good when the class is over. I feel like spin is all mind games because my legs want to keep pushing but my mind makes me think I’m weaker than I actually am. Spin helps me overcome my negative thoughts and turn them into positive ones. I love the challenges spin gives me. It’s a great reminder that, if you can just push through the tough times, good times are soon to come. However, I always leave spin class wishing I would’ve given it a little more effort. Even though I bust my booty, I know I’m capable of more!

Yesterday I went to one of my favorite places in the world, Hoboken, to pick up my brother from school.

2011-05-17_12_56_53

It was a foggy/rainy day but the views still take my breath away.

I was actually pretty amused by this little squirrel who was digging up nuts on the lawn. He was so so cute and chubby I wanted to give him a big hug. :D

We went to an amazing deli called Vito’s and it has the best sandwiches. They have the most delicious, salty mutz (mutz = mozzarella cheese here in New Jersey :mrgreen:) I’ve ever had. Sometimes mozzarella cheese can taste bland but they do it just right. Since they looooad up the sandwiches with cheese, I took off most of the pieces and only left 2 little slices. Since realizing dairy can upset my stomach, I try to eat it in moderation or at a maximum only 1 dairy source per day. I really only eat cheese  and usually only when going out so it’s not too big of a deal and although eating the mozzarella cheese upset my stomach a tiny bit (bloating), it wasn’t that big of a deal. I think that’s because I only have a little bit as opposed to eating everything on my sandwich. Sometimes a little goes a long way! In case you’re wondering, I don’t eat eggs, drink  cows milk, etc. I only adore my cheeeese please. :)

Dinner was quick since I was ravenous from spin.

2011-05-17_19_56_30

[Sorry for wonky pics, it was nighttime + raining and I had to edit them a lot, booo]

In went:

  • 1 red pepper
  • 1/3 cup chickpeas
  • handful of brown rice pasta shells
  • 1/2 sweet white onion
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • oregano, red pep flakes, thyme

2011-05-17_19_56_47

Yum! This was the simple, wholesome food that I needed to refuel.

Remember when I wrote a while back how I was having a tough time with snacking late at night and wanted to stick to 3 meals + 3 snacks or so during the day? Well, it’s been a few weeks and throughout this time I figured out some tips to tame my snacking monster and reconnect with when/if I’m hungry and what I want to eat at that time.

[Remember, this is just what works for me and you should always consult your physician before committing to any health/diet regimen]

  1. Drink lots of water

You’re supposed to drink half your body weight in water in ounces everyday. While I’m not crazy about ounces and how many I have/need to drink, I do judge it by the size of the glass I’m drinking. If it’s a huge class, I’ll drink maybe 3-4 of those per day to get enough water in or if it’s a smaller glass, I’ll drink more 7-8 of them.

Water helps keep you full and curbs your hunger when you’re not truly hungry. Most of the times you seem hungry, you may just need water. Water helps make your skin look rejuvenated and can make you look younger, so drink up! I also drank a big glass of water after every meal and if I was still hungry after that, I would eat more. But 9 times out of 10 I just needed to drink water.

It also helps if you ‘flavor’ your water, and I’m not talking about those fake, artificial sweetener filled packets that can be added to water. Flavor your water naturally with lemon, lime, cucumbers, fresh dill, apples, oranges, teas, etc. I would brew up some tea in my Bodum jug and then drink that if I was getting bored from the usual glass of water.

20110509_11_16_56_thumb

  1. Eat some protein at every meal

Whenever I would eat a sufficient amount of protein (or at least one protein source) at every meal, I noticed I was full enough that I didn’t even want to snack and rarely craved sweets. I found that when I ate a meal with mostly carbs and no protein, I was reaching for lots of snacks even after eating a pretty substantial meal. However, when I added a little protein (nuts, nut butter, beans, chickpeas, lentils, quinoa, etc) I was rarely mindless snacking. It also helps to have some fats at every meal to help with satiety (avocados, nuts, etc).

Here’s some meals that I’ve been eating that are packed with protein to squash that snacking monster!

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Protein Smoothie

20110509_06_21_58_thumb

Love love love this smoothie!

Chickp’zah with Parmesan Cheeze

20110513_13_49_14_thumb

Packed with protein from the chickpeas and lots of vitamins and minerals (B12) from the Parmesan Cheeze.

Italian Rice and Bean Salad

20110427_17_10_56_thumb

The rice + cannellini beans make up a complete protein source.

Black Bean and Mushroom Burgers

20110507_14_18_06_thumb

My favorite veggie burgers! They keep me super full and I like to add two to one bun for extra protein ‘cause I’m crazy like that.

  1. Treat yourself to a treat at the end of every meal

I have a huge sweet tooth. I can’t go one meal without eating something sweet after it (okay, maybe breakfast, but that’s only because my breakfasts are usually sweet!). If you say you’re going to deprive yourself of sweets, that’s only going to make you want it more. It’s like telling a little kid they can’t see what presents are under the Christmas tree. Well, duh, of course they’re going to look!

Never deny yourself of treats. That’s the motto I live by every single day. For lunch, I would usually end my meal with fruit (watermelon, apples, strawberries, dried fruits, fruit leathers) and for dinner I would make my treat a bit more indulgent (vegan muffins, chocolate, etc). It’s important to realize that if you indulge in moderation, you can have little treats at every meal.

  1. Make breakfast after eating dinner, if possible

I know, sounds crazy but totally works. If you’re a girl like me and you love vegan overnight oats, make them after enjoying your treat after dinner. It stopped me from wanting to snack more because I realized that I had another meal waiting for me and there was no need to stuff myself silly with foods that I really didn’t need when I have another meal ahead of me.

I’ve been enjoying Pumpkin Vanilla Spice Protein VOO..

20110513_08_31_05_thumb

..and strawberry shortcake vegan overnight oats + other random oat combinations I come up with (raisins, nuts, coconut, nut butters, etc).

a20 

  1. Breathe + Get Creative

It’s hard to get sucked up into the ‘snacking cycle’ where you just want to snack and snack and snack but you just need to sit yourself down and breathe. Inhale and exhale and think about if you’re truly hungry or not or what you really want. No need to rush. Just breath. There’s always another chance to eat at the next meal.

Also, try to switch up your meals. Don’t eat the same thing everyday, you’ll get bored! I like to look up recipes in cookbooks, or on fun sites like foodgawker.com. There’s also lots of blogs out there with great meal ideas, so definitely take advantage of them. I like to make a lunch/dinner meal and then eat it for a few days and when I’ve eaten it all, I’ll try a totally new and different recipe. It’s fun!

  1. Occupy yourself with other things that don’t have to deal with food

If you find yourself constantly thinking about food and snacks, then you need to get out! Occupy yourself by going for a walk, reading a book, relaxing on the couch watching trashy TV like the Real Housewives (not that I’ve done that ;)), or doing your hair/organizing your room or closet.

So there you have it, some simple tips that I’ve been using to start feeling like Julie again.

What has really worked for me is drinking lots of water and eating plenty of protein. It always helps me out a lot when I’m not in the house all day constantly walking through the kitchen.

How do you tame your snacking monster?

I’m off to grocery shop (my fav thing ever!!!!) and then hit up the gym + go out to dinner with my friend.

See ya tomorrow for the things I need to desperately useless things I picked up at the grocery store!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers