Archive for May 16th, 2011

May 16, 2011

Death By Summer Class

Hey friends. :) Happy Monday!

I had originally planned to write up a shorter-ish post but a few change of events changed things a bit..

It was 5:40 AM and I had just woken up after tossing and turning all night. The thought of taking a summer class, that I don’t even need to take (just for extra credits), was sending me in a tail spin. I just wanted to enjoy summer and honestly, I’m not in the right mind set right now to focus on school.. I think I have summer fever already. ;)

I laid in bed for a few minutes contemplating my choice to go to my summer class or not. Eventually, I made the executive choice to not take the class and went downstairs to tell my mom. Well, I missed a step on the stairs and fell ALL THE WAY down the stairs on my tail bone. OW!!!!!!!!!! That’s like 12 steps!!!! 

Moral of the story: my summer class was trying to kill me before I even got to it.

I’m feeling a little stressed out right now but I’m sure it’ll pass. I’m more worried about my tail bone because it REALLY hurts so hopefully icing it may help + rest. I don’t think I’ll run anytime soon since I don’t want to aggravate it. I might even do some yoga this AM before my spin class in the afternoon.

In lieu of not taking my summer class, I think I’m going to start working at my family’s biz a few days a week. One day, I hope to take over the reins with a few of my siblings, so better start learning the ropes sometime soon!

Anywaysss, I thought I’d share with you some things I have been loving lately. Food, places, things, etc. Enjoy!

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Protein Smoothie

20110509_06_21_58_thumb

Perfect for a post-workout protein punch, snacks, dessert (!), and anything in between. I have been loving this as a quick breakfast or late night dinner when I want something light and protein packed after coming home from the gym.

Pumpkin Vanilla Spice Protein VOO

20110513_08_32_10_thumb

Best bowl of VOO I think I’ve made to date! It’s creamy, HUGE, and filling (I stayed full for 4+ hours). Even though it’s main ingredient is a Fall reminder, it’s very light and refreshing and perfect for Spring.

And if you’re not in the mood for pumpkin.. how about some Spiced Apple Pie Oatmeal?

20110507_09_05_10_thumb

So comforting on a rainy day (like today!).

Foot-fives from Chippy

2011-05-13_10_29_15

Foot fives > high fives.

My energy playlist

energy_thumb

Great for when you need a boost of energy during a long/tempo run. I looove Shakira’s song Give It Up to Me and Lady GaGa’s song Teeth, totally pumps you up!

Homemade Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread

2011-04-28_13_55_18

I have been IN LOVE with this bread ever since I made it from Vegan Yum Yum. I made some slight modifications and it turned out fabulous. The gooey cinnamon swirls and juicy raisins are to. die. for. I’ll post the recipe soon so be prepared to d-r-o-o-l. It’s my favorite homemade bread to date.

Ella’s

20110514_11_56_04_thumb

Anything from Ella’s is absolutely delicious. Their smoothies and sandwiches are so so good and packed with good-for-you nutrition. They also sell a huge macaroon that is so yummy. I gobbled it right up. :) My fav’s from Ella’s are their berry smoothie, lemon + strawberry smoothie, and their sandwich with hummus, cucumbers, roasted red peppers, and a black olive spread on fresh focaccia. If you’re ever in Cape May, make sure to stop by here and grab a quick little energizing smoothie!

My cruiser

untitled_thumb2

Ok, ok I don’t have it yet but I will by the weekend!!! I decided on this color and I’m so excited to take it for a cruise! Hopefully this color is in stock but I should know by today because the guy said he’d call me. I have a feeling I’ll be taking this on lots of long rides throughout the summer. I’m thinking of naming it either Trixie or Bunny. Any other ideas??? What does it look like to you??? lol.

I’m off to get a start on my day. We’re having a girls night later watching movies and boy, do I need it!!

Hope you have a positive Monday!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers