Archive for May 13th, 2011

May 13, 2011

Gettin’ Down and Dirty

Hey friends!

Happy Friday :D

I’m super happy because we’re going down the to the beach for the weekend.

You guys have no idea how much I just need to relax and take a break from everything and just be with my thoughts and sort of revaluate things that are going on in my life. Don’t worry, the bloggy isn’t going anywhere but just some personal things have really been bringing me down lately. I’m not perfect and I do have rough times in my life just like everyone else so I think it’s important to sort of take a step back and see what’s going on and what direction you want your life to go in. I am a firm believer in the quote “you only live once” so I like to make sure I’m happy with where I’m at. I think it’s important to take yourself out of a situation at times and look from the outside-in because you can really get a totally different perspective on what may be going on.

Let me recap to yesterday.

Around noontime, I planned on running 4 miles but as soon as I stepped on the treadmill at the gym I knew I just wasn’t willing to pull teeth to get 4 miles out of me, so I compromised. I told myself that I would run 3 miles but I would have to get down and dirty and really give it my all.

Here’s what I did:

  • mile 1: speed 6.0 until .80 miles and then increased speed to 6.8 and sprinted to end
  • mile 2: speed 5.8 until mile 1.20 then 6.0 and at mile 1.80, I increased my speed to 6.8 and sprinted to end
  • mile 3: speed 6.0 until mile 2.80, increased speed to 6.8 and sprinted to mile 3.10
  • .20 mile cool down on 2.2 mph

Totally hard but so worth it and got every inch of my body covered in sweat! There’s nothing more rewarding than knowing you kicked ass during your workout. I love finishing my runs with strong sprints, it’s the best! I feel so strong.

Lunch was leftover ‘zah!

2011-05-12_12_21_06

(‘zah = glorified word for pizza.. sounds more gourmet, no? ;))

Mixed greens + cucumber + onion with a simple vinaigrette: olive oil + lemon juice + S&P + sprinkle of garlic powder.

2011-05-12_12_21_14

I love simple, clean flavors!

The pizza reheated great, too. I stuck it in a 400* oven for 5 minutes and it came out all bubbly and gooey.. mmm.

2011-05-12_12_21_21

And now I have to tell you something..

I think I am lactose intolerant!!! Whenever I eat dairy (like greek yogurt, or pizza [or cheese in general]) I get reallllllly bad stomach cramps. Like seriously, about 20 minutes after eating this my stomach was in knots for a few hours. My mom suggested taking a lactose pill before eating dairy but I think I may just be more conscious about when I do eat dairy and eat it in small amounts. I love cheese, especially mozzarella and ricotta, so I think I’ll just eat them in moderation. It’s crazy how if you cut certain foods out and then reintroduce them how your body reacts. It’s sort of a like an experiment.. mwahaha. ;) I always did love science class..

Dinner was pretty simple since I wasn’t took hungry (read: st00pid cheese).

2011-05-12_17_35_46

1/3 cup lentils + 1/2 cup chickpeas + 1 head broccoli + 1 red pepper + this dressing.

Looks gross, I know.. but it wasn’t I swear! I only about 2/3 of it because I was stuffed and honestly, I just wanted to eat chocolate for dinner. :mrgreen:

2011-05-12_17_35_28

My only complaint is that the dressing was kind of “eh”. It seemed bland to me??? Maybe I needed to add more lemon juice because it seemed like it was missing some kind of zing. I did like it enough though that I’ll be using it for lunch today!

But breakfast today was made for champions. And I’m a champion. Oh yah.

2011-05-13_08_31_16

Mr. Birdie wanted a bite! (I love Mr. Birdie, he’s so cute, but his tail got chipped in the dishwasher!!!! waah)

2011-05-13_08_32_34

I think Mr. Birdie needs a friend???

Am I really personifying my dishware?? Oh, what the heck, why not.

2011-05-13_08_30_09

Pumpkin Vanilla Spice Protein VOO

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop SunWarrior vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • toppings: raisins, shredded unsweetened coconut, walnuts, pure maple syrup

Directions: Whisk dry ingredients together then add in the wet. Whisk well and set in the fridge overnight. In the morning, garnish with toppings and enjoy!

Ugh, yeah, these oats are kind of a big deal.

2011-05-13_08_30_21

I am putting these on REPEAT! Perfect for the Spring and the pupmkin adds lots of volume + fiber. If you can’t find pumpkin, you can omit it but it really does bulk up the oats like crazy and adds tons of nutrients.

This bowl is a little ode to Fall.. not that I miss it or anything.. ;)

2011-05-13_08_30_48

2011-05-13_08_31_05

There is so much protein in this bowl of oats it makes me full and satisfied just looking at it!!!

I’ll let you guys know how long this bowl of oats keeps me full for. I’m guessing 4+ hours.

2011-05-13_08_31_32

So dreaaamy and creamy and yummmy.

2011-05-13_08_32_10

I’ll take 20 bowls of these, please.

I’m off to break a sweat + pack.

See ya at the beach!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers