Archive for May 9th, 2011

May 9, 2011

Fun In The Sun + Cinnamon Toast Crunch Protein Smoothie

Hello!

I’m suuuupa happy today because.. IT’S SUMMER!!!

This morning I took my last final so I’m so excited to just relax and enjoy the warm weather.

I’m currently blogging in the sun working on my tan. :cool:

2011-05-08_15_50_12

Yesterday I tired out my new SunWarrior protein powder.

2011-05-08_15_13_48

I put it in my shaker with pure H2O and it tasted pretty good. It smelled a little funky though lol. I bet it’d taste even BETTER in a smoothie. Or oats? Perhaps vegan overnight oats? *hint hint* ;)

Yesterday for Mother’s Day me and my mom decided to go to HomeGoods to do some shopping! Nothing like spending cash, I tell ya.

I love HomeGoods, if you can find one near where you live GO. They have GREAT deals on pretty much everything in the store. Everything is discounted to at least 50-60% off which makes it really affordable to pick up some cute bowls, spoons, glasses, plates, etc. for such a cheap price. The stuff lasts a pretty long time too if you take care of it!

I got this Bodum Biasca Iced Tea Jug for half off ($19 bucks)!! I have been wanting a Bodum tea pot for a while now but when I saw the iced tea jug I thought it’d be such a good idea to buy that instead of a tea pot for hot tea since the summer is coming. Plus, the Bodum stuff I saw at HomeGoods was 1/2 the price of the tea pots/iced tea jugs I saw online that I was contemplating buying. All you do is add in your loose leaf tea + water + any sweetener if you want and stick it in the fridge for a few hours to ‘brew’. Looove it. It’ll also be great for iced teas + lemonade.

2011-05-08_14_34_12

The loose leaf tea sinks to the bottom but overtime it steeps into the water.

2011-05-08_14_34_31

I put in 2 tsp each of my favorite Japanese dragon pearl green tea + Rooibos tea from Teavana. The green tea is expensive but sooo worth it. I love the flavor of it. It’s nice and strong, just how I like my tea. :)

It has a filter in it + pouring protection lid so there’s no need to worry about little tiny tea leafs getting in your drink.

2011-05-08_14_34_20

I add 1 tbsp of raw local honey, too.

2011-05-08_14_34_52

Lovin’ the idea of honey lately.. although maple syrup has stolen my heart.

2011-05-08_14_36_05

I picked this up at a garden I went to a few days ago + some honey stix.

2011-05-07_16_14_35 

I got mango + a raw honey flavor and I’m thinking of taking them on my longer runs to act as “Gu”. A lot more natural and cheaper (.25 cents for each) than Gu. I’ll have to see how these work out because if I do end up enjoying them I’ll have to stock up on some for my half-marathon. I also want to experiment with Gu + other types of ‘energizers’ just in case.

Placed the Bodum iced tea jug in the fridge and let it do its thang!

2011-05-08_14_37_30

Breakfast this morning involved some SunWarrior protein powder.

20110507_14_04_51_thumb

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Protein Smoothie

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop SunWarrior vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp pure maple syrup

Directions: Place all ingredients in a blend and blend until smooth. Serve.

Mmmmm.. this was SO GOOD. It tasted just like Cinnamon Toast Crunch but without all the icky ingredients.

I was crushed for time this morning so it was the perfect breakfast for on the go. It has 17+ grams of protein!

2011-05-09_06_21_20

I’m really loving the SunWarrior vanilla protein powder so far. It’s such a great addition to smoothies and I can’t wait to find out what else I can put it in. ;) Waaaaaaay better tasting than Amazing Grass products but it’s two totally different markets (wheat grass vs. protein powders).

2011-05-09_06_21_45

2011-05-09_06_21_58

After finishing my final I came home and ran a quick and energizing two miles.

I finished in 18 mins 29 seconds and enjoyed a nice walk/run recovery jog home.

Total stats:

  • 2.66 miles
  • 2 miles in 18:29 sec, avg pace 9:11 min/mile, max pace 7:00 min/mile
  • .66 miles in 8:49

No better way to kick start the summer than with a run! :)

Came home and ate a reaaaally delicious lunch.

2011-05-09_11_20_14

2 and 1/2 Dr. Kracker flatbreads with tomato paste + 1/2 avocado + sprinkle of oregano and garlic powder + a squirt of lemon. Sooo good.

I picked up some Dr. Kracker flatbreads yesterday and so far I really really like them. They’re nice and savory with a hint of sweetness from the malt syrup + molasses. They’re nice and big too which makes them a great alternative to regular ‘ol sandwich bread.

2011-05-09_11_20_52 

2011-05-09_11_21_06

Definitely going to put this lunch on repeat! It took a long time to each too which makes it much more filling.

With a side of juicy cantaloupe:

2011-05-09_11_21_19

Plus some green + rooibos iced tea with honey (above) + a squirt of lemon juice.

2011-05-09_11_16_56

See how the leaves opened up and steeped in the water?

2011-05-09_11_17_05

Loving this purchase. :D My only complaint is that sometimes I get a few tiny leafs in my drink but I really have no problem drinking the tea leafs. lol. I’m sure there’s a way to fix it but it doesn’t really bother me too much.

Are you crazy like me? Do you enjoy drinking tea leafs!?

I’m off to get my tan on + go to the gym in a little while and then we’re grilling for dinner!

I’ll most likely be eating one of my black bean and mushroom burgers.. yummy in my tummy. ;)

Enjoy your day!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers