Archive for April 26th, 2011

April 26, 2011

Getting Back On Track

Gooood morning!

I definitely had a case of the Monday’s yesterday.. I was dragging all day! Yikes.

Luckily, today started off with some energizing VOO.

2011-04-26_07_19_44

In my awesome Target bowl: oats, chia seeds, pumpkin, spices, a full tablespoon of blackstrap molasses (15% iron!!!), almond milk, walnuts, raisins.

Yuuuum. I truly have a little tiny place in my heart for vegan overnight oats.. I just love how doughy they are. Speaking of, I had a hard time choosing between VOO with pumpkin & spices vs a oatmeal cookie variety. I went with the pumpkin since I just opened a can and needed to use some up and I’m glad I did. This bowl is jam packed with healthy fats, antioxidants, and lots of vitamins & minerals.

No better way to start the day. :)

Yesterday I set out for a quick lunchtime run. However, since it was so hot here (loving the hot weather!!) I decided to take along a running buddy to help the time pass.

I brought along my sister and am so glad I did! We did a quick 2 mile loop in 18 mins with an average pace of 9:12 and a max pace of 6 min (sprinting at the end). For me, the best part of having a running buddy is the competition. I get sooo furious when I’m running and my sister is ahead of me or vice versa so I constantly was sort of ‘racing’ her although we were running together. Plus, she’s 5’11 so her stride is a bit wider than mine which means my little legs have to work faster (I’m only 5’5)!

It helps keep me on my feet and keep my pace up! We even dabbled in the 8 min/mile pace for a bit. And we didn’t stop once. :D And we tackled a big hill. Loved this run! I’m definitely going to be taking her on more runs of mine..

When I got back I threw together a quick spinach + red pepper salad for some greenery.

2011-04-25_12_45_30

Lately, I’ve been trying to eat at least one salad a day or one serving of ‘green food’. Whether it be Amazing Grass Wheatgrass in my oats, smoothies, or salads, I’m trying to increase my ‘green food’ intake. Gotta get in that iron!

2011-04-25_12_45_18

Spinach + 1/2 a red pepper + all natural Italian dressing + sesame seeds.

2011-04-k

Deeeeelish.

The other part of my lunch involved pumpkin..

2011-04-25_13_13_10

Any guesses as to what it is?

2011-04-25_13_13_26

I made Ashley’s Pumpkin Buckwheat Cake Bake!

Yuum yum yum. I loved this! It tasted like a soft, luscious piece of pumpkin pie cake.

I subbed in 1 flax egg for a real egg and used all oats instead of buckwheat groats ‘cause I got none. I’m looking for them though.. I’ve been seeing them pop up all over the place in blogs!

2011-04-25_13_12_57

I also topped it with my newest FAVORITE love..

17010005_lg

[Source]

WHITE. CHOCOLATE. WONDERFUL.. MARRY. ME.

This is officially my favorite peanut butter EVER!!!! So so so so good. It’s creamy, has a hint of vanilla and is seriously down right outrageous. If you can find some, buy it. But be warned, because you may want to eat the entire jar in one sitting.

I was skeptical buying this because I hate white chocolate but this is just pure heaven.

After falling in love with a peanut butter jar, I hit up the gym with a friend for weights + elliptical.

We did abs + 30 mins on the elliptical. Every Monday, Wednesday, and Sunday we do the following routine:

  • 15 min elliptical.. get off and do the following:
  • abs exercises with weights + machines + a back strengthening exercise
  • ..get back on elliptical for 15 more min for a total of 30

We found that splitting up the time on the elliptical really helps it go by faster and it allows us to exert more energy because we know we only have to do a quick 15 minutes.

Came home and ate the most delicious dinner ever.

2011-04-25_18_07_47

Yesterday was a day of FAB eats. I love making new recipes and having leftovers for a few days for lunches + quick dinners. This was the best dinner I’ve made in a while and it didn’t even need ketchup at all (even though I squirted a bunch on)! I mixed tomato pasta with organic ketchup for added antioxidants. I wish I would’ve left it plain though because I loved the flavors!

2011-04-25_18_08_04

I made Angela’s In A Jiffy Veggie Pie.

Basically, it’s a flax + spelt crust with her In A Jiffy Spelt Veggie Burgers as the filling. LOVED this!!!

If I loved these veggie burgers as the filling I can’t imagine how much I’ll love them in the Summer grilled and put on a toasted whole wheat bun.. mmmm.

~~~~~~~~

Getting Back On Track

I’m a girl who loves routine (when it comes to her meals). I like to eat 3 meals a day and have 2-3 snacks in between meals. That’s just what leaves me feeling the best + full of energy. Depending on my mood or if I’m hungry or not I may it more or less.

However, lately I’ve been eating more.

I’ve been struggling with stopping eating after lunch/dinner. I’ll eat, be full, but still want to snack!! I’m a huge snacker. I could snack all day, I just love snacks. After dinner I won’t snack on junk food but healthy foods like fruits, fruit leathers, dried fruit, vegan baked goods, etc. I have no problem with allowing myself to eat these foods but it annoys me when I just eat them out of boredom/something to chew on.

I also think I overestimate the amount of food I actually need to eat haha. ;)

What I’m getting at is that I just want to stop mindlessly snacking.

Ahhhhhhh. Feels good to get that off my chest! No, I’m not perfect. And yes, I do mindlessly snack often but we’re all human and the best part about realizing that we are all human is that we can learn from our ‘mistakes’ and can fix them and find better alternatives to some of our bad habits.

I’m going to try and NOT mindlessly snack after dinner because regardless of how full I am I always have the urge to ‘eat something else’ after dinner when I don’t actually need it. I guess it’s just a habit since I never deny myself of anything. However, I truly want to listen to my body and see what it wants. If it wants a little something after dinner or lunch or whatever, I’ll eat it. I just don’t want to eat something when I truly don’t need it.

I’d like to think I’m pretty good at intuitively eating. I know when I’m hungry and when I’m full and I can also identify what my body needs or wants to eat just by listening to my cravings and then implementing my cravings into what I eat. Say one day I crave a lot of fruits, well obviously my body wants more water. Or I crave potatoes, my body wants carbs, or cheese, my body wants bone-building calcium and needs some fats!

I’m not doing a ‘diet’ or whatever, just cleaning up what I eat. I haven’t been feeling like my normal self lately and that’s what bothers me the most. I like to feel light and full of energy and lately I’ve been feeling a big sluggish. I don’t weigh myself either so I just judge how I feel by how I actually feel. I refuse to let numbers on a scale tell me what my mood for that day should be.

I’m going to try and do the following things to help me get back on track!

  • drink lots of water + iced/hot teas
  • eat 3 meals + 2-3 snacks.. to keep my energy up/stop me from mindlessly eating
  • smile!

Nothing crazy, obviously, it just really bothers me when I snack, and snack, and snack!!! Albeit, I’m snacking on healthy foods but still, it’s not really needed lol.

I hope I don’t give you all the wrong impression that I’m dieting or something because I DON’T do diets. I don’t even know why I’m mentioning the word diet.. I’m just stopping mindlessly snacking which has nothing to do with restricting myself of anything. Overall, I just want to stick with healthful eating and not stuff myself silly with snacks. I’ll let you know how I do with avoiding mindlessly snacking!

I’m the queen snacker. ;)

Do you snack? Do you often find yourself looking for a little somethin’ somethin’ after eating a meal that leaves you fully satisfied?

It’s SUCH a beautiful day here today I just can’t bear to be inside anymore!! I’m off to go enjoy the sunshine.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers