Archive for April 17th, 2011

April 17, 2011

Gingersnap Cookie VOO

Aloha!

I totally unplugged yesterday, unintentionally. No computer, no twitter. It was nice. I usually am never able to be pulled away from my beloved blog world but hey, sometimes it’s nice to just ‘get away’ from things and simply enjoy the day without all the noise from a computer.

And now it’s Sunday.. which means maximum relaxation is about to occur in 5..4..3..2..1..

Ahhhh. I love weekends. Don’t you!?

Look what we got on our porch!

2011-04-17_08_51_45

PANSIES!

You’re such a pansy. ;) Hehe.

2011-04-17_08_51_53

I love bright vibrant flowers. I can’t wait to grow my own!

We actually planned out where we’re going to put my garden so now I just have to wait until we get makin’ it. My dad is planning on having some people help me so hopefully we do that soon! My mom has been telling me I can’t plant anything before Mother’s Day (don’t know why? something about the frost) so I’m hoping to have the garden up before Mother’s Day and then I’ll start planting around May 10-12. I’m also hoping to get some beds, I think they’re called that, to put some soil in since I don’t know if I trust this New Jersey soil. ;)

2011-04-17_08_52_04

Rainy petals. Puuuurty.

2011-04-17_08_51_37

Of course Chippy was overseeing my picture taking operations just to make sure nothing went wrong while I was outside for a whole 30 seconds.

Yesterday I realized something..

Why don’t I have salads for lunch more often!?! I had the most delicious salad for lunch yesterday. Like seriously, THE most delicious.

2011-04-16_11_34_32

HuUuuUge pile of mixed greens (20% + iron!), cucumber, brown rice, chickpeas, and Mama Pea’s UHH-MAZING Mmmm Sauce.

I tasted this sauce and immediately went  ‘MMMMMMMMM!!!’. Make this sauce. Now.

I would bathe in this sauce if I could. It is seriously so good. I see myself putting it on everything and I’ll be enjoying multiple salads because of it! Just in time too since I need to get more iron into my diet.. and I’ve been slackin’ on the salad eatin’.

This bowl was probably 2 inches deep and many many inches wide. I had one happy belly after eating this. :)

Oh, and sorry for only one picture. My camera died as soon as I snapped this. At least I got one pic!

Look at our awesome veggie peeler:

2011-04-16_11_31_00

We run a fine establishment over here. Very professional.

No idea how it got like this either!? I still managed to peel the cucumber ‘cause I have skills but for real!? Maybe my dish washer has something to do with this.. hmm..

Since I’ve been trying to get more iron into my diet, breakfast this morning involved my beloved blackstrap molasses. We kind of have a love-hate relationship, since I only like it when combined with others flavors. Sorry, blackstrap, but you’re just too strong.

YuumMmMMMers.

2011-04-17_08_26_22

Gingersnap Cookie VOO

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 – 1 tbsp blackstrap molasses
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • topping ideas: crushed walnuts, pure maple syrup, unsweetened shredded coconut

Directions: Whisk together oats, chia seeds, cinnamon, and ginger. Pour in almond milk and then the blackstrap molasses and vanilla extract. Mix together and place in the fridge overnight or for at least 2 hours. In the morning, layer with cinnamon spice soft serve (below).

*You can use 1 tbsp blackstrap molasses if you really like the flavor but I noticed using 1/2 tbsp is just enough to get a hint of it on your tongue without it being overpowering.

2011-04-17_08_21_13

Cinnamon Spice Soft Serve

  • 1 frozen ripe banana
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp almond milk

Directions: Process together the frozen banana and cinnamon adding almond milk if you noticed the mixture needs help coming together. Serve.

*You can use 1/2 tsp cinnamon if you’re not an addict like me.

The phrase of the day should be ‘mmmm’ because I find myself saying it allll the time.

2011-04-17_08_27_42

Yeah, MMMMMM!!!!!!

2011-04-17_08_27_31

I calculated the nutritional info for these just to see how much iron is in this batch of VOO (this doesn’t include the toppings or banana soft serve and using 1/2 tablespoon blackstrap molasses).

Untitled

10% daily value of iron! Not too bad, not too bad at all!

2011-04-17_08_27_20

Loved this batch.

Enjoy your Sunday!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers