Archive for April 13th, 2011

April 13, 2011

My Favorite Falafel

2011-04-07_12_50_17

To be honest, I’m not even too sure these would classify as true ‘falafel’.

I found a recipe in Easy Vegan for falafel, but like all things, I can never seem to stay within the guidelines.

I’m a rule breaker, ya know?

Ok, kidding, I would never really break any rules but I did for this recipe and it’s the best rule I’ve ever broken.

This falafel is slightly crispy but sooooo fluffy, creamy, and pillowy on the inside. It’s truly hard not to eat the entire batch in one sitting. It took me 2.5 days. And it took a lot of restraint.

And if you’re wondering, no, I didn’t share.

My Favorite Falafel

Adapted from Easy Vegan [Makes 10 heaping tablespoon sized falafel balls. Feel free to make balls smaller if desired.]

  • 1 and 1/4 cups hummus
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 scallions
  • 3 tbsp chopped parsley
  • 1/8 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

Directions: Preheat oven to 375*. Chop up your scallions + parsley and mix in the hummus, whole wheat flour, spices, and baking soda. Form into heaping balls (NOTE: The balls can be very wet + sticky, so roll the balls in a mixture of whole wheat flour + paprika to make the process easier. Don’t over-do it on the whole wheat flour though, you just want enough to form the balls, don’t drench them in flour) and place in the oven for 25-30 minutes, watching carefully and taking them out when they’re golden brown. Allow to cool for 10 minutes. Serve!

*You could make your own hummus or use store bought. I, however, had a huge container of hummus in the fridge so I used that.

*You could also try using whole wheat pastry flour for a lighter falafel ball.

*For a super crispy exterior, try frying these in a little bit of extra virgin olive oil.

 

I think I should start a new series on the blog called, “How Not to Stimulate the Economy” because look:

2011-04-07_11_49_16

This is the end result of going to Trader Joe’s, Target, and Shop and Stop all in one day. And figuring you ought to buy something from each place.

Note to all my lovely readers:

If you’re looking to un-stimulate (is that even a word?) the economy do not go to Trader Joe’s and Target. Or anywhere where a wallet may be needed for that matter.

Enough of Money Matters with Suze Orman Julie..

First, shriek and hide at the fact that you have this much hummus in your fridge.

2011-04-07_11_55_11

Yeah, this is a situation.

I threw a bunch of ingredients in a bowl and hoped for the best.

2011-04-07_12_04_55

Baked them up..

2011-04-07_12_15_29

2011-04-07_12_15_38

..and was blown away by the outcome.

2011-04-07_12_45_51

They puff up and get sooo creamy and delicious. Melt. In. Your. Mouth.

2011-04-07_12_44_36

They also have an intense yellow color from the turmeric.

Turmeric is also good for reducing inflammation so this is the perfect post-run lunch!

As good as these falafel balls are by themselves, may I suggest some toppings?

2011-04-07_12_17_10

Oh, by the way, I am going to marry that tzartziki. It is so insanely good I never want to live the rest of my life without it.

The tzatziki is what makes this falafel. I often found myself, in the wee hours of the night, dunking falafel balls in tzatziki.

Globs and globs of tzatziki.

I hate the word globs.

Moving on..

2011-04-07_12_49_10

Mmmmm..

If you make one thing this week, make these. And make sure you eat them with tzatziki. Cucumber garlic tzatziki to be exact.

Do it.

Just do it.

The pressure is on.

2011-04-07_12_50_17

Falafel + red onion slices + fresh parsley + lots of tzatziki = amazeballs.

2011-04-07_12_50_08

Considering I have a few left over hummus containers in my fridge.. you can bet your bottom dollar (oops, stimulating the economy, we can use fake dollars) that I’ll be making these again.

Pronto.

As in 5 minutes from now.

Happy hump day!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers