Walking a Rock

Enter my new favorite song:

It’s such a powerful song. Actually all of Bob Marley’s songs are!

I want to sip a pina colada on an island and blast this song. Oh yes I do.

I also am in love with Stevie Nicks from Fleetwood Mac. I think they’re in my top ten all time favorite bands. She is an excellent singer and I was looking online last night for tickets to her show in Atlantic City in May. I was thinking of maybe taking my mom. It’d be such a blast but I might be wishful thinking with this idea! Tickets are already $100 per person so we’ll see. She just came to Madison Square Garden with Rod Stewart because she’s on a tour with him. I wish I would’ve bought tickets for that show. I love Rod Stewart!!! I bet they were great together..

In other news, I decided to take the Chipster for a walk yesterday.

I drove to the park in hopes that I’d confuse him from our regular route and he’d end up walking 2 miles. Nope. I think we got as far as .000351 miles. What a walk that was! I needed a nap after it for sure! So tiring. ;)

We got out of the car and the only thing he ran toward was the trees. The most exercise we got was running from tree to tree. Then he stopped in the middle of the path and wouldn’t walk anymore. Since I wanted to enjoy some fresh air, I picked his little booty up and brought us to the nearest bench to rest (since our walk was so labor intensive) and people watch. We’re people watching partners in crime. I love the people watch (who doesn’t!?) and apparently so does Chippy..

2011-04-10_13_00_22

He stared.

2011-04-10_13_00_45

And stared.

2011-04-10_13_00_31

And stared some more.

He didn’t stop looking from one spot for at least 3 minutes. This is Jedi mind concentration. I’m telling you, Chippy is a miracle dog.

Check out this posture:

2011-04-10_13_01_29

That’s what I’m talkin’ about!

After I got him to actually sit on the bench, guess what he did?

People watched some more!

And he got his ego bluffed by some kind old woman who said he looked ‘beautiful’.

I giggled. :)

My Chippy.. beautiful!? Why thanks!

2011-04-10_13_02_26

Hehe, his ears are so so cute! I love my wittle Chippers.

However, things turned South. Quick.

He began to shake and become frantic so we went back to the car (where I almost broke a sweat, almost, because he nearly made me fall over he was running so fast to get to the car). I drove home and he couldn’t wait to get inside.

At times I feel like I’m walking a rock.

He freed himself from my death grip and waited by the garage door. Checking his back that no surprises were around the corner.

You never know about those squirrels. Ya just don’t.

2011-04-10_13_07_29

He booked it to the door.

2011-04-10_13_07_48

I now need to devise a new plan to trick him into walking. I’m going to need to go to scientific measures on this one. Who know walking a dog would be such a science!?

Something that didn’t require so much science was my dinner!

Crispy Fried Tofu

  • 1 block of extra firm tofu
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • shake of red pepper flakes (optional)

Directions: Heat a nonstick pan over medium high heat with olive oil. Move the pan around to get the olive oil to coat the entire pan. Drain your tofu and wrap it in paper towels and gently press to get out excess water. Next, cut tofu into bite sized squares and place in olive oil. Move/slide the tofu around in the pan so every piece has some oil on it. ‘Fry’ on all sides until golden brown and crispy (about 15 minutes). Make sure all sides get a nice crisp on them so continue to flip the tofu over. Serve!

*I used about 2/3 block of tofu but next time I’d use the entire block (you might need to add an extra 1/2 tsp of olive oil though).

*You don’t need to press the tofu but if you want to, go ahead. I noticed, however, that it was still very crispy so I didn’t waste time pressing it! Not needed.

*You could serve these with ketchup, hot sauce, on top of a salad, in a wrap or sandwich, or skewer them with veggies to make fun shish kabobs (I’m definitely going to do shish kabobs for the Summer season)!

2011-04-10_19_42_15

Yum. I think I lied when I said I won’t be buying tofu often. I’m really loving the taste and texture of tofu as well as the versatility of it.

I don’t think I’ll buy any soon, but I might want to start adding it to my diet 2x/week. I’ll let you know if I do start to add more tofu into my diet! I’m still weighing out the benefits and disadvantages.

2011-04-10_19_42_49

FYI: I took this pictures in my light box. Since it was nighttime when I ate and there was no natural light, I had to use my resources. I like to shoot in my light box but sometimes the photos can look a bit off. Still a great alternative and some of my favorite photos have been shot in my light box. Natural light also can make a picture seem off sometimes too!

I like how these photos came out though! You can see the crispiness that the tofu has.

I served mine with hot sauce + Trader Joe’s frozen parmesan ‘tater slices with ketchup.

2011-04-10_19_46_53

Per usual, I dipped everything in mountains of ketchup. :D

Dessert was Katie’s Cookie Dough Balls for One.

2011-04-10_20_41_31

(This picture is an example of when light box lighting can go wrong).

These were yummmmmy.

I used all whole wheat flour and put in dark chocolate chips.

Not as good as a whole batch of fresh baked cookies but still good for a single serving! I’ll be making these again for sure. Maybe even with peanut butter in them!? So many possibilities!

One of these is not like the others.. ;)

2011-04-10_20_41_52

Chomp!

Mmmmm. I love cookies. I’m da cookie monsta.

No joke either! Cookie monster was my favorite person character on Sesame Street! It was meant to be. I even had a stuffed animal of him. But we all know who the true cookie monster is.

I hope you enjoy your Monday!

It’s a fresh new week and I’m so ready to tackle whatever this week has to throw at me.

PS – It’s 80* here today!!!!!!!! WOOOO! Looks like I’m off to sip a pina colada outside and blast Bob Marley.

4 Comments to “Walking a Rock”

  1. Awww I’m so honored you tried the cookie balls! And I really need to get my act together and make a lightbox!! Lazy lazy lazy…

  2. I love when bloggers post pictures of their dogs. So beautiful!!

  3. Awwww……your dog IS beautiful! “Cookie cookie!!” hahaa! happy times :-) I always liked Elmo. That tofu looks perfect! I love my tofu crispy too. Yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

