Archive for April 6th, 2011

April 6, 2011

Broke As A Joke

Last night around 8:30 PM I got a seeeerious craving for cookie dough balls.

I wanted someone to make it for me. Or have it make itself. I looked at the cashews, they look at me, I looked at them again. Eventually, I ended up making a fresh batch of cookie dough balls and, naturally, proceeded to eat 3. :D I even had some in my oatmeal this morning. Chocolate for breakfast? Yes please! Yum yum yum.

I went on a serious shopping spree yesterday. And I ain’t talkin’ about buying clothes.

Behold, my Crate and Barrel shopping cart..

crate n barrel

It doesn’t seem like a lot but I’m very frugal with my money! I like to ‘hoard’ my money. I hate to spend it but I know it’s necessary to stimulate the economy (I tell myself this to feel better about blowing $50 bucks on kitchen items). ;)

I love love love all the things I got and can’t wait to use them!!!

I buy all my kitchen plates/goodies/spoons/etc at Crate and Barrel and sometimes I’ll find cute placemats or other things at Target, Home Goods (LOVE), and Marshalls.

Since becoming a food blogger, I haven’t bought a single piece of clothing. I only buy kitchen/baking supplies now. LOL. It’s not that I don’t want to buy clothes but I get so much more joy out of adding cups and spoons to my Crate and Barrel shopping cart. So not normal.

I also stopped by Wegmans to pick up a few things I was missing in my pantry + a couple new items I’ve never tried.

2011-04-05_12_10_25

New things: extra firm organic tofu (never made it myself before!!!), dark sweet cherries (never tried these before), and Ezekiel sprouted grain tortillas (also new).

Not so new: watermelon (that tastes insanely delicious and is super juicy).

2011-04-05_12_08_58

New things: organic spelt pretzels!!, soy free Earth Balance (I’ve tried the normal kind but have been looking for soy free everywhere since I’m sorta skeptical about eating a lot of soy), Synergy mystic mango kombucha (I’ve tried other flavor but this is my first time trying this flavor).

Not so new: chia seeds

Check out the ingredients list on the kombucha:

2011-04-05_12_09_30

Pure love is an ingredient! Hehehe.

Fun fact: one time I bought kombucha, shook it up, and it spilled all over my car. Good times, good times.

I actually am not that big of a fan of kombucha but I’ve been trying to get back into drinking it once and a while since it’s super duper good for you. It’s soooo strong and vinegary and also tastes a lot like beer (lol). Since I don’t like beer, this is hard to drink but I take mini sips and it usually lasts me a couple days :).

I think I may even take ‘shots’ in the morning of kombucha, about 1/4 – 1/2 cup, until the bottle is gone.

What better way to start the day than with a shot!? ;)

Now onto tofu.

I’ve never ever bought tofu or cooked with it before so I was super excited to use it. I try to avoid tofu (and soy products) as much as possible since I hear it can have negative side effects. Once and a while though I’ll enjoy tofu in moderation but after my 2 boxes that I bought are used up I probably won’t restock on any for a while. I like to eat wholesome protein sources like beans and grains.

I used Caitlin’s recipe for perfect baked tofu.

Look at my awesome tofu press:

2011-04-05_12_15_36

So legit.

After pressing my tofu for 15 minutes, I baked it up!

I chomped down on some watermelon + cucumber salad while it was cooking and had a tiny no bake vegan date square. I was haaangry.

Once my tofu was done I added hot sauce to it for a little zing.

2011-04-05_13_08_06

I ended up dipping it in ketchup though. :lol:

2011-04-05_13_07_54

Served with a big ‘ol slice of whole wheat bread + soy free butter.

2011-04-05_12_38_40

Mmmmm.

I think I ate probably a little more than 1/3 of the block of tofu and I’ll be eating the leftovers for lunch today + the next day.

And now it’s official, I’m broke as a joke.

I need a j-o-b.

Here’s some recent health/food articles that round up from around the web!

I’ll see you tomorrow for some of this..

2011-04-03_15_21_19

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers