Archive for April 5th, 2011

April 5, 2011

Can’t Get Enough

Hi everyone! I have a looot of recipes for you today :D.

Yesterday was one of the nicest days in a reaaaally long time!

I woke up to clouds but around noon time it turned to sunshine + heat! I was sweating walking around campus.

70* baby!!!

2011-04-04_14_05_42

Today it’s cloudy and humid (I foresee rain!) though. I guess you can’t win ‘em all!

I might even venture outside for a run since it is warm, but only after I digest these pancakes I just ate..

2011-04-05_08_39_30

I recently discovered a jar ‘o Smooth Operator in the cabinet..

Domination is occuring. I assume this jar will last 3 days. Tops.

Best pnut butter eva.

I had it in my oats yesterday morning..

2011-04-04_06_35_48

In ze bowl: 1/2 a banana, 2 strawberries, sprinkle of walnuts, drizzle pure maple syrup, pnut butter, 1/3 cup oats, 1 tbsp Amazing Grass Chocolate Infusion, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1 tsp cocoa powder, 1 cup almond milk.

Wow did I forget anything!? This was a yummy bowl ‘o oats. I love adding toppings to my oats!

Wonky picture ‘cause it’s 6:30 AM and I was sleep walkin’. Mk? ;)

..and I enjoyed some with a Mac apple as a snack.

2011-04-02_13_24_11

Looovely. I have been craving pnut butter a lot lately.

It’s so nice to see that nature is coming back alive after a rough winter.

2011-04-04_15_55_38

Soon those trees will be full ‘o bright green leaves!

I also had a tea yesterday that I picked up at a local bagel shop while my mom ordered rolls.

2011-04-04_16_11_40

Unsweetened + 0 calories + only ingredient is brewed white tea + water!

I haaaate when you just want a pure iced tea without any sugar or artificial sweeteners but you can’t find any. Companies these days think you need to add sugar to everything to make it taste better but that’s not the case!

So refreshing :D.

For dinner last night I whipped up a bunch of things!

It was a smorgasbord. Hehehe. I love smorgasbord dinners, yo! You get a lil bit of everything.

While at Trader Joe’s the other day, I picked up some of these..

2011-04-04_17_21_41

Lundberg makes great brown rice syrups that are perfect for granola bars/baking so I knew for sure I’d love their brown rice cakes!

They’re vegan + gluten free and don’t taste like plastic or Elmer’s glue.

I got a little creative..

2011-04-04_17_46_20

80 Calorie Mini Pizzas [serves 1]

  • 1 brown rice cake
  • 1 tbsp shredded cheese (I used an Italian mixture that had mozzarella in it)
  • 1 tbsp marinara sauce
  • 2 fresh basil leaves
  • shake of oregano

Directions: Preheat oven to 375*. Once oven is fully heated, top brown rice cake with marinara sauce + cheese + basil + seasonings. Bake for 10 minutes or until cheese is melted.

*Make sure you add the marinara sauce right before you put the brown rice cake in the oven so it doesn’t get soggy! I didn’t have any problems with this since Lundberg makes really dense + thick rice cakes but if you’re using another brand you might have a problem with this. Use less marinara sauce if you find that your rice cake is super airy.

2011-04-04_17_46_27

Mmmmmmmm. Perfection! Nice ‘n crispy crunchy.

You could experiment with all types of pizzas here too: veggie pizzas, white pizzas, etc.

If you haven’t noticed, I can’t get enough of pizza.

French bread pizzas + on Saturday we went to Lombardi’s! I love my carbs covered in cheese ;).

I estimated this mini pizza is around 80 calories (60 calories for the rice cake + about 10 for the cheese + 10 for the sauce)!!! Score! You could eat 3-4 of these for very little calories. I love eating indulgent food that tastes decadent but is healthy. That way you can eat more!

I served my mini pizza with broccoli that had been sautéed in about a pound of garlic.

2011-04-04_17_14_54

I. Love. Garlic.

My mom uses lots of garlic when cooking. It’s the Italian in us. I’m pretty sure I have garlic running through my veins.

2011-04-04_17_46_10

I went back for seconds ;). Mmmm. Check out those garlic chunks. OHHHHH YEA!

I also had a try at making sweet potato fries for the first time.

2011-04-04_17_05_45

Baked Sweet Potato Fries [serves 1]

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • salt + pepper
  • shake of paprika

Directions: Preheat oven to 375*. Chop sweet potato into fries. I left the skin on mine because I love how crunchy it gets when they’re baked but if you want to peel off the skin, feel free! Rub in the EVOO + S&P + paprika. Bake for 35 minutes and serve!

*You could easily double this to serve 2 or 3, etc. I usually measure out 1 potato per person.

I love how orange sweet potatoes are!

2011-04-04_17_06_20

If you’re making these the same time as your mini pizza just throw your mini pizza into the oven 10 minutes before the sweet potatoes are done.

These couldn’t be easier or more delicious.

2011-04-04_17_46_37

I served these with lots and lots of ketchup. I’m obsessed!

Here’s my dinner altogether:

2011-04-04_17_46_50

Very filling!

After dinner I wanted something sweet and tropical so I whipped up a quick smoothie.

Strawberry Peach Smoothie [serves 1]

  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries, peaches, mangos, and pineapple
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • pinch of xanthan gum (optional, but helps thicken smoothie)

Directions: Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Serve!

I picked up a mixture of frozen strawberries, peaches, mangos, and pineapple at the store the other day and they all taste so so good in this smoothie!

2011-04-04_18_16_38

Picking up frozen fruits at the store make smoothies so much easier to throw together + icy cold! I typically don’t add any ice when I’m adding frozen fruits to smoothies since they act the same as an ice cube would.

I bought a bagged mixture of tropical fruits (strawberries + pineapple + mango + peaches) and a bag of mixed berries (blackberries + strawberries + blueberries + raspberries).

The banana makes it extra creaaamy.

2011-04-04_18_16_29

Hmm.. doesn’t that bottle look familiar!?

It’s because I re-used my tea bottle from before! I simply washed it out and poured my smoothie in it.

Reduce, reuse, recycle folks.

2011-04-04_18_17_43

Perfect smoothie for a warm Spring day.

It’s like Hawaii in a bottle.

2011-04-04_18_17_11

Sluuuuuuuuuurp.

I’m off to experiment in the kitchen.

Send help if you don’t hear from me within a day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers