Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins

2011-03-31_10_25_07

Happy Funday Sunday!

Do you guys have anything fun planned? I’ll be going to the gym and I’m also trying to devise a contraption to make the squirrels leave my bird feeder alone! They have been eating all the seed and the poor birdies just sit back and watch the squirrels hog the food. Anyone else have this problem??

Remember how I was talking about a few changes I’m making? Well, I think I need to make some changes in my diet and kick start Spring on a healthy foot! I don’t do diets, etc., but I want to start doing things that will make me feel better, sort of like Spring cleaning my diet. Some things I’ll be doing:

  • cutting back on sugar –> I have the biggest sweet tooth eveeeer so I’m going to try and save my sweets for after dinner
  • less coffee –> switch to loose leaf teas
  • run more –> as much as I love spin/the elliptical, I feel my best when running & I’m searching the market for a 10k
  • positive attitude –> live & enjoy life
  • take more walks outside –> I need more fresh air
  • eat more protein –> I think I eat too many carbs & as a veggie I need more protein
  • eat more vegetables/green foods –> I have been noticing a serious lack of greenery in my diet and want to include lots and lots of spinach + broccoli, etc
  • juice –> I love my juicer but since I washed a certain part of it, it hasn’t been working right so I am determined to fix it and start jucin’!

I already have my Teavana pot brewin’ some loose green + rooibos tea. Here’s what the green tea looks like:

1

Weird right!? It actually sprouts up into flowers when the warm water hits it. It’s my faaavorite green tea from Teavana. It’s pretty strong but has a great flavor.

2011-04-03_10_33_14

2011-04-03_10_34_17

Sluuuuuuuuuurp.

If you’re wondering how I got the tea into the cup without all the leaves, the teapot has a filter on the bottom & all you do is press it on the cup and the tea comes out!

Simple goals that are attainable and realistic seem to work best for me. I’ll be keeping you posted on my goals as April progresses. I want to be feeling light + energized (and bikini ready ;)) by the time May comes!

Now onto chocolate chip banana nut muffins!

After getting an F- from Sean on my attempt to make him oatmeal, I was determined to redeem myself.

He’s a simple guy, hates ‘health’ food, doesn’t like eating breakfast often, and when he does, he likes to keep it light.

After telling me he’s in love with chocolate chip banana nut muffins I set out to make a healthy, vegan recipe that Sean, and all you guys, would love.

I remember baking up some muffins from Bethenny that my family loved so I went on the hunt for that same recipe but made some changes.

2011-03-31_10_18_50

These are suuuuuuper moist and have a wonderful banana flavor throughout them. The dark chocolate chips get all melty and burst in the muffins. I also love the crunch from the walnuts! These were a big hit and are actually not too sweet. It’s the puuurfect amount of sugar.

Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins

Adapted from Bethenny’s Boo Boo Banana Bread. Yields 12 muffins.

  • 1/2 cup raw sugar
  • 1/2 cup sucanat (this is the brand I used)
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp non dairy butter, room temperature (I used Earth Balance)
  • 2 large, ripe bananas (about 1 cup)
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flaxseed + 3 tbsp warm water)
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp non dairy milk

*Make sure you have ripe bananas so the batter is sweet. Mine could have been a bit more ripe but ripe bananas work best.

*I ended up adding a tablespoon of milk because the batter was too thick and it thinned it out nicely.

*You could probably use less sugar depending on how ripe your bananas are (maybe 3/4 cup?) but I’m not too sure.

Directions: Preheat oven to 350*. Mix together your flax egg and set aside. Meanwhile, mash the bananas until they have an eggy consistency. Mix in the vanilla extract + milk and room temperature butter and then add in your flax egg and mix once more. Next, whisk together the flours + sugars, baking powder & soda, and salt. Add your wet to dry until everything is combined. Fold in the chopped walnuts + dark chocolate chips and bake for 10-12 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

2011-03-31_09_41_01

This recipe called for 1 cup of raw sugar but I thought it’d be a nice to go 50/50 and do half raw sugar and half sucanat. The sucanat is also similar to brown sugar in taste so it goes well with the bananas!

2011-03-31_09_37_39

Mix your flax egg..

2011-03-31_09_41_46

Mash your ‘naner!

2011-03-31_09_47_15

Add your wet to dry & bake at 350* for 10-12 mins (or until toothpick comes out clean & muffins are slightly browned).

2011-03-31_10_25_35

SHAZAM!

OOuuuuUuuu.. I see chocolate chips peepin’ out the top!

2011-03-31_10_25_43

2011-03-31_10_25_52

2011-03-31_10_26_07

These have got to be the moistest muffins I’ve ever made.

You can even warm them up in the morning in the microwave for about 45 seconds + serve with icy cold almond milk. They’re the perfect grab ‘n go muffins for weekdays or sweet snacks.

How about topping oatmeal with a crumbled chocolate chip banana nut muffin?

Here’s what I’d do:

  • Mix together 1/3 cup oats + 1 cup almond milk on medium heat until creamy (about 5-7 mins). Add in 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder, a tiny splash vanilla extract and mix for about another minute. Serve and top with crumbled muffin + banana slices (if you’re have a banana lover!). The oats would taste like brownie batter.. mMmmmmMMMm.

Front ‘n center!

2011-03-31_10_26_19 

Have a nice day! :cool:

One Comment to “Chocolate Chip Banana Nut Muffins”

  1. Oooooh Yummmmooo! I’ve been thinking about cleaning up my diet a little bit too. I need to work on the sugar and cut mack on some mindless snacking. I’ve been struggling with how I’m going to convey this to my readers because I don’t want them to think its a diet because I don’t believe in diets. I love that you call it “spring cleaning”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

