Archive for March 28th, 2011

March 28, 2011

Homemade Crispy French Bread Pizza

Happy Monday!

What better way to start your week off than with delicious homemade crispy french bread pizza!?

2011-03-25_18_38_54

Let’s get started shall we?

Let me first say how easy and quick this is to make.

I’m all about easy and quick and this can be thrown together in about 15-20 minutes. And shazam. Perfectly crispy, cheesy, delicious french bread pizza. Way better than the kind you get out of a box (which tastes like cardboard, might I add.).

You could even cut these up into little squares and serve them as an appetizer at a party (perhaps for March Madness!?). You would blow away all your guests with these. ;)

Homemade Crispy French Bread Pizza

  • 1 whole wheat french roll
  • ~ 1/4 cup marinara/tomato sauce
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 4 tomato slices
  • 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese, chopped
  • 1 tbsp freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp dried oregano

 

Directions: Preheat oven to 400*. Cut your french roll in half and place on a heated grill (or grill pan). Grill both sides until there’s grill marks (about 2-3 minutes per side). Next, take your garlic clove (that has been peeled) and rub the garlic on the warm bread. This is just to infuse the bread with garlic and so you don’t have any garlic chunks in the finished product. Then, put about 2 tbsp of sauce onto each side of the roll (equals a little less than 1/4 cup total). Next, top with tomato slices (2 per roll), chopped mozzarella & parmesan cheese, and dried oregano. Bake at 400* until the cheese is bubbly and turns slightly crispy, about 15-20 minutes. Keep an eye on it though, you don’t want burnt cheese or bread. Remove from oven and serve!

*You could also place the cheese under the broiler but be very careful because I burned mine! Oy! Which is why I switched to just baking it until the cheese is bubbly.

*The grilling is essential to not getting soggy bread. If you omit grilling the bread you may get a less crispier french bread.

*You can easily double or triple this recipe to serve your guests! I made an extra one for my sister on the spot and it was ready in a jiffy.

First start by grilling your bread…

2011-03-25_18_13_35

Be careful when grilling your bread because you don’t want it to burn. You just want nice, crispy grill marks like so:

2011-03-25_18_19_17

Grilling the bread helps to keep the bread crispy when the sauce is added. You rub each side of the french bread roll with a garlic clove (just to infuse the garlicky taste) + 2 tbsp marinara sauce + tomato slices.

Next, top with cheeeeze + oregano.

2011-03-25_18_21_56

Cheese makes everything betta’! Bake until the cheese is bubbly and crispy.

This is where you’ll start drooling.

And also where you regret putting your pizza under the broiler because it got a little too crispy.

2011-03-25_18_38_44

Mmmmmmmmmmmm!! I die for crispy, bubbly mozzarella cheese.

2011-03-25_18_38_54

I gobbled this up in seconds!

It’s more of an Italian twist on the traditional French bread pizza but that’s how I roll (hehe, roll, get it? ;))! It was so so so good.

2011-03-25_18_38_19

Good thing we have a whole 6 pack of french bread rolls in the bread basket ;).

You could do all sorts of variations:

  • White pizza: ricotta cheese + mozzarella + garlic + oregano
  • Classic french bread pizza: marinara sauce + shredded white cheddar cheese
  • Greek pizza: ricotta cheese + feta cheese + olive spread + caramelized red onions
  • Sautéed sweet onion pizza: ricotta cheese + sautéed sweet onions + garlic
  • Veggie pizza: marinara sauce + veggies (tomatoes, roasted red peppers, basil, onions, mushrooms, zucchini, etc)
  • Pesto pizza: pesto sauce + ricotta cheese + mozzarella cheese + oregano + tomato slices

The possibilities are endless and these are totally customizable!

How fun would it be to do a pizza ‘bar’ with all sorts of toppings and your family or friends can create their own personalized french bread pizzas!

2011-03-25_18_38_28

Make. These. Now.

Lately, I have been trying to encourage Summer to start appearing as much as possible. Bring on the HEAT!

Like when I hung this tropical scented bright orange flip flop in my car.

2011-03-27_12_34_52

It was too cute not to buy :).

Yesterday it was so hard to drag my butt to the gym. I was delaying my workout all day and the couch seemed to be way more comfortable than the elliptical. However, I went and got my tooshie into the gym. And I’m so glad I did!

I had an awesome workout:

  • 45 minutes elliptical, resistance 5, incline 5, last 5 minutes peddled backwards
  • 470 calories burned
  • 4 miles covered
  • goin’ hard the whole time. booooyaa

I brought a magazine with me to try and make the time go by faster and it did! I was 30 minutes into my workout and wanted to finish my magazine so I kept at it for another 15. Gotta love Cosmo ;).

I would highly recommend bringing a magazine or book to the gym when you are not feeling your cardio workout for the day. Times flyyyys by.

Can anyone take a guess at what I made for dinner last night!?

2011-03-27_18_36_33

I made a sweet potato oatmeal breakfast casserole!

Sadly, it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be :(.

2011-03-27_19_31_05

This was my first time eating sweet potatoes with oatmeal and the texture of the potatoes was not appealing to me at all. I still gobbled up the entire bowl though ;).

2011-03-27_19_31_16

I have been craving oatmeal in a mad way lately so I just had to try this out for dinner.

I’m off to configure a strategy plan to make these, eat pumpkin pie oatmeal for dinner (because oatmeal should be eaten for every meal), and find a movie to watch!

Later gators!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers