Jewel Nye the Science Girl + A Teaser

Happy Hump Day!!

Have you seen the new addition to my blog? I added a few widgets of my absolute favorite recipes! Go on over and check out those delicious recipes :).

By the way, look what I woke up to this morning…

2011-03-23_06_50_01

Is this some kind of sick joke? I thought it was Spring!

I’d like to refer to myself as Jewel Nye the Science Girl because I have been little Ms. Experimenter in the kitchen lately trying out lots of new things!

First off, I’d like you all to know that I have been craving oats for breakfast again!

Not just any oats…

2011-03-22_21_40_13

Oats of the strawberry shortcake variety!

Mmmmmmmmm. My absolute FAVORITE VOO combination.

I also have been quite excited about the most delicious, healthy chocolate chip cookie dough balls I have ever made.

20110320_16_46_46_thumb1 

The other day I opened my fridge in hopes of finding a juicy, ripe avocado to make a spin off of my wheat berries with veggies and avocado pesto sauce. Instead, I found no avocado :(.

I went to the store and picked some up but they were hard as rocks!!! Ugh! I hate when that happens. So, instead of trying to pry the living daylights out of this avocado, I made a variation to my beloved dish.

I chose to use Ezekiel sprouted whole grain spaghetti pasta…

2011-03-21_17_18_10

This pasta is so hearty and nutritious!

Here’s some of the benefits of Ezekiel pasta:

  • high in fiber
  • complete protein
  • 100% organic
  • 100% whole grain
  • low glycemic

Thumbs up!

This pasta also only takes 4 minutes to cook! Talk about a quick and easy meal.

Then, since I didn’t have an avocado I processed the following ingredients in my food processor:

  • pesto
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • handful of spinach

Then, I quickly microwaved a 1/2 head of broccoli to steam it (this is so super easy and such a quick way to steam broccoli in seconds!).

After my pasta was done cooking, I tossed the steaming hot pasta with the pesto sauce + broccoli + 1 tbsp cream cheese. This added the extra creamy factor that otherwise the avocado would’ve done!

2011-03-21_17_15_17

Mmmmmm. This literally took 5 minutes! There should never be an excuse for fast food again.

2011-03-21_17_14_28

Talk about some green power.

To add to my cream cheese obsession, lunch today was a yummy sammich that consisted of:

  • thinly sliced cucumber
  • thinly sliced red + yellow pepper
  • smear of cream cheese
  • shake of oregano, salt + pepper

Serve on Ezekiel sesame bread of course ;)!

2011-03-23_11_09_04

Rations were short in the fridge and I just wanted a quick throw together meal and this fit the tab! Really yummy and light + refreshing.

I enjoyed it in my car while on break!

Since y’all know my sweet tooth is as obnoxious as a 2 year old, I decided one night to make a single serving banana nut muffin. I wasn’t in the mood to bake at all and wanted a quick, throw-it-together, get in my belly now kind of dessert.

I stumbled upon Katie’s recipe for banana bread for one and decided it was the ‘chosen one’.

2011-03-21_18_58_30

I topped it all off with some coconut-banana butter.

2011-03-21_18_58_49

Normally I’m not one to complain about how sweet something is, but this coconut-banana butter ‘icing’ was SA-WEEEEET. Maybe because I globbed a whole bunch of it on top of my banana bread but still, even I had to push some off to the side.

Not to mention my bread was super mushy because I didn’t let it cook all the way through ;). I’m so impatient when it comes to desserts! I’m like Veruca from Willy Wonka, “I want it NOW.”

2011-03-21_18_58_40

 

Teaser:

Yesterday I went to Home Depot to get some things… some things that are going to turn into juicy delicious “things”.

I also got something that is going to help out some little friends of mine that are hanging out in my backyard ;).

Stay tuned tomorrow for my fun announcement and series I will be hosting on the blog!

I love being a tease :lol:.

Enjoy your evening!

One Comment to “Jewel Nye the Science Girl + A Teaser”

  1. Oh. My. Goodness. All the food sounds soo good. I am for sure trying the strawberry shortcake oatmeal and those cookie doughballs!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

