Archive for March 21st, 2011

March 21, 2011

Barefoot Running and Kitchen Tunes

Hi hi hi!

I hope you all enjoyed your weekend relaxing like Chippy did.

2011-03-20_14_03_21

Hehehe. He looks so cute and squishy here!

As written in yesterday’s post, I went for a 1 mile run outside in my Vibram’s. Immediately following my run, I had an insane coughing attack, or as my mom thinks, an asthma attack. AHH!

Ok, first off, the run.

I put on my awesome pink Vibram’s, pink Spibelt, and Garmin Forerunner 305 and hit ze pavement.

Pink rules.

2011-03-20_13_08_08

I was zoomin’ and groovin’ on my run. I read that when you first start running in your Vibram’s you should only run 0.50 – 1.00 mile max. I thought I could push myself a little further than 0.50 miles so I decided to run a mile. Some notes:

  • Way faster pace than when running in my sneakers. Maybe because the Vibram’s are lighter and don’t weigh me down like my sneakers?
  • NO pain in my hamstring like when I wear shoes. I was SHOCKED. I thought for sure I was going to feel some pain in my hamstring, since it’s been acting up, but no, no pain at all.
  • Surprised with the amount of support I do get from the Vibram’s. It’s not nearly as much support as a shoe would give you, but it does give enough support to feel comfortable when running.
  • Better running posture. I’ll have to analyze this over time but I do think I was running more straight up and less hunched over than when I run in my shoes.
  • Immediate calf pain after the run. This is expected though since I read you get shin/calf pain once starting out running in Vibram’s. I love soreness though ;). (note: today my calves are sore but not so much that I can’t walk, the tops of my feet also feel a bit stiff, nothing too serious though!)

Stats:

2011-03-20_13_45_10

I ran a 4 min/half mile pace but then I started to get congested in my throat and couldn’t breath so I had to slow down a bit before I could get back to my normal pace. I was super duper surprised at how fast this mile was though!!! All things considered (sick and first run in my Vibram’s) this was a speedy run! I don’t think I’ve ever ran this fast in my regular running shoes. Crazy, no? I’ll have to go for a mile run in my sneakers later on in the week to compare times!

After my run I got home and had a coughing attack for a good solid 15 minutes. I am definitely not ever running again when I have a coughing cold. I think the slightly cold weather + my cold made for a killer coughing attack. Plus, I couldn’t really breath out of my nose when running so I had to breath through my mouth. I even thought for a second I might need an inhaler. I felt nauseous and like my airway could close up.

NOT GOOD.

My mom was saying how, if I did have an asthma attack, that we don’t even have any inhalers in the house. Eeek! We’re going to have to get one just in case of emergencies. I don’t have asthma but it can’t hurt to have these sort of things laying around!

On a happier note, my mom and I are looking to run a 10k sometime soon, probably late April.

Anyone know of any good races in NJ?

After surviving my little incident, I went in the kitchen to experiment with making chocolate chip cookie dough balls. I’ve been wanting to make my own version for awhile now and wanted to make sure it was packed with healthy ingredients.

I hit the jackpot on this one ;).

I’ll be posting the recipe for these yummy chocolate chip cookie dough balls soon so keep your eyes peeled!

2011-03-20_16_46_46

MmmMMmMMmmMMM. Lip smackin’ good.

Since I spend most of my time in the kitchen experimenting/baking/cooking I thought I’d post my go-to kitchen tunes. I can’t stand to bake in a quiet kitchen so I always have some positive, calm, relaxing music pumpin’ to keep me energized and maintain a little pep in my step!

PS – Don’t laugh at my choice of music ;).

Untitled

Lots and lots of Rod Stewart. I love him… and 70’s music. I’m a sucker for all 70’s music. Maybe I’m a hippie? :D

My girl Gaga and Dave Matthews Band help carry me through long baking times while I’m staring at my cookies in the oven to bake. Does anyone else think that staring at your cookies to bake will make them bake faster? I try to use Jedi mind tricks but no such luck yet. I’ll let you know when I achieve these baking forces I speak of.

Ok, for the record, “No Rain” by Blind Melon is probably one of my all time favorite songs. I played it non-stop on the plane ride to and from Missouri. I had it on repeat for a solid 2 hours and didn’t get sick of it once. I think it’s the only song in the world I can overplay and still love.

Yesterday we dropped my brother off at college since he had Spring break last week.

We hit up my all time favorite smoothie spot – Re-juice-a-Nation! I will be doing a review of this awesome place for you all so look out for that on the blog. If you’re ever in Hoboken, NJ, check out Re-juice-a-Nation. You won’t regret it.

2011-03-20_15_10_17

I got a fruit smoothie with strawberries + raspberries + bananas + freshly squeezed OJ & a flu-fighter + multivitamin boost. I felt energized and sick-free after drinking this!

2011-03-20_15_10_04

GULP.

Like my yellow nail color!? I chose yellow when getting my nails done the other day since it’s so Spring-y and cheerful. :)

My Spring break is now over (boooo) so it looks like it’s back to school for me.

I’m looking even more forward to my next break: SUMMER.

Happy Monday!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers