Archive for March 20th, 2011

March 20, 2011

Spring Has Got Me Sprung

HI!

Happy first day of Spring! YAY.

jhjk

Tulips are blooming! (I *think* those are tulips LOL)

How was your weekend?! Even though I spent mine sick, getting a solid 12 hours of sleep (11pm – 11am) last night made me feel much much better. I woke up feeling super energized. I don’t like waking up past 9am, because I feel like the day is almost over, but today is an exception because my body needed it! I can’t stress enough how rest is just as important as getting in hardcore, sweaty workouts or in fighting off colds.

Last night I was actually craving oatmeal for breakfast (yes, I crave breakfast at 10pm…)!

I wanted cold oats though since they feel better on my throat. I was babysitting my younger sister so I asked her to help me.

Being the awesome older sister that I am, I nervously allowed her to partake in making my pumpkin pie vegan overnight oats.

It was all fun and games until I opened up the can of pumpkin and asked her to put some in my oats. She nearly gagged, LOL! She was literally saying “ewwww, that’s so gross!!!” and “why are you eating stuff that looks like baby food?!!?” and “how would you ever eat that it smells disgussssssting.”

I had to convince her that it totally tastes like pumpkin pie, and I am not a crazy, oatmeal loving sister. Ok, maybe a little crazy.

She’s so cute though and always follows me around when I take pictures of my food asking, “are you going to take a picture of that?” to everything I put in my mouth. She even reads my blog every once and a while (she’s 11!). All her friends even ask me if “I’m going to put that on the blog”.

I have a fan club over here! ;)

I decided to take my breakfast outside in the sunshine.

2011-03-20_11_25_47

Mmmmm.

2011-03-20_11_26_01

Green grass! FINAAALLLLY! I don’t like seeing brown, dry grass.

2011-03-20_11_26_14

The messier the bowl, the yummier the oats. Just a rule of thumb I live by ;).

Let it also be known that I finished up all the cookie dough balls that I made from Angela. *tear* I’m planning on making my own version of raw cookie dough soon though (maybe today!) so look out for that! I’m pretty obsessed.

As if TJ’s dried mango slices weren’t good enough, I decided to take them to a whole ‘nother level.

CHOCOLATE DIPPED MANGO SLICES ANYONE?!

  • ~1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
  • mango slices
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil

Directions: Microwave chocolate chips + coconut oil in the microwave for 35 seconds, stir, then microwave for another 45 seconds stirring half way through so they don’t burn. Take out & dip mango slices. Freeze for 30 minutes (I froze mine overnight but I think 30 minutes is plenty) and enjoy!

2011-03-20_12_41_08

Yeah, you know I’m PMS-ing when I dip my food in chocolate.

2011-03-20_12_40_56

Yuuuuuuuuuuum. Two of my favorite foods: chocolate + mango slices. The mango slices even stayed super juicy after being in the freezer overnight! I was pleasantly surprised with this experiment because I thought it was going to be a flop.

mail

The chocolate is very subtle too. Not too heavy, the perfect amount. The coconut oil thins it out a bit so it doesn’t taste overly sweet. Love. Love. Love.

(note: lots of orange happenin’ in this post! anyone else notice that?)

Fun announcement: I’m going to be starting a garden! I’m ordering strawberry seeds + a few flowers from my sisters fundraiser so let’s see if I have a green thumb ;). I’m also thinking about getting a bird feeder. Anyone have one?

The thought of warmer weather makes me so happy! Spring has definitely got me sprung.

What’s gotten you sprung lately?

Check out what I’ll be hitting the pavement in today…

2011-03-20_13_08_08

Enjoy your Sunday!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers