Archive for March 9th, 2011

March 9, 2011

Quick & Easy Immunity Booster Stir Fry + Banana Boats

Happy hump day!

My Spring Break officially starts… NOW! Boooooooooooya!

I’m so excited but even more excited to see Sean on Friday :D.

Before I move on, I just can’t get over how good this morning’s breakfast was.

d

I made my strawberry shortcake vegan overnight oats + added some crushed walnuts.

Ohhhhhhh. My. Taste buds. I think this gets better every time I eat it. I’m contemplating my second bowl for dinner ;).

Let me rewind a bit…

Last night after getting home from an intense sweat session at spin I was starving.

Naturally, I’d grab for anything in the fridge but today, most importantly, I needed some protein. As a vegetarian, I put a lot of emphasis on eating a ton of wholesome protein sources like beans and certain grains such as quinoa or lentils. Since chickpeas are so easy to use in any recipe I decided to mix up an immunity booster stir fry.

Mmmmmmm. It was soooo good and packs a hefty nutritious punch.

Protein from the chickpeas, carbs from the potato, and vitamins from the red pepper, pasta sauce (tomatoes), and zucchini. You’ve got all your basic food groups covered in this stir fry and it can be made in 15 minutes flat! Simple = easier = better. And I’m all about simple.

Quick & Easy Immunity Booster Stir Fry

Quick and easy, this stir fry will have your taste buds jumping for joy and your immunity system will be thanking you with each bite. Serves 2 (or 1 hungry girl who just sweat her butt off at the gym)

  • ~ 1/2 cup chickpeas,drained and rinsed
  • 1 organic green zucchini
  • 1 organic red pepper
  • 1 small rustic potato
  • ~ 1/2 cup no salt added pasta sauce
  • shake of oregano
  • shake of nutritional yeast to garnish

Directions: Spray a sauté pan (preferably nonstick) with nonstick spray. Add in the thinly sliced zucchini, red pepper, and potato (make sure they’re cut into bite sized pieces for a faster cooking time). Let sauté on medium heat for about 10 minutes or until  tender. After about 10 minutes, add in the pasta sauce and oregano. Let cook for another 3-5 minutes or until warmed through. Meanwhile, drain and rinse your chickpeas. Plate the chickpeas and top with stir fry mixture. Sprinkle with nutritional yeast and serve!

a

Vibrant and full of flavor, just how I like my food!

This stir fry could get any easier either. All you do is chop everything and throw it in a pan and BAM, it’s done! There should never be an excuse to get takeout anymore.

b

I love sprinkling my food with “nooch” now. It has tons of health benefits.

nooch

(source)

e

Hi chickies! So cute :).

I inhaled this…

c

Not a smidgen left behind :mrgreen:.

Fast forward a bit…

After getting home today from school I thought I’d celebrate the start to my Spring Break!

Did I choose a margarita? A shot of vodka? Maybe some crispy, greasy french fries?

Nope. I chose to make banana boats!

Banana Boats

h

A simple snack that will keep you feeling full for hours.

  • 1 medium ripe banana
  • 1 tbsp chocolate peanut butter (such as PB&Co.’s Dark Chocolate Dreams)
  • ~ 1 tbsp organic grape jelly
  • 1 tsp dark chocolate covered cacao nibs
  • 1 tsp chia seeds

Directions: Peel and slice the banana in half and plate. Meanwhile, microwave the chocolate peanut butter for about 40 seconds, being careful not to burn it. Drizzle the banana with the melted chocolate peanut butter, globs of grape jelly, chia seeds and cacao nibs. Serve!

This reminded me of a healthy banana split! The chocolate peanut butter hardens and becomes like a thick chocolate coating mmmmm.

f

Is this for real?

It feels so naughty to be eating something that tastes so indulgent but is actually healthy.

I called these banana boats ‘cause that’s what they are! The banana is the “boat” and the chocolate, jelly, cacao nibs, and chia seeds are the add-ons. I’m going to call the chia seeds “the crew” ;).

I have way to much fun with my food.

g

The contrast from the cold jelly and the warm chocolate peanut butter is out of this world.

Can you imagine vegan overnight oats drizzled over this?! OMG.

In other news, I think my Vibram’s are coming in the mail today!!!! I’ve been checking the UPS tracking system like a mad woman (like I always do with all my purchases). I think that’s the best invention ever – a tracking system. It’s so handy and fun to see where in the world my purchases are being held captive ;).

UPDATE: THEY HAVE ARRIVED!!!!!!!!!!!

2011-03-09_16_12_44

(I’m going to get back to running around the house now ;)).

I’m off to go get a lot of things done before I leave on Friday.

Have a fabulous evening!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers