Archive for March 5th, 2011

March 5, 2011

Chocolate Pumpkin Vegan Overnight Oats

You know how I said yesterday that getting mango slices at Trader Joe’s was top priority? Well, I wasn’t kidding. Actually, it was the only thing I managed to cross off my to-do list (except for spin). HAHA. Oh jeeze. I’m embarrassed to let you all know where my true priorities lie: in food.

I’m also starting a new movement called, “No Pumpkin Left Behind” where I’ll continue to eat every pumpkin on the face of the Earth.

…kidding ;).

…maybe.

I’m sure by now you are all aware of my pumpkin obsession…in oats that is.

I really don’t like the taste of pumpkin without any spices or sweeteners added (maple syrup). I guess you could say I only like my pumpkin when it’s “glorified”. There’s a few foods in my life that I only eat when they’re glorified like certain veggies and beans. Which is why I could never live a raw lifestyle :D. And besides, I love my pasta. And cuppy cakes. Oh, and my pumpkin (glorified that is).

To glorify my pumpkin this morning I made something any PMS-crazy-chocolate-craving girl would do. Chocolate pumpkin overnight oats, duh! It only makes sense.

Here’s the math I did:

  • chocolate + pumpkin = amazing

Simple right?

That’s my kind of math.

Chocolate Pumpkin Vegan Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1.5 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • toppings (optional): melted chocolate peanut butter, unsweetened coconut, maple syrup, walnuts.

Directions: Mix together the oats, chia seeds, cocoa powder, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice. Add in the almond milk and pumpkin and whisk together until  everything is combined. Place in the fridge for at least 2 hours or overnight. In the morning, top with melted chocolate peanut butter, unsweetened coconut, maple syrup, or walnuts.

3

I added unsweetened coconut, maple syrup, and walnuts to mine but if you want maximum chocolate-y yummy-ness (and staying full power) add the melted chocolate peanut butter. All you do is take a tablespoon of chocolate peanut butter and melt it in the microwave for 35 seconds. It turns into a fudge-y chocolate sauce that is fabulous drizzled over oats, bananas, or banana soft serve!

4

These oats aren’t overly sweet but every spice and amount is right on and works so well together. D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S. Such a great alternative to just plain pumpkin oats!

5

You know you made a good batch of overnight oats when the spoon sticks straight up in your bowl without any effort.

2

I opened up a huge can of pumpkin yesterday so expect an excess of pumpkin pictures and recipes (oops ;)). I just torture you guys with my pumpkin obsession don’t I?!

I don’t even know why I’m so infatuated with pumpkin now of all times. It’s not even Fall!

Creamy, chocolate-y, pumpkin-y, chia seed-y… a PMSing chocolate pumpkin lovers dream.

I’m also obsessed with adding a ‘y’ to every word I write. Like: chocolate-y, pumpkin-y, almond-y, purple-y… you get the point ;).

No pumpkin was left behind.

1

Today is my brother’s 21st birthday!

Happy Birthday, Bobby!!!!!!!!!!!!

47521_1564006908514_1485610948_1451770_3087354_n

(Bobby is in the red and Sean is in the blue)

I’m sure he’d die knowing that I featured him on my blog. He’s a real character.

He makes fun of me all the time for having a blog ahaha. Deal with it bro’!

We’re staying over at Atlantic City today for his birthday! Boooooooooooya. I’m going to hit the gambling jackpot and then take you all to Fiji with me. Sound good? One small, miniscule, tiny problem, I’m not 21 so who of you is going to gamble for me?!

No takers? Looks like I’m going to have to be a sneaky ninja and illegally gamble.

Kidding.

…maybe ;).

I’ll see you tomorrow for a re-cap of today’s festivities!!!

Enjoy your weekend :D.

P.S.: Exactly one week until I leave for Missouri to spend time with Sean on his 21st birthday! Shesh, I’m such a party animal. It’s that Tigerblood in me. Right, Charlie?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers