Archive for March 4th, 2011

March 4, 2011

Apple Streusel Oat Squares + Chickpea Nuggets

This morning I woke up before the birds were up.

I looked like this all day in the kitchen as a result:

Snapshot_20110304_16

I love my new apron! :D

I have no clue why, but I keep waking up early! Today 6:00 a.m., yesterday 6:40 a.m., the other day 7:00 a.m. I see a trend here… you better bet I will not (you hear that, body!?) be waking up before 6:00 a.m. (when I don’t have class). That’s law here in Jersey. Or in my Jersey aka LaLa Land. ;)

I have a lot of free time on my hands when I don’t have class so I usually cook/bake up a storm and have my kitchen looks like a bomb went off in it as a result. I also spend a looooooot of time working on my blog. Little fix-ups here and there and ways to change things around. Sometimes three hours will fly by and I don’t even know it! But today, my plan is to:

  1. Run outside if my hamstring feels better. I think I may have injured it somehow? It’s sore and I’ve been running weird because of it but I’m itching to get out in the sun!
  2. Go to Trader Joe’s and get more mango slices hehehe. THIS IS TOP PRIORITY PEOPLE. Well, actually, my run is, but this comes in first for food priorities. :lol:
  3. Other random things like: hit up the gym for a spin class with a friend, celebrate my brothers birthday, pack for tomorrow (We’re going to Atlantic City for my brothers 21st birthday!!!), go to the mall and blow all my money away, check out books at Barnes and Nobles. I won’t get all these things accomplished but I’m aiming to accomplish most of them!

Last nights dinner was gooooooooooooooood!

I made Angela’s quick and easy vegan alfredo.

Told ya I wasn’t kidding when I said I was obsessed with her recipes.

m

I also added a pound of broccoli. I kid you not.

This morning I decided it was also time I made (who would’ve guessed) Angela’s buttery apple streusel oat squares.

Mmmmm. These ended up being like little portable apple pies! Perfect for hikes, breezy Fall walks, or bonfires on the beach…

i

You don’t even know how much will power it took to wait 30 minutes to cut these up. I was constantly smelling and taking little nibbles off the top of the oat squares.

After 30 minutes I cut them up and ate them all. This is like “Gone In 30 Seconds: Kitchen Edition”.

Just kidding, but I did eat one ;).

h

Happy happy joy joy, happy happy joy joy x40.

j

I put some in the freezer so I don’t eat them all but I do plan on giving them to friends, too!

I also tried having a grapefruit as a snack cut in half and sprinkled with raw sugar buuuut…

a

…the apple oat squares won :D. These grapefruits are really juicy and sweet too with a tart after taste. I definitely want to do something with them. Maybe a citrus salad with fresh Florida oranges mixed in?

Then I made my lunch. At 9:45 a.m. You can never be too prepared! I mean, what if a wicked tornado blew through my town and I had nothing to eat? Exactly.

Chickpea Nuggets

Makes 14-16 chickpea nuggets. (Adapted from Happy Herbivore’s Crispy Chickenless Nuggets)

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened original almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice
  • 15 ounces chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flaxseed + 3 tbsp warm water)
  • 2 slices Ezekiel whole grain sprouted bread
  • 1 1/2 tbsp dijon mustard (see note)*
  • 1 1/2 tbsp agave*
  • shake of garlic powder
  • shake of thyme
  • 1/2 tsp old bay seasoning

(Note: These had a very strong mustard-y taste so next time I would definitely decrease the dijon to 1/2 tbsp. I also would try omitting the agave as I didn’t find it important and I couldn’t taste it or substituting in maple syrup. I would also try adding in different spices like oregano, red pepper flakes, paprika and add in a minced garlic clove to have a strong garlic flavor [because garlic makes everything better].)

Directions: Pre heat oven to 350*. Mix together the ground flaxseed and warm water and set aside. Squeeze lemon juice into milk and whisk until bubbles appear then set aside. In a food processor, process the chickpeas until crumbly. Be careful though, you don’t want a hummus-y paste. You could also do this with a fork but I found it was more difficult and time consuming. Take the chickpea mixture and place in a small bowl. Meanwhile, toast your two slices of Ezekiel bread. Once toasted, process the two slices of bread in a food processor until they have the texture of bread crumbs. Set aside. Add the flax egg, dijon, agave, garlic powder, thyme, and old bay seasoning to the chickpeas and mix until combined. Add in half the bread crumb mixture and mix. Form chickpea mixture into balls and “dunk” into milk mixture then roll in the other half of the bread crumbs. I didn’t think the almond milk step was too essential to the whole process but it did help the breadcrumbs stick slightly better to the chickpea balls. Next time, I may try skipping this step. Slightly press down on the chickpea balls (to form nuggets) and place on a nonstick baking sheet (I sprayed mine with a little oil). Bake for 10 minutes and then flip nuggets over and bake for another 15 minutes. Serve with ketchup, organic BBQ sauce, etc.

These were super easy to prepare and turned out more like falafel balls, I think, than nuggets.

f

These had major crispy action! They weren’t as sturdy as a “normal” chicken nugget but were still dip-able in ketchup! I’ll be messing around with this recipe in the future to see if I can make other flavors and spices more prominent. Let me know if you try these!

d

I also didn’t have a bunch of the ingredients the recipe called for so I had to improvise. I was expecting a complete and total failure with these nuggets but they actually turned out good.

c

I’m off to go cross some things off my to-do list!

Seeee-yaaaa.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers