Archive for March 1st, 2011

March 1, 2011

Papple Pie Oatmeal

Hey everyone! Happy March! It’s almost Spring…we’ve made it another year through the icky, cold Winter.

Notice anything different? I added a header to my blog! It’s subject to change but let me know what you think! I made a ton of headers and this is the one I ended up choosing. I’d love your feedback on the color/font so please share your input in the comments section :).

h

Breakfast this morning was of epic proportions. Last night I was craving apple pie in a mad way, so naturally I was going to eat some for breakfast. But, since apple pie isn’t the most nutritious breakfast, I was set on making apple pie oatmeal. However, I didn’t have any applesauce that the recipe I was going to use called for. So what does a crazy apple pie craving girl do? Make papple pie oatmeal. DUH!

Papple pie oatmeal is a hybrid between pumpkin pie oatmeal and apple pie oatmeal. I know what you’re thinking, “apples and pumpkin? Uhm, ew this girl is crazy!” But wait! I was weary of adding pumpkin to my oatmeal too, that is, until I tried it. HOLY YUM! This oatmeal is a cross between my beloved pumpkin pie oatmeal and my obsession with apple pie. The reason I ended up adding pumpkin was to act as a thickener to the oatmeal since I didn’t have applesauce.

I especially love this oatmeal because you get a serving of your fruits and veggies first thing in the morning! It also has lots of healthy carbs, fats, and protein! This is a well-rounded bowl of oatmeal yet it still tastes incredibly decadent.

Why didn’t I think of this sooner?

Papple Pie Oatmeal

A cross between pumpkin pie and apple pie, this hot bowl of oatmeal will warm you up on the coldest of Winter days and have your taste buds doing back flips.

(adapted from Angela)

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1-1.25 cups almond milk
  • 1.5 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 organic granny smith apple
  • 2.5 tbsp pure pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp pure maple syrup + 1 tbsp reserved
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • toppings: 1/2 tbsp crushed walnuts, drizzle of almond milk, pure maple syrup, cinnamon

Directions: Peel and chop the granny smith apple into bite sized pieces (I left my larger because I like nice big chunks of apple). In a saucepan over medium heat, add in the oats, almond milk, chia seeds, chopped granny smith apple, pumpkin, spices, and 1/2 tbsp maple syrup and cook until thickened. Once thick (about 10 min), add in the vanilla extract. After about a minute, take the oatmeal off the heat and garnish with walnuts, cinnamon, cinnamon, and pure maple syrup.

(Notes: I reduced the addition of maple syrup in the oatmeal when cooking to 1/2 tbsp. I like to add my maple syrup after the oatmeal is done cooking as a topping because I feel you can taste it better. I also added 1.5 tbsp chia seeds because I love them but if you’re not a fan and you want to use less then you may have to reduce the amount of almond milk. You can probably sub in ground flax seed for the chia seeds but, again, it would alter the almond milk ratio so be aware of that! I also added more cinnamon but that’s a given ;).)

 

e

Mmmmm. I love the name I gave this oatmeal too! Papple is so fun to say. Papple, papple, papple. :lol:

g

Walnuts are floatin’ in the maple syrup and almond milk river!

b

I was shocked at how good this turned out. I was nervous when I added in the pumpkin but each bite was like a combo between pumpkin pie and apple pie oatmeal. So. Good.

All the flavors and spices come together and everything just works.

a

Chunky apple, cinnamon, chia seeds, pumpkin. Want a bite? Too bad, it’s all mine ;).

Later on tonight I’ll be writing my review of blogging what I ate for a whole week. I was surprised at how my eating habits changed but more on that later.

Hope you’re having an amazing Tuesday!

I’ll be back!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers