Archive for February 26th, 2011

February 26, 2011

Choco ‘Naner Protein Vegan Overnight Oats

Hi everyone! How’s your weekend going so far?!

If you haven’t already noticed, I added a recent page to my blog called “workouts” where I’ll be posting my daily workouts :D. So go on over and check out how I’ve been gettin’ ma sweat on!

Before I get to my eats, I was so energetic today I decided to make a video embracing my inner Gaga. I may regret this. ;)

Breakfast 7:15 a.m.

After a long night out I wanted simple, pure, honest food for breakfast. And something with protein and chocolate of course ;).

So I decided to whip up something new…

Choco ‘Naner Protein Vegan Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill organic)
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop Amazing Grass Amazing Meal Chocolate Infusion (5 grams protein)
  • 1 tbsp fresh ground flaxseed (or chia seeds)
  • splash vanilla extract
  • 1 medium banana
  • optional toppings: drizzle of pure maple syrup, sprinkle of cinnamon

Directions: combine oats, ground flaxseed, and protein powder and whisk. Add in the almond milk and vanilla extract and whisk until there is no more lumps. Place in the fridge overnight or for 2 hours. In the morning, top with chopped banana, maple syrup, and cinnamon if desired.

These were so good and I felt like I was truly eating the energy of the Earth (one of the mottos I try to live by).

Mmmm, the banana was a last-minute decision but I’m glad I added it. It was a nice sweet ripe one so I probably could’ve done without the maple syrup but it’s up to you how sweet you like your oats!

I love Amazing Grass protein powders especially the Amazing Meal Chocolate Infusion. They’re chocolate-y and sweet without being overpowering. Plus, they’re vegan!

Love, love, love.

At 8:30 a.m. I hit up the gym for some strength (abs) and a 45 minute spin class. I felt nice and refreshed since I had a great sweaty workout :). Three cheers for endorphins!

Snack 10:30 a.m.

As soon as I got in my car I noshed on the apricots I brought to hold me over until I got home to get some protein in me. Dried apricots are seriously like candy…but healthy “candy” ;).

The bag ain’t lyin’ when it says “Ultimate Apricots”. They are beyond ultimate. They’re the megatron of apricots.

Snack #2 11:15 a.m.

For some protein to repair my buff muscles I chopped up 3 strawberries and put them in my pineapple flavored Chobani. This is the bessssst flavor they have. Lemon comes in close at second ;). One 6oz cup of Chobani only has 160 calories and 13g protein. Boooooooyah!

I also popped in a almond butter chew before hittin’ up the mall for some shoppin’!

All mixed up…

A big ‘ol messy Chobani cup. Nom.

We went to the mall to look for prom dresses for my sister. We went to a bunch of stores but none of them had anything until we went into Cache…

I, of course, picked out the winning dress ;).

Gorrrrrrgeous. It’s even prettier in person! My sister also has legs for days and mine as well be a model.

Then we went to Subway for lunch. Fivvve dollla foooot loooongg.

Lunch 1:30 p.m.

I only got a 6 inch but loaded my wheat bread with iceberg lettuce, spinach, tomatoes, cucumbers, green bell peppers, onions, jalapenos, and probably other random veggies I’m forgetting. I also had a little bit of red wine vinaigrette put on it that I didn’t really care for. I’ll have to stick to my red wine vinegar & EVOO combo. I love red wine vinegar… I would probably drink it straight up. Yes, you read that right.

It was impossible to find a seat in the food court today, too! We were hovering people like hawks waitin’ for them to get up.

Afterwards, I wanted something sweet. So I got a small smoothie from a little place in the mall.

It was a combo of strawberries + pineapple + coconut milk + ice. Soooooooooooooo good.

I’m on a real strawberry/pineapple kick lately. Shesh, first in my yogurt and now my smoothie.

Yum! I guzzled it down.

It was also awkward placing the smoothie on the counter to take a picture of it while other people were waiting to order LOL. They probably thought I was crazy. Oh, the joys of being a food blogger…

Now I’m off to do homework (ew), relax, get dressed for dinner, and then go to dinner!

What are your plans for tonight? Relaxing with a movie? Going out with friends? Getting ice cream? I wanna know!

See you tomorrow for tonight’s dinner recap!

Have a great great evening!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers