Strawberry Shortcake Vegan Overnight Oats

After restocking my pantry and fridge it was time to get shakin’ ‘n bakin’ in the kitchen.

I opened my fridge and noticed a big box of strawberries I bought. I hadn’t a clue what to make but I knew I wanted oats for breakfast considering I’d been without them for an entire day! I also had Summer on my mind…you know, the beach, sand, the warm sun beaming on my skin, sandles. Oh, and the ice cream truck :D.

…and then it hit me like a ton of bricks (or like an ice cream truck), I’m so totally making strawberry shortcake oatmeal!

Does anyone remember those strawberry shortcake ice pops from Good Humor? I used to be addicted to those! They were so good but not nearly healthy enough for me to eat for breakfast. So I put a spin on one of my favorite childhood ice pops. The flavors are nearly identical. I was blown away considering I just threw a bunch of ingredients in the fridge, let it work it’s magic overnight, and hoped for the best in the morning when I unveiled my batch of VOO. This is what grazed my eyes…

Mmmmmmmm….

Strawberry Shortcake Vegan Overnight Oats

If you love strawberries and coconut, this oatmeal is for you. You’ll be blown away by how similar it tastes to a strawberry shortcake ice pop. Close your eyes and imagine you’re on a beach listening to the waves crash against the ocean shore…instant serenity. (Serves 1)

  • 1/3 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup Almond Breeze in original
  • 3-4 strawberries, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp ground flax-seed (or chia seeds)
  • toppings: 1/2 tbsp shredded unsweetened coconut, 1 tbsp pure maple syrup

 

In a bowl, mix the oats, cinnamon, and flax-seed until combined. Whisk in the almond breeze and then stir in the strawberries. Place in the fridge for 2 hours or overnight. In the morning, top with shredded coconut and pure maple syrup. Serve cold.

The toppings are what take this oatmeal over the top. The shredded unsweetened coconut is essential to getting the real strawberry shortcake flavor.

You can bet your bottom dollar I’ll be making these a lot! They’re light and I love the antioxidant punch the strawberries have to offer. No better way to start off your morning than with a serving of fruit!

You’ll feel like you’re committing a flavor-sin when eating these VOO. The ice cream man will be out of luck because this is better than his strawberry shortcake ice pops (ha ice cream man!). Don’t worry though, I won’t tell him ;).

I’d love to eat these as a healthy snack too during the Summer when that ice cream craving hits. I can’t wait to enjoy these on the porch at our beach house while over looking the ocean and seeing dolphins jump so effortlessly in the air…

That’s the view from our house… *cries*. I miss it! This is currently the horror scene I am experiencing…

*horror screams* AHHHH! What’s that snow doing there?!?!

I guess I’ll just have to settle for my strawberry shortcake oats for now until Summer time comes.

Ouuuuu yeaaaaa! The coconut acts like the crunchy exterior that the ice pops had! Make sure you buy sweet, red strawberries. You don’t want any bitter, white strawberries in your oatmeal now do you?! Me neither.

How many days ’till Summer? ;)

What was your favorite ice pop from the ice cream truck?

I love strawberry short cake ice pops, the powderpuff girls ice pops, and snow cones :D.

Julie

9 Responses to “Strawberry Shortcake Vegan Overnight Oats”

  1. My mouth literally watered while reading your post!! I love all the flavors above! I haven’t made overnight oats in a while but I am totally craving for it now! Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

  2. is it me or is there a JS error? anyways well done article

  3. Dang i thought your blog was killer, gave me a car load of information, i never knew, thanks blogger.

  4. You make blogging look like a walk in the park! I’ve been trying to blog daily but I just cant find writing material.. you’re an inspiration to me and i’m sure many others!

  5. Great blog! You should start many more. I love all the info thanks I will stay tuned :)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

