Recent Eats

Good afternoon everyone! How’s your Monday going!?

On Saturday I completed my longest run to date, six miles!! It was not an easy run by any means and I had to stop and walk about 5 times for 30 secs to recouperate and tell myself that I can do this and I am stronger than I think. I finished in 1 hour and 2 mins with a average pace of 10:22. I somehow managed to knock out mile four with a negative split of 9:45. I looked at my Garmin and I was like “whaaat?!” I was dragging near the end so to pull that off seriously shocked me.

However, with all good news comes bad news and sadly I think I may have pulled/hurt something in my groin area. It’s very sore and hurts when I walk at times. I’m taking a break from running until Thursday and if I feel good then I will go for a run. I don’t want to push it or injure myself anymore so lots of stretching and adequates amount of protein are in order. I also tried icing it but that didn’t seem to help. Anyone have any stretches/suggestions on what may help?

I also need to incorporate more yoga and strength training into my weekly workouts. I just get so bored sometimes lifting weights or doing down dogs :D.

I realize it is essential though so those are some of my new goals! One day of yoga and one day of strength training a week minimum.

I’m going to try and squeeze in some yoga later if my groin allows.

Annnyways, It’s supposed to snow here so I’m patiently anxiously awaiting the snow :D

I have been a bit behind on blogging because of school so I thought I’d do a post on some recent eats I’ve been enjoying over the past few days!

I’ve been enjoying overnight oats in the oatmeal raisin cookie variety, green monsters, Mary’s crackers & salsa, tons of veggies and fruits, and Gardein “chicken” tenders among other things!

Here’s a few pictures to get you salivating ;).

Almond butter and blackberry jam oatmeal with cinnamon and chia seeds. Check out that dollop of jam! Yummmm

However, with every delicious breakfast comes a breakfast fail

I ended up making whole wheat pancakes instead with pure maple syrup dizzled ontop and a healthy portion of walnuts for omegas!

Mary’s crackers with salsa and copious amounts of tea are being enjoyed as well as carrot, bell pepper, avacado, and cucumber with homemade dressing.

I have discovered a new love for these:

So. Good.! Always enjoyed with ketchup of course

I also made some fruit and nut energy bars and picked up some organic dried mango slices at the store!

And I had a delicious lunch today consisting of roasted potatos, Gardein tenders, and brussel sprouts! It was my first time cooking with brussel sprouts and I will definitely be buying more!

And fruit for dessert!

Fruit always seems to squash my sweet tooth.

I find if I eat lots of fruits and veggies during the day my sweet tooth is barely noticeable at night when I crave sweets.

 

What are some of your favorite recent eats?

Julie

One Comment to “Recent Eats”

  1. great eats!!i LOVE brussel sprouts- they are my fav.. esp roasted!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

