Archive for January 21st, 2011

January 21, 2011

A Sweaty Workout & A Frittata

This morning when I woke up we had gotten blanketed by snow :D!

I don’t feel like I’m catching a cold anymore so I guess my avid green monster intake really must be working!

This morning for breakfast, you guessed it, was a green monster. Duh…

Enjoyed in the snow outside!
…hehehe jk ;)
I’m really starting to love starting my day with green monsters. I do miss oatmeal but these give me a real energy boost!
I made sure to drink this one with a straw.
Then I hopped on our treadmill to workout!
Oh. my. gosh. This workout was freakin’ intense!!!
I did not stop sweating the entire time and could not catch my breath (in a good way).
I was browsing through Angela’s posts over at Oh She Glows and I found this workout she had did once. I was looking to switch things up so I braved the unknown workout waters and ended up busting out a killer workout!
Workout:
  • warm up – 2 min walking 4.0 mph incline 7.0
  • 15 min run 4.6 mph incline 7.0 (I often switched the incline down to 5.0 because I was dying!!! I also had to hold onto the treadmill a few times.)
  • 3 min walk 4.2 mph incline 7.0
  • Got off the treadmill and did a 1 min plank
  • 10 min run 4.6 mph incline 7.0
  • 1 min walk 4.2 mph incline 7.0
  • Got off treadmill and did a 1 min downward dog (ahhhh, felt so gooooood)
  • 5 min run 4.6 mph incline 7.0
  • 2 min walk 4.2 mph incline 7.0
  • 4 min run 4.6 mph incline 7.0
  • 1 min walk 4.0 mph incline 7.0
  • 3 min run 4.6 mph incline 7.0
  • 1 min walk 4.0 mph incline 7.0
  • 2 min run 4.6 mph incline 7.0
  • 1 min walk 4.0 mph incline 7.0
  • 1 min run 4.6 mph incline 7.0
  • cooldown – 5 min walk 3.0 mph incline 5.0
If you’re in the mood for a kickass workout, this would be it!
My total stats were:
  • 500 cals (!!!)
  • 4.0 miles
  • 57 min
I’ll definitely be doing this workout again when I need a bit more sweat action than usual! My groin feels a bit off though so I’m going to try and stretch as much as possible to avoid an injury. I don’t know what I did on the treadmill but it is not feeling like it normally does.
Post-workout I quickly snacked on a amazeball that I made from Fitnessista’s blog.
I’m going to try and adapt this recipe a bit more to my liking because I found the protein powder tasted a bit to strong for me. I used Amazing Grass Amazing Meal Chocolate Infusion.
Along side I had a cold glass of wataaaa (water)
I showered then came downstairs to stuff my face!! I was huuungry.
While waiting for my lunch to cook, I ate a big salad with italian dressing.
Then I cooked up a frittata!
The put-anything-you-want-in-it ten minute frittata:
I normally don’t crave eggs too often but when I do I always go to this recipe for making a frittata.
It’s simple, easy, and you can put in whatever you have in your fridge or whatever you like!
  • 2 eggs (1 whole egg and just the white from the other egg)
  • 3/4 cup frozen peas
  • 1/4 a roasted red pepper
  • 1/4 a sweet yellow onion
  • 1 garlic clove
  • teaspoon of fresh basil
  • shake of oregano and red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 triangle of laughing cow cheese in original swiss
Preheat oven to 375. Using an oven safe pan, saute up the onion in the olive oil until slightly translucent. Add in the garlic clove, roasted red pepper, peas, basil, oregano and red pepper flakes. Cook for about 3 min until warmed up. Meanwhile, mix the eggs in a bowl with a sprinkle of salt and pepper. Pour the eggs ontop of the veggie mix and move around until everything is covered and the eggs start to solidify. Transfer the frittata into the oven and cook for about 3 min. Take out and dollop cheese ontop. Cook for another minute or so, then remove and eat. Voila!
After taking out of the oven to add cheese
The finished product!
MMMMMMM cheese! Who doesn’t love cheese??!?!
I ended up smearing the cheese all over so I could get a little in each bite.
This is definitely my favorite version of a frittata I’ve ever made and will definitely be making it again.
It’s high in protein and great for a post-workout lunch.
As I’m writing this post I’m snacking on these bad boys…
Clementines are back in my life.
We’re reunited and it feeels soooo gooood (and tastes even better)!
I picked these clementines up today at Costco along with some Maranatha almond butter (yesss, this is also back in my life since I gobble it up so quickly), organic gala apples, and tabouli.
At Costco I also sampled a little square of a chocolate granola bar. How can anyone resist Costco samples? ;)

What are some of your favorite things to buy at the store that put a smile on your face?
I love buying pure maple syrup! I get so excited thinking about topping my oatmeal with it ahaaha.
I hope you all enjoy your weekend :)
Julie
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers