Archive for January 14th, 2011

January 14, 2011

Feelin’ Wavey

Do you ever have those days when you’re dying to get outside for a run but your body begs to differ? No? Well this was me today.
I vegged out on the couch for about an hour and knew I wanted to get some exercise in.
I blasted music, put on my workout clothes, and tried to fake it until I made it.

Eventually, I dragged my lazy butt energetic self outdoors. I wanted to do speedwork so I was aiming for about a 8 min/mi pace for .25 miles, slow jog (10 min/mi pace) for .5 miles & repeat until reaching 3 miles or about 30 mins.

The run was going great. I felt awesome, I was speedy, and I wasn’t too cold. However, at about .40 miles into my run I felt like I’d been hit by a ton of bricks. My body was just not willing to run. So I took that feeling and went with it. I ran/walked my way back home and decided to just call it a day. Sometimes you just have to listen to your body instead of ignoring it and running anyways. I ended up running a total of 1.25 miles in about 15 mins.

I knew I had made the right choice of cutting my run short because as soon as I walked into my house my shin hurt. Not to mention there was some ice still on the side walks. Risking an injury because I don’t want to feel guilty for not exercising today is just not worth it. In the grand scheme of things, missing one day off (actually, 3 days, because I’d been enjoying time with Sean) isn’t that big of a deal.
I’ve learned to listen to my body and realize that when it needs some time off, I’ll give it that time off that it needs. And when it’s ready again to run and sweat it’s booty off, then I’ll workout.

On days when I don’t workout I focus solely on nutrition and what I put into my body. Maybe I wont have that extra chocolate or too many sweets. I always focus on clean eating and getting lots of fruits and veggies in when I do and don’t run, but specifically when I don’t.
Life is all about balance, and I’m finally glad I’ve found mine.

On Wednesday Sean, my family and I went out to eat at one of our favorite Steakhouse’s. Ironic, because I’m a vegetarian. However, I still made it work. I ordered a spinach salad, asparagus, and a crab cake. I also had a few fries and an apple crisp ;). My sweet tooth always deserves the most attention so I save in other places in my dinner and splurge where I reaaally want to.

I know you’re probably thinking, “What a hypocrite!!! Eating crab cakes and calling yourself a vegetarian!!!!”
While I realize I’m not a perfect vegetarian I do try to make it work and make the best decisions given the situation I’m in. When out at places and no pasta is available (or I really just do not feel like eating another plate of pasta), I’ll order shrimp or crab.
I never eat seafood at home, only when I go out sometimes.
I chose to be a vegetarian because after years of never really liking meat, realizing my love for animals and the Earth, I wanted to make more conscious decisions.
I feel I am still doing my part on helping the environment and animals and slowly but surely I’m becoming a “better” vegetarian (whatever that may be).
“Slipping up” sometimes in resturants allows me to still be able to live my life and go out with family and friends. I will never deny myself an experience or good time out because there will be nothing for me to eat.
I always make it work.

Speaking of making things work… I decided to work magic on my hair and wave it for dinner.
I loooove love love waving my hair but it takes forever (45 min) and my hand starts to hurt after awhile.
I love looking a little bit more “exotic” and changing up my look ;).

So I thought I’d let you all in on how I achieve my “exotic” look.

To achieve this beachy wavey look I have a waving iron from Bed Head. I got this waver at a Harmon discount beauty store. It was about $20.
I also use hair clips that came with a curler set I recieved as a gift.
I’m sure any hair clips will do, but I’m afraid the only way to get serious waves is using a Bed Head waver. Braiding your hair may also work but it wont be as severe or long lasting (I’m assuming. Whenever I braid my hair with wet hair, let it dry, and take them out, my hair doesn’t have nearly as much volume as when I wave it and it doesn’t last as long. I slept in my waved hair and it still lasted until the next day!)
I also use hairspray, any brand will work.

Lets get wavin’!

First, heat up your waver and have your clips and hairspray ready at hand.

This is me pre-waved hair. Yes, my hair is naturally straight. I wish I had wavey hair at times (I’d probably get annoyed with it and wish I never wished that lol). But don’t all girls say that?? Girls with straight hair want curly hair and girls with curly hair want straight hair -sigh-. Must be the way of life…we always want what we don’t have.
Smile!
(That is my boyfriend sitting on the toilet to keep my company. It’s not what you’re thinking lol.) Section hair off into two sections and clip it all up ontop of your head. Make sure to comb your hair before hand so it’s smooth and ready to be waved.
Next, grab a piece of hair.
Starting at the top, grab your waver and hold down on hair for about 20 seconds
Continue to work your way down pressing & holding for 20 sec all the way down until you get to the bottom. Now do you see why it takes so long!? LOL. 
Spray each wave with a little hairpsray, you don’t need too much.

After completing the bottom section of hair unclip the top & wave that. I clipped back my waved hair & unwaved hair to make it easier for me to see what needs to be done.

Almost done!
One strand left :)
Finished product
Call me Juliaaaaa (said in a sexy accent) ;) 
And there you have it! Beautiful and exotic beachey wavey hair.
Of course, the shorter your hair the shorter it will take. My hair is super long because I’m growing it out to be donated to Locks of Love once it gets longer. I want it super long because when I cut it (10 inches) I want it to still be long. The last time I got a haircut was last year and the last time I even cut my hair (talking serious chop chop action) was in 8th grade where I hacked it up to my shoulders. I vowed to myself I’d never do that again.
I tried out a recipe for granola bars so I’ll post them as soon as I get them to where they need to be flavor-wise since I put a little twist on them.
Sneak peak!
I hope you all enjoy your weekend!
Julie
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers